We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Views, Nice Pool, Locked Parking- but Expensive”
Review of Hotel Genovese

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Genovese
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Bonifacio
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul-de-Vence
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Lovely Views, Nice Pool, Locked Parking- but Expensive”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Despite the mixed reviews we had read, we chose this hotel primarily because it offered locked parking (24/24) adjacent to the entrance, as we had read that parking and security in Bonifacio can be difficult.

The location in the 'haute ville' is excellent. It also has larger rooms by the port, but be prepared for a major hike up to the main hotel facilities. We chose a room in the main 'haute ville' building. Certainly, the communal areas are nice enough. The swimming pool is impressive and has its own stunning view over the pretty port below.

Our room was fine for one night, but no longer! It was very small and basic, although there was air conditioning, a safe and hairdryer. The TV offered several channels – but all of them in French only. The hotel had tried harder in the bathroom, which was fitted out with bathrobes, a smorgasbord of toiletries, a good shower over a large tub, large towels and even heated towel rails. However, for the 'late September' price per night of €270 incl. breakfast, this was poor value. As a caveat though, if one of the rooms with a large terrace had been available, we probably would have said that it was OK value!

The receptionist was helpful and spoke English. She even carried our cases to our room. There was two other young male staff ‘hanging around’ at reception. They ignored us. They seemed to be more interested in making small talk to the receptionist.

Henri, whose job was to set up breakfast in the morning, was very helpful. He saw us waiting for the 7.30 allotted breakfast opening time to arrive. At 7.15 he said all was ready, and we could start breakfast 15 minutes early. Breakfast, however, was average (the only hot food was eggs), but there were some quality teas available.

In summary, if you don’t care about your room size, and intend to spend your time around the pool, this hotel is OK – some might even say good. A room with a terrace would make a big difference. In my opinion the prices are a bit over the top, particularly for small rooms without terraces/balconies.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    140
    33
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
229
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, CA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

There are only a few hotels in the center of Bonifacio, and Genovese is the best. It's in the middle of the city, so beaches are a drive. But you're able to walk to great restaruants in town (Stella D'oro is amazing).

The rooms are above average. Not super fancy, but have a modern minimalist decor. But the view from our terrace was among the most incredible we've ever had. The terrace a 270 degree view of the town and the beautiful cliffs. It's one of our favorite terrace views ever. Only a couple of rooms have that view - make sure to request it (ours was room 3).

The service was great. The entire staff worked hard to help out with everything from travel logistics to restaurant and beach recommendations. And the breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: Absolutey ask for Room number 3. If that's not available, try the one next door with the adjoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We spend 3 nights at the Hotel Genovese, which is a very nice, high end hotel in Bonifacio. The Genovese has 2 buildings with guest rooms, which are not particularly near each other. One is in the harbor where the larger more expensive rooms are. This building is detached and not part of the larger hotel, where all the services are. The advantages are that you are right down on the water, surrounded by harborside restaurants and activity. You will see the jet setters parking their yachts and living it up. We stayed in one of these rooms which was larger and quite nice. Our only reservation was a bit of the lack of privacy from the harbor and the lack of services. The other part of the hotel, which is where the pool and restaurant are located, are up in the Upper Ville (Haut Ville) and seemed very nice. If we went back, I would pick the hotel and not the harbor, but that is more of a personal preference. I would return to the Hotel Genovese again and would recommend it to my friends. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francophile94027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We booked a double room for 4 nights in this hotel based on the nice internet site. In high season the rooms were 310 euro's and in sept it went back to 230 euro. We got room number 8. I honestly can tell you that in a two star hotel you find a better bathroom than in this exclusive hotel. You had to shower in the bath tub. Ok....you will find this more often in France but there was no way that I could fit under it. The toilet seat was broken, the dustbin was completely rusting away, there was not enough light so you had to keep the door open at anytime. What a shame. After complaining we got a new room with the same size of bathroom but it looked a bit better. Than we decided that we would only stay 3 instead of 4 nights. The guy behind the reception told us in a very arrogant way that canceling a room could only be done 30 days upfront!! In other words: we could leave but than we had to pay for the room......Time to ask for a manager; there was no manager and they did not have a manager. I will not bother you with the rest of the story.....
To the owner of this hotel: a nice entrance and a nice pool area does not make your hotel a design hotel for which you can charge 310 euro's. Please have a look at other hotels in Europe... do not forget to stop at the Kruis Heren hotel in Maastricht, NL and the Omnia in Zermatt, CH. These hotels are great examples of how to make a guest happy. I hope you learn from it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

After 20 years of travel both business and personal I can definitely say this was a horrible experience.

The staff, with the exception of Claire, was rude and did clearly have no education what so ever.

The rooms were a shame for the money you had to pay. They were literally falling apart. the bathroom was the worst one ever. Very old and nothing was done to them in the last 20 years. You had to shower in the bath and the shower was so low you had to be a midget to fit under it. This is a 230 euro room.

A disgrace to hotels around the world.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue_eyes_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The lobby and pool are quite stunning, and recently redone. The rooms? Not redone. But fine nonetheless. Staff are either great or just passable depending upon the shift one encounters. Skip the breakfast, there is NOTHING that can justify a 30 Euro per person price tag. In fact, try to avoid ordering anything from the bar or room service; given the easy options right outside the door, there is no reason to pay the exorbitant prices the hotel charges for, well, everything. (That being said, if they de-inflated the prices somewhat the quality is fine as regards food and drink. But prices are truly unconscionable.) If the staff try to steer you to the Albatross for dinner, dit NON MERCI. The Albatross features bland food, horrendous service. Per the many other reviews, the Centre Nautique was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJMnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The location of this hotel is absolutely beautiful. Amazing views over the town and the swimmingpool is unique. But this hotel is definitely lacking in atmosphere. When we arrived someone just gave us our roomkey and told us were to go; no walking with us or telling something about the hotel. Rooms are nice, but again could do with a bit more of personal touch. Only have seen members of staff during check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABBG_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonifacio hotels
1.5 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#7 of 20 in Bonifacio
445 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
517 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel E Tre Stelle
Hotel E Tre Stelle
#8 of 20 in Bonifacio
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cala Di Greco
Hotel Cala Di Greco
#1 of 20 in Bonifacio
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel du Roy D'Aragon
3.2 mi away
Hotel Version Maquis
Hotel Version Maquis
#2 of 20 in Bonifacio
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genovese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genovese

Property: Hotel Genovese
Address: Quartier de la Citadelle, 20169 Bonifacio, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Bonifacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bonifacio
#5 Family Hotel in Bonifacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genovese 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Genovese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genovese Hotel Bonifacio
Hotel Genovese Corsica/Bonifacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing