We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning to the charms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Charmes de Carlucet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from our third visit to this lovely region of Perigord. Rural surroundings, quiet roads, prehistory and mediaeval history, busy market towns, all within a small area – such variety that we were never at a loss for anything to do. But the main attraction has been our return to Les Charmes de Carlucet. Eric Edgar is a very caring, thoughtful, yet unobtrusive, host who doesn't stint himself in making his guests feel comfortable and relaxed: nothing seems too much trouble for him. Les Charmes is an elegant building, converted from a traditional farm manor-house, with large, comfortable bedrooms, extensive peaceful grounds, and a heated swimming-pool. The breakfasts were excellent, as before, offering a wide range of local produce, but what stays in the memory most is the warm and welcoming atmosphere that really makes you feel at home. Thank you Eric and Lysa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had 3 wonderful days in the Perigord Noir, and I wish we had much more time to explore this beautiful area with so much to offer. We stayed at Les Charmes de Carlucet in the spacious converted attic on the top floor of this adorable large stone country house. The house and 2 adjacent gites are restored to immaculate perfection, and Eric Edgar, the owner, was very warm, attentive and helpful. Since we had a short time, he suggested an excellent itinerary for both daytime and evening activities, and placed all the reservations we needed. The house is on a large property in the very small but so charming village of Carlucet, with easy access to all the area attractions. The property has many amenities for the family, including an outdoor heated pool, picnic areas, and a playful golden retriever called Pilou. It is such a pleasant place to stay that many visitors have returned again and again, and I hope we will do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

After a warm welcome from Eric and Lysa we had a wonderful 2 weeks stay in beautiful surroundings and comfortable accommodation. There is plenty to do in the area and Eric gave us great information of what to do and where to go. I would recommend a days canoeing down the Dordoigne and the local night markets where you can buy your food and get it cooked for you there and then. Great fun evening out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is the fifth time we have stayed at Beaux Reves, the Gite is superb, it's spacious, and each bedroom has an en suite bathroom, it's the perfect family holiday cottage. Set in two hectares of land, it's ideal for children. Located in the heart of the Dordogne, there are plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area and our host Eric was always on hand to book restaurants and any activities we chose. Thank you Eric, a fantastic holiday and we will be returning to our home from home! Ash

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights and just loved it. I can't wait to come again.
Eric and Lisa are great hosts rooms are very spacious and clean. Breakfast for a 4.50€ bargain charge is made of fruit, cheeses, croissants and loads more plus unlimited coffee a great start to the day of touring and activities. I had not done any planning Eric very kindly arranged my sightseeing programme which was spot on!
The local villages were a delight but Sarlat is beautiful though is overcrowded and hard to park but a must see. 4 unforgettable days, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkie2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We recently stayed at Beaux Reves for two weeks and without doubt the is the best accommodation we have chosen in the Dordogne. Eric was the consummate host and helped with all of our dining and activity requests. Beaux Reves itself whilst close the main house if very peaceful and set in large grounds in a tranquil location . The accommodation and equipment is to a very high standard as was the swimming pool. There are a number of superb restaurants in the area and much to do for children young and old ! We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have already booked for 2014!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owlbarn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

For 2 weeks we had everything a family with grandparents, teenage kids and a baby needs - from a fully comfortable Gite to a great pool and super supportive host. Located in a great area, Eric had provided useful information, great facilities and 5 class gite. Clean, quiet, equipped fully and with surprises as fresh baked pastry in some mornings, nice welcome package when we came and a full picnic package to take with us when heading a long trip. Eric and his family are very helpful and available at all times. The Gite, with clean towels and sheets will give you all that you need, and the washing machine will be available at any time if you are there for a long stay. Bottom line - it was the 2nd time for us, but not the last.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ek128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Charmes de Carlucet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Charmes de Carlucet

Address: Lieu Dit Carlucet, 24590 Saint-Crepin-et-Carlucet, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Crepin-et-Carlucet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Crepin-et-Carlucet
Price Range: £81 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Dordogne 18th Century stone Manor house near Sarlat set in 5 acres of private peaceful gardens with a large heated swimming pool and a sauna. 5 star rated. The Manor house can we reserved on a B&B basis or rented in its entirety by a private group of friends and family. Accommodates up to 15 people. The Manor house has 6 generous and charming air conditioned bedrooms each having their own private bathroom facilities. Next door is a 5 star rated luxury holiday cottage with air con and a private pool. The cottage is very spacious, 190m2, with 3 air conditioned bedrooms all with private en-suite bathrooms. Accommodates up to 7 people. Both the Manor house and cottage next door have been recently renovated and furnished throughout with comfortable, stylish and quality furnishings. Located in the heart of Perigord noir region in the "Golden triangle of The Dordogne valley. Close to all the best of everything this stunning region has to offer including Lascaux caves and Sarlat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Les Charmes de Carlucet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Charmes De Carlucet Hotel Saint-Crepin-Et-Carlucet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing