We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping les Peneyrals
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed for 5 nights with our two daughters (aged 8 & 10)

Pros
*Lovely campsites - campsites divided by trees and hedges..it's also on a hill, so sites are terraced, which gives more privacy.
*Pools were good for the kids (especially as the had areas for very little children as well)
*Toilets, showers, washing areas were always very clean and there were always enough showers that we never had to wait.
*Evening entertainment for adults, as well as a kids club for young children.
*Reasonably priced food.
*Plenty of attractions within a close driving distance (village markets, kayaking etc).

Con
*Only real con (and it's not really a con as something to be aware of)...there are signs saying to be quiet after 10pm, but the entertainment provided by the camp often goes until midnight. We could clearly hear the music band from our tent one night...and it wasn't pretty!!! So the next night we decided it was better to be at the entertainment than to be at our tent being forced to listen to it anyway lol.
*The slides are much smaller than what they look like in the photos.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChChCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    42
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just come back after 10 day at this site for our first visit as a family to France with Eurocamp and i can say it was exactly what we expected for our girls aged 8 and 6 years of age. A beautiful site with loads to do day and night. We stayed in a 3 bed mobile home with AC and i can say i am glad we booked the extra room as we needed to space for storage, the 3rd bedroom really became the dumping ground - i hear the 2 beds are small. Plenty of space on the decking for seating on an evening in a part of the site where it was quiet. You are surrounded by small trees to make it private but enough to still see some sites. We were at the top D8 not too much of a walk from the lake. Others however will have a walk to the pool as it can be quite steep. The place was spotless and had all the things you need for a barby and cooking. The pools are perfect and plenty of beds to chill on and you can almost see all the pools to watch little ones running around. My girls just loved the slides. The food in the restaurant is nice too, with spaghetti and mussles, the pizzas are the best we have ever had and a must have to anyone visiting. Gin and Tonics 3.80 euros and a small rose wine 1.80 euros and they are small a bottle can be 8 euros upwards. The hoegarrden beer is 6.10 but very strong so you dont need many. They even do cocktails none alcoholic which the kids loved 4.90 euros. The area is a gorgeous part of the country and the nicest you must visit the Chateau De Milandes and Chateau Castlenaud - we ate at The Tavern there for lunch which was reasonable too. Bergerac is such a lovely place with loads of restaurants and a lovely drive from the campsite about 1 hr away. Another must eat is The Black Duck, nice guiness and ducks receipes and the most lovely setting on an evening to watch the sun go down for food. The service is second to none and the owner is very welcoming. There is a supermarket in Salignac which is handy and cheap for all fresh things about 5 mins in the car. We travelled from Caen which was about 8 hrs drive but worth every penny and we will be booking again for next year. My husband this time plans to use the lake for fishing and bring his tackle next time as you cant hire it on site. The small shop is handy for british papers and fresh pain au chocolat and crossaints, as fresh baguettes and has small items of dresses, food, swim wear on offer also. As well as floats, balls etc to buy for the pool. For small families and children up to 10 yrs this is a must with entertainment for everyone. The staff are very helpful - the owner sometimes looked miserable but i suspect peak season he has a right to be as his mind im sure is all over the place lol.
Roll on 2014 !!!

Room Tip: book ac in peak season and larger bed place as they are small especially if you book for more than 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hllocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here as a family in early July and were very impressed. The restaurant is fantastic and the food truly is amazing. The nightly events are also extremely good with a good range of different activities put on by the very enthusiastic and helpful staff. The swimming pool complex is spectacular, with three main good sized pools plus a slide pool and children's play area.

The camping area is quite hilly so expect a fair hike to the main entertainment area, depending on where exactly your pitch is. For this reason, I wouldn't recommend bringing bikes, we did but found it much easier to walk everywhere. Though the surrounding countryside is beautiful with all the mountains and sweeping roads so don't let the hills put you off.

There are plenty of nearby activities including Canoeing down the Dordogne (the camspite gives you a discount for this) and the town of Rocamadour is well worth a visit.

Overall one of our favourite campsites, would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HannahStevenson822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 for a week. We have a two year old and a five year old and we had a great time. The site is very clean and there is a lot to do both on site and in the surrounding area. I'd say the site is probably best suited to younger children although there were still plenty of teenagers on site and the activities are well-mixed in order to appeal to all.

The pools were lovely and always clean, there was an abundance of play areas, a great crazy golf course, etc etc. We were toward the rear of the site which was a little quieter than the remainder of the site and we got a decent night's sleep every night.

I would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Go for the pitches at the rear of the site for a bit more peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Timverland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We returned here for a second year and found the site fully up to our previous expectations with friendly staff, clean facilities and excellent cheap meals if you want to eat out. As others have said the site is just the right balance in size, and partially spread across a small valley to give a greater sense of space. The temptation to cram in too many pitches has been avoided, with excellent tree shade throughout. And the pool complex remains brilliant.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep early select a pitch away from the immediate entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polmont, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a lovely site and is definately 5 star. The pool and restaurant is excellent and it is spotlessly clean. The staff are always helpful and friendly and can speak good English. We were staying in our touring van and our pitch was very spacious and private. We will definately visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StoorieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed at Les Peneyrals at the end of June/beginning of July. Overall this is a great site in a lovely part of France. As other reviewers have said the pool area is excellent, the restaurant is good and there's lots to do on the site and in the local area.
However our holiday was a bit spoiled by late night noise in the second week. It came from staff accommodation at the rear of the site and began when they returned home after finishing work for the night. This meant the noise began sometime around one in the morning and went on for several hours some nights. We were actually happy on the nights it rained because there was no noise then.
Overall I would recommend this campsite but not if you are staying at the back of it. If you are, bring earplugs!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinakTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Crepin-et-Carlucet
4.3 mi away
Hotel Albizia
Hotel Albizia
#14 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
270 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
281 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
Camping Huttopia Sarlat
#13 of 43 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
111 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camping Aqua Viva
Camping Aqua Viva
#3 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
6 reviews
16.4 mi away
Camping La Linotte
Camping La Linotte
#2 of 8 in Le Bugue
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping les Peneyrals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping les Peneyrals

Property: Camping les Peneyrals
Address: 24590 Saint-Crepin-et-Carlucet, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Crepin-et-Carlucet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Crepin-et-Carlucet
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping les Peneyrals 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your nature holiday 10km from Sarlat in Les Péneyrals campsite. Enjoy the rolling floral site and fishing lake. The wide open spaces put children on cloud nine. Days full of hikes, tournaments, games and hurtling down water slides give way to a variety of evening entertainment. Guests also have access to our heated pools, paddling pools and indoor pool. You'll get a warm welcome at Les Péneyrals no matter whether you're in a tent, caravan, motorhome or rental. We have a wide range of 2 and 3-bed chalets and mobile homes available. Be part of the campsite's Périgord family whose commitment to community and good food is what the region is famous for. The restaurant serves a wide variety of set menus, mains, pizzas and snacks. All facilities are open from May to September (not including kid's club). Pools are heated. Regular entertainment is provided throughout June. The campsite is in the perfect location between the Dordogne and Vézère near the best châteaux, villages, caves and prehistoric sites that the Périgord Noir has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Camping les Peneyrals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Les Peneyrals Hotel Saint-Crepin-Et-Carlucet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing