We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Relais Des Chartreuses
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Le Boulou
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After two great nights at the Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuses ( qv ) this was an altogether different establishment and the stay didn't start well when we arrived two hours earlier than the stipulated 15.00. Whilst this was entirely our fault for not reading the confirmation properly, the rudeness of the disembodied man who told us to come back later was unforgivable.

The room was very good and comfortable, with efficient air-conditioning. The pool area was immaculate and the sunbeds comfortable.

We ate both nights in and took the €38 ( almost ) compulsory three-course menu. This is a set menu, though on the second night, we were offered a choice of beef or fish. This is not cheap, so expectations were high. There's not much in Le Boulou and it's a drive there anyway.

The four of us agreed that the second night's dinner was in a very different league from the first - it was absolutely outstanding, comprising scallops, a beautiful steak and strawberry cheesecake. I do not think this could have been better in any way.

The first night - a Sunday - was poor in comparison : a rich tomato soup followed by red-mullet mille feuilles were ok, but for some reason, the posted dessert of fruit soup was replaced with a suspiciously cold and leaden tarte aux abricots - very poor and not good value.

Breakfast on both days were first class, as they should be for €16.

As is usual in France, even local wines are marked up considerably, but there was a very good choice.

Service was generally amiable and efficient, though a tad sharp at times.

All in all, a well-run establishment offering very good value accommodation, though less good on the food front.

Room Tip: 11 or 12 are in a separate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was the second time that made a stop over at this charming hotel on our journey to Spain. The good experience from our first stay was confirmed again.
A young lady, of english mother tongue, received us at the reception desk and made us welcome. The same young lady also served breakfast the following morning.
Our room, albeit small, was comfortable with good beds and a well equipped bathroom with 2 showers!
Absolutely no noise during the night, thus allowing a good nights sleep.
The hotel offers a fixed menue (in our case excellent tapas to start, followed by lamb chops and dessert) at a reasonable price. We drank a bottle of very good local wine for €24.
The couple running the hotel are extremely friendly and very helpful. He does the cooking and she also serves in the restaurant as well as lookingfter the reservations, billing, etc. Both are to be recommended for their efficiency .
The hotel is not situated in the town of Le Boulou but somewhat outside and not easy to find without a GPS!
I highly recommend this hotel for travellers wanting a stop over between France and Spain as well as tourists who want to explore the coast and mountains without staying in one of the popular tourist towns in the area

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MIKEGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

the location is pretty nice, easier to find it with a nice garden. The room are ok but what makes the difference were the behaviour of the people working there: very nice and gentle. food was good and they love dogs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cappannelli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The setting was beautiful but we were disappointed with our room. I felt that an odd sort of coat rack instead of a closet was not in keeping with this type of hotel. In addition the shower had an open circle so water sprayed onto the toilet??

More importantly, after 7 pm there was no one available so we could not request a wake up call nor pay our bill as we had made the decision to leave by 7:30 in the morning. In the morning there was no one available at the desk at 7:30 and we found a gardener who scared up the owner who told us they aren't available until 8 am. A really odd mix of a hotel and a private home in terms of services. The owner told us they were getting ready to close the next weekend and we felt it showed in the service we received.

We stayed here based on the reviews of the fine dining room and were shocked to find on the first night that the kitchen would be closed on the second night of our stay. They did offer to make us a cold plate for the next night which we declined, and ate in town instead. On the first night, the food was good but not special, with the meat being very dry. We had considered staying a third night but left and went back to Perpignan instead. We would not book here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mogulcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annel_10, Propriétaire at Le Relais Des Chartreuses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your opinion on TA and your compliments on the beatifull setting of the Hotel and the excellent reputation on the dining room.
Sorry that you didn't like the opening on the top of the shower who bring some light to the Water closet ... and meat too dry served very cooked according to your request. In fact, our restaurant is closed on Sunday evening, between 1 November and 25 December. We regret that this closure has bothered you. Finally, sorry for the gardener who scares you at daybreak by collecting autumn leaves ....Warms regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Have just returned from this small hotel and having spent only two nights there would have preferred many more. Owner worked so hard to provide a great stay and would highly recommend her cooking, we had dinner there on both nights, really superb. A beautiful quiet location with lots of advice on local places to visit from Jolanda. They deserve to be busy and good luck to them all for the future including their daughter who played the harp one night and is an amazing hostess along with her mother. We would love to revist!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Charming stone home, turned hotel, provides comfortable accomodations at moderate prices. The functional pool is compensated for by lovely patios and small gardens, which are the venues for the owner's good breakfasts and amazing dinners. Best food we had in either Spain or France--much lighter than traditional French or Spanish food, featuring seafood and the chef's elegant combinations of flavors. Another bright spot was service--very attentive family running this business, along with a few well chosen employees who had the same approach.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philby75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Yes, there are some mosquitoes, this is to be expected when you are surrounded by umbrella palms and the temperature is in the 30's. What you don't do is open your window! Our room did not have air con but our sleep was not too disturbed either.
The hotel is quiet, the service friendly, attentive and not too obsequious.
We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner on the terrace. No choice admittedly but good quality ingredients well cooked made up for that. As I said to my wife, you would be pretty content for someone to prepare a meal for you, serve it with charm and then do all the washing up for you for a little over 30 quid!
Breakfast was lovely, served again on the terrace with a good selection of breads, cheese, country ham and, best of all, homemade jams with fresh herbs and lavender, made with love I would imagine. And a bowl of late cherries from the region.
This is not some corporate hotel answering to shareholders but a small, family run affair, and, I would say, run with pride. A few cracks admittedly, but nothing to spoil the show.
Overall, a pleasant stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moumoulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Boulou
1.2 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Grillon d'Or
7.3 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Centre
Hotel Le Centre
#3 of 4 in Le Boulou
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
575 reviews
8.2 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#4 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
320 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Des Chartreuses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Des Chartreuses

Address: 106 Avenue d en Carbouner, 66160 Le Boulou, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Le Boulou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Le Boulou
Price Range: £53 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Des Chartreuses 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 km of the highway exit Boulou (A9), just a step from Spain, mediterranean beaches, the attractive city of Collioure, this Catalan mas of the XVIIth century was completely renovated with elegance in charming hote. Rooms are personalized, some with privative terraces. You will particularly appreciate the quality of the cooking, elaborated with fresh products, served outside during summer and in the lounge during winter. You will be also charmed by the peace of places, the presence of a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Relais Des Chartreuses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing