We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and delicious in French Catalan region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Relais Des Chartreuses
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Le Boulou
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant and delicious in French Catalan region”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I spent five nights at this elegantly restored Catalan 'mas' in late July and had a marvelous stay. Our room had a terrace overlooking the foothills of the nearby Pyrenees, it was tastefully decorated with a large comfortable bed and a grand shower in the bath. I swam often in the pool, had a lovely massage in the attached spa house (needs advance booking), and we enjoyed daily delicious breakfasts of fresh breads, cheeses, home made fruit jams, savory cakes, fruit and, if requested, eggs cooked as only the French can. Sitting in the lovely gardens outside, hearing the wind gently (or strongly) blow through the branches of the overhanging trees while savoring a leisurely breakfast was wonderful. We can also state unequivocally that the dinners we had chez le relais were among the best we had in France -- inventive but not fussy, made with fresh and healthy ingredients, some dishes were a revelation, but all were delicious. Anne and the young ladies at the desk were always willing to help with information and ideas about local sites to visit. The area is full of interesting places to see, most notably Ceret -- a beautiful village with a great small modern art museum and a fun Saturday morning market, and Collioure, which, though full of tourists when we visited, was nevertheless achingly picturesque, and must be a joy to visit off season. It was also an easy drive to northern Spain -- Gerona, Figueres, and the Costa Brava. All in all, a marvelous place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francoshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    101
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
33
211
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addlestone
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I stay at this small hotel in the hills between Perpignan and the Spanish border every year. We always enjoy our stay. Madame Besset, la patronne, is very welcoming and pleased to see us. The dining experience in the evening is always excellent, although this year due to a commitment in Perpignan we were unable to dine - but we were provided with a very good cold buffet in our room on our return at 11.30 pm instead. The hotel is situated up a winding road and is very quiet with superb views. A very good breakfast is also available in the mornings and there is a lovely garden and pool area for those sunny days. The hotel is also convenient for the Perpignan-Barcelona motorway as well as the coast. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having read some of the mixed reviews about Le Relais, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. In fact our experiences were overwhelmingly positive.

The hotel is in a lovely, quiet, location and a perfect place for a stopover. The rooms are of a good size and extremely well equipped. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It was, however, the food that really made the stay. The set dinner was delicious and one of the highlights of a three week holiday in France. The wine list featured some stunning local wines. Breakfast was a cut above the normal French hotel offering. A selection of freshly made pastries and excellent service. Sitting out on the terrace breakfast was sublime.

Some tips. Follow the instructions (in French) and unload your bags next to reception before parking your car. Stay for two nights rather than, as we did, one.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After two great nights at the Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuses ( qv ) this was an altogether different establishment and the stay didn't start well when we arrived two hours earlier than the stipulated 15.00. Whilst this was entirely our fault for not reading the confirmation properly, the rudeness of the disembodied man who told us to come back later was unforgivable.

The room was very good and comfortable, with efficient air-conditioning. The pool area was immaculate and the sunbeds comfortable.

We ate both nights in and took the €38 ( almost ) compulsory three-course menu. This is a set menu, though on the second night, we were offered a choice of beef or fish. This is not cheap, so expectations were high. There's not much in Le Boulou and it's a drive there anyway.

The four of us agreed that the second night's dinner was in a very different league from the first - it was absolutely outstanding, comprising scallops, a beautiful steak and strawberry cheesecake. I do not think this could have been better in any way.

The first night - a Sunday - was poor in comparison : a rich tomato soup followed by red-mullet mille feuilles were ok, but for some reason, the posted dessert of fruit soup was replaced with a suspiciously cold and leaden tarte aux abricots - very poor and not good value.

Breakfast on both days were first class, as they should be for €16.

As is usual in France, even local wines are marked up considerably, but there was a very good choice.

Service was generally amiable and efficient, though a tad sharp at times.

All in all, a well-run establishment offering very good value accommodation, though less good on the food front.

Room Tip: 11 or 12 are in a separate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This was the second time that made a stop over at this charming hotel on our journey to Spain. The good experience from our first stay was confirmed again.
A young lady, of english mother tongue, received us at the reception desk and made us welcome. The same young lady also served breakfast the following morning.
Our room, albeit small, was comfortable with good beds and a well equipped bathroom with 2 showers!
Absolutely no noise during the night, thus allowing a good nights sleep.
The hotel offers a fixed menue (in our case excellent tapas to start, followed by lamb chops and dessert) at a reasonable price. We drank a bottle of very good local wine for €24.
The couple running the hotel are extremely friendly and very helpful. He does the cooking and she also serves in the restaurant as well as lookingfter the reservations, billing, etc. Both are to be recommended for their efficiency .
The hotel is not situated in the town of Le Boulou but somewhat outside and not easy to find without a GPS!
I highly recommend this hotel for travellers wanting a stop over between France and Spain as well as tourists who want to explore the coast and mountains without staying in one of the popular tourist towns in the area

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MIKEGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

the location is pretty nice, easier to find it with a nice garden. The room are ok but what makes the difference were the behaviour of the people working there: very nice and gentle. food was good and they love dogs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cappannelli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The setting was beautiful but we were disappointed with our room. I felt that an odd sort of coat rack instead of a closet was not in keeping with this type of hotel. In addition the shower had an open circle so water sprayed onto the toilet??

More importantly, after 7 pm there was no one available so we could not request a wake up call nor pay our bill as we had made the decision to leave by 7:30 in the morning. In the morning there was no one available at the desk at 7:30 and we found a gardener who scared up the owner who told us they aren't available until 8 am. A really odd mix of a hotel and a private home in terms of services. The owner told us they were getting ready to close the next weekend and we felt it showed in the service we received.

We stayed here based on the reviews of the fine dining room and were shocked to find on the first night that the kitchen would be closed on the second night of our stay. They did offer to make us a cold plate for the next night which we declined, and ate in town instead. On the first night, the food was good but not special, with the meat being very dry. We had considered staying a third night but left and went back to Perpignan instead. We would not book here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogulcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annel_10, Propriétaire at Le Relais Des Chartreuses, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your opinion on TA and your compliments on the beatifull setting of the Hotel and the excellent reputation on the dining room.
Sorry that you didn't like the opening on the top of the shower who bring some light to the Water closet ... and meat too dry served very cooked according to your request. In fact, our restaurant is closed on Sunday evening, between 1 November and 25 December. We regret that this closure has bothered you. Finally, sorry for the gardener who scares you at daybreak by collecting autumn leaves ....Warms regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Boulou
7.3 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Grillon d'Or
8.2 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
538 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Centre
Hotel Le Centre
#3 of 4 in Le Boulou
84 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#3 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Des Chartreuses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Des Chartreuses

Property: Le Relais Des Chartreuses
Address: 106 Avenue d en Carbouner, 66160 Le Boulou, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Le Boulou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Le Boulou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Des Chartreuses 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 km of the highway exit Boulou (A9), just a step from Spain, mediterranean beaches, the attractive city of Collioure, this Catalan mas of the XVIIth century was completely renovated with elegance in charming hote. Rooms are personalized, some with privative terraces. You will particularly appreciate the quality of the cooking, elaborated with fresh products, served outside during summer and in the lounge during winter. You will be also charmed by the peace of places, the presence of a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Relais Des Chartreuses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing