We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly wonderful.”
Review of Eshott Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eshott Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eshott
Certificate of Excellence
Church Fenton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Sunday night in mid-May. The first thing you notice about the place is its wonderful
woodland setting making it the perfect place to spend the night. The hotel is delightful with an amazing entrance hall and public rooms (library and drawing room) to either side - a great place to chill out with a pre-dinner drink. Our room, the Drey, whilst one of the smallest, was still a good size and beautifully decorated. It had a large bathroom with double sink, bath, separate walk in shower
and Molton Brown toiletries! We dined in the evening and the food was absolutely delicious! A good choice of beautifully created dishes and great service by knowledgable and friendly staff. The grounds and walled garden made for a wonderful pre-breakfast stroll during which we saw red squirrels feeding. We are looking forward to returning!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lambi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    68
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
52
227
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Driving up to Eshott hall was a pleasure coming through the trees with the front of the Hall covered in Wisteria. We were welcomed by the manager who showed us to our room which was superb with a rolltop bath in the bedroom. The decor was of very high standard, we were told each room is different, ours was Collingwood. We had complementary coffee on the front terrace which was lovely and peaceful watching the rabbits and birds. Both our evening meals were fabulous and tasty, with plenty of choice, we would like to stay longer next time to try all the dishes on the menu.
Breakfast was a pleasure, with plenty to choose from, the view of the trees with squirrels and rabbits running about meant we stayed in the breakfast room longer than we meant to.All the staff were friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble. When we were staying two of the housekeeping staff were off sick, but Sharon (housekeeper) kept the rooms spotless and tidy with a little help.
We are looking forward to our next visit as there is so much to see in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here on sunday 11th may 2014 for a wedding. Must say place is amazing me and my partner stayed in garden Cottage with another couple from the wedding party. The cottage has plenty of room and a huge bathroom safe to say the cottage was bigger then my house. Loads of original feature. One word sums up the cottage and its surroundings. gorgeous.
I wasnt invited to wedding breakfast however my partner was so i was going to be hanging around all day on my own. However events manager went above what i expected and said even though there was a wedding on and they dont usually do any other catering on wedding days he would not have me sitting on my own with no meal. so he made sure i had lunch and was well looked after. amazing place really want to go back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed overnight for our anniversary the staff were very friendly and the room very good. It was the dinner that we were disappointed in the starter was fine then we had a long wait for the mains. When my lamb arrived the waiter apologised for the wait and the lamb was cold(you may say why not complain but my husband would then have to eat alone then my replacement would arrive and I would eat alone). When the waiter returned my husband asked why he apologised for the wait he replied they had a temperamental French chef pity he had chosen my meal to pick on. Fine dining can be very good but the portions left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soowoo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was a true gem found by chance while looking online for a different hotel in the area. We stayed here on our way back from a holiday in Scotland. This hotel deserves the five stars it carries! When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to superior rooms in the main house. The staff were so welcoming and could not do enough to ensure our stay was comfortable and relaxed. The rooms were wonderful, beautifully decorated with ensuite bathrooms to match. Our evening dinner was superb, in fact we are still talking about it! The hotel is set in a lovely, peaceful location but just off the A1, so although secluded, is very conveniently situated. Breakfast was another delight, and the walk around the grounds before we left just completed a wonderful experience. We will be returning again without a doubt!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizbet1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Worcestershire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The team at Eshott Hall aspire to high standards which most often are met. I was surprised to find that the AA rating was only 4-star, not least because the chef's beautiful food and well merited two rosettes, demand you eat in each night of your stay. Full Northumberland breakfasts can be accompanied by the spectacle of red squirrels playing on the trees in the garden.
Our room, in the North Wing, was of ample size, and very comfortable, and noticeably warmer than the central and southern sections of the hotel. It really is nitpicking to be critical, but another reviewer mentioned a lack of communication, and I observed it too.
We did not see the staff member noting down our request for a morning call, so no surprise when it did not happen. Equally it was good to see a young person apparently being trained in table waiting, but my order was reversed. Neither items spoiled the break, but they did take the gloss off such high standards. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a luxurious stay, with all the positives far outweighing any negatives.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samwac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My lovely son treat us to an overnight stay here with breakfast and evening meal,the room was spectacular the evening meal above average,the breakfast was amazing with a lovely waitress who looked after us well.But through bad communication we were charged three times for the same upgrade , and the meal that my son left arrangement's to pay was charged for, spoiling his surprise.The morning we left on pointing out errors with upgrade we were given a refund for one upgrade,but it was not until i spoke to my son the whole story unfolded they had misplaced his details and instructions totally spoiling his surprise and charged us both for the same upgrade.It took a whole day for someone to ring me back and deal with the problem .To sum up, nice place, shame about the maths and customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eshott
16.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
19.4 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
24.9 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eshott Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eshott Hall

Property: Eshott Hall
Address: Eshott NE65 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Eshott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eshott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Eshott Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eshott Hall Hotel is a boutique property in a beautiful, peaceful location. The Georgian country house provides stylish rooms in luxurious surroundings, on a bed and breakfast or half board basis with meals served in our award winning dining room. A warm welcome awaits you at Eshott Hall in it's tranquil location in the Northumbrian countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Eshott Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eshott Hall Hotel Morpeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing