We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely superb”
Review of Eshott Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eshott Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eshott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a secluded luxurious boutique just 1.5 miles from the A1 trunk road. Breathtaking rooms, superb dining and outstanding service. The menu remained the same for the 6 days of our stay but the staff were happy to allow us to select something off menu.
Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room and was full of tempting choices

Room Tip: look at the room descriptions on the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tauntonrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had decided to visit Northumberland after several years and settled on Eshott Hall.Were impressed by the efforts made to prepare our room as soon as we arrived at around 2 0 clock having not realising that check in time is 4 o clock(unusually late )Ou room was superb with everything to hand.The staff were very helpful and almost all local which is a refreshing change.Food is excellent however the surcharges for certain dishes is a little irritating and one would have thought that on an inclusive package it would be a standard charge.My wife loves fish and we had to pay extra each evening.Perhaps a minor point but when paying a not insignificant amount of money a bit nit picking !The public rooms are well furnished and very comfortable.Having made a couple of points the overall experience was very satisafactory.

Room Tip: No experience of other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from our stay in the Collingwood room. Agreed the four poster bed is not authentic but the room is delightful. If you don't like public bathing this is not for you but two can share the double ended bath with a view of beautiful cedars. There is a separate closet attached for private ablutions. The whole experience was very special and the staff very attentive. Dinner was delightful - there are two dining rooms and we dined in the other one to that mentioned which was very cosy, quiet and candle lit. Of particular note is the home made bread which was outstanding. The vegetables are mainly sourced from the kitchen garden and the presentation was exemplary with very substantial portions. Also the breakfast the next morning was one of the best I have had with a fresh fruit platter and smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel that were delicious. Also plenty of coffee freely available. Would really recommend an overnight stay there.

Room Tip: Look at the hotel website to see what type of room and in particular bathroom you require. Some onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What I liked: gardens, red squirrels, jackdaws, location, friendly staff
and what I didn't: having a bath in the room, cluttered room with scatter cushions, folding screen, faux four poster, sea chest, nursing chairs and table. Small dining room with space taken up with large galley area, food served on slate (whats wrong with china crockery). All perhaps trivial but the big disappointment was the dining experience no zing and expensive especially when you add in the supplements. Clearly my view is at variance with most reviewers, perhaps I was just unlucky.

Room Tip: Make sure the bath is where it belongs, in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sherrytrifle31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had afternoon tea at Eshott Hall and it was really nice. Served in a lovely room( Drawing Room) by very attentive and friendly staff. Good selection of "goodies" which I think were freshly made.
Did not see much of the hotel itself but the setting is excellent and would be a nice place to have a break .
Fairly isolated but an ideal situation to explore the Northumberland attractions, by car of course.
Lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAXMARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed a couple of nights June '14. A very pleasant stay. Delivered what it promised. Comfy room with a couple of quirks - kettle wouldn't fit under the tap (needed a smaller kettle) and power points too close to the floor. Clean white linen was impressive.

Room Tip: Room 2 over the lounge was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherpaJCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A totally wonderful experience. Apart from the exquisite jewel of the house itself and the beautiful, light and elegant room we were given (the Versailles Room), the staff were so warm, hospitable and attentive (Miles and Lucy, to name just two) and the chef really deserves a couple of Michelin stars. It feels more like a country house rather than a hotel. Altogether magical and memorable. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eshott
16.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
15.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,546 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
5.9 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eshott Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eshott Hall

Address: Eshott NE65 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Eshott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eshott
Price Range: £82 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eshott Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eshott Hall Hotel is a boutique property in a beautiful, peaceful location. The Georgian country house provides stylish rooms in luxurious surroundings, on a bed and breakfast or half board basis with meals served in our award winning dining room. A warm welcome awaits you at Eshott Hall in it's tranquil location in the Northumbrian countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eshott Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eshott Hall Hotel Morpeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing