We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops for holidays with a pooch!”
Review of Eshott Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eshott Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eshott
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Eshott Hall in a cottage with sitting room , kitchen,two lovely bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. All meals were taken in the Hall, lovely breakfasts, casual lunches and fine dining in the evening. Woodland walks, fields and enclosed yard for our pooch were great. In prime position for exploring all the attractions of Northumbrian Coast. The staff were very relaxed and friendly and the only criticism is that the music played throughout breakfast and dinner was a bit repetitive and could have been from a wider range of genres other than classical which I quite like but which can be a bit frenzied when trying to relax over a meal!

Room Tip: Cottages are spacious, not sure about hotel rooms. Quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a lovely hotel in the Northumberland Countryside. We stayed in the Stables West Cottage in the grounds of the Hall and found it to be spacious and great value. My Mum is 90 and can get a bit confused, so the safety and containment if a cottage, whilst enjoying all the facilities of the Hotel was perfect.

The really good points were the friendliness of all the staff, they really went the extra mile; the beautiful proportions and decor of the main public rooms; the quality of the afternoon high tea in the 'ladies' lounge and the red squirrels visible outside the breakfast rooms.

There is room for improvement however. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived, even after they brought the tea and coffee they forgot the milk. The small wine list was out of stock for obvious choices, the front step was positively dangerous and the management held meetings in the public rooms during the day, effectively restricting availability for guests. Importantly, the broadband signal was wholly absent and their own computer could not connect, so no email connectivity. However, it feels as if that can be quickly resolved by better management. However, this did not fundamentally detract from a great traditional Country Hall in a very lovely County. We will return. 2 nights DB&B, afternoon tea and drinks (not heavy) came to about 1k with tips.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just been to a wedding at Eshott Hall. Everything from the food to the service was 5*. The hall is beautiful with every bedroom being individual and classic. The grounds are immaculate and very pretty. I cannot stress how much we loved this place. The staff were very professional and friendly. Loved it!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful and also the cottages are immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Easy to find off A1. Beautiful driveway, setting and surroundings. The Hall itself full of character, well kept, furnishings in keeping so ornate. Food and drink beautiful and the service from a small but efficient team of young staff - excellent!! Especially Chelsea/Chelsey and Hannah Orange!! Great evening - would love to go again - maybe not for work but for pleasure!!

Andy Williams - Marketing and Events Manager at Middlesbrough College but also House and Wedding DJ Extraordinaire!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARMWDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were not staying overnight at the hall but booked a meal to celebrate our anniversary and always look for somewhere to go to that has either Michelin or AA rosettes awards. We had a wonderful meal at Eshott Hall and were not disappointed with the food and everything was spot on until the final course. There is a partition wall in the dining room and food appeared to be prepared in the other room, Unfortunately when we were waiting for our dessert there was a lot of noise in the next room, as if they were clearing up. We were the last ones in the dining room and it felt as they did not realise we were there as the noise was constant. We asked to have coffee and petit fours in the drawing room as we felt this would be more relaxing but the petit fours did not arrive! We felt as it was time for the staff to "clock off" and everything was rushed! The reviews for the food were spot on but I felt that the service for the last part of the meal let Eshott Hall down.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 4Family2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We are Italians and Eshott Hall was a perfect accomodation for us. Elegant, with a very beautiful garden. The staff was pleasant and nice. We enjoyed the dine and the breakfast. Excellent. We'll come back from the South of Italy as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were seated at an inappropriate table, chairs pointing away from a small table with insufficient room for cups, saucers, plates let alone cake stand. Three attempts to get a pot of tea, first two lukewarm and third just ok made us feel very uncomfortable. There was no sign of any supervision or management to challenge and we were not asked at any point if everything was okay. It seems that as we were last the boiled water had all been used. Comments from the waitress that no one else had complained about lukewarm tea from the boiler were not helpful. The very grubby 'white' towel in the 'loo' didn't help. Overall the experience was poor and we will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eshott
16.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,569 reviews
5.9 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
355 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eshott Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eshott Hall

Address: Eshott NE65 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Eshott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eshott
Price Range: £74 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eshott Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eshott Hall Hotel is a boutique property in a beautiful, peaceful location. The Georgian country house provides stylish rooms in luxurious surroundings, on a bed and breakfast or half board basis with meals served in our award winning dining room. A warm welcome awaits you at Eshott Hall in it's tranquil location in the Northumbrian countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Eshott Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eshott Hall Hotel Morpeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing