We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desolation, wind-swept roads...and the world's finest mojito.”
Review of Hotel Skaftafell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Skaftafell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skaftafell
Reviewed 6 August 2014

When we left Jökulsárlón the first day of a two-day journey, it was bitterly cold, windy and pouring rain. More importantly, it was near midnight and painfully obvious we would need accommodations overnight in order to return the glacial lakes the next morning. Along the ring road, almost every bed and breakfast and guest house was occupied. We were starting to wonder if there were going to be any viable options when we stumbled upon the Hótel Skaftafell, a modern hotel seemingly in the middle of nowhere. And if the saying, "Things happen for a reason" has any truth to it, then we were fortunate all our previous attempts to find a place to sleep on a moment's notice were futile. Not only did the Hótel Skaftafell have room for us, but we enjoyed meeting the staff there. The single best aspect of the property, however, was its bar, located upstairs. It's small but it is where we enjoyed the best mojitos we've ever tasted. Thank you, Marco ! Who knew the globe's best mint-infused rum drink could be had in such a pristine but isolated locale ?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Skaftafell
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location however the hotel itself is a little disappointing. The room is very dated, and had a small tv with poor reception and not many channels. There was no free wifi, despite this being very common in Iceland. It is over-priced for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our second stay at his hotel. This time we were housed in the main building. The room was quite large with comfortable beds. The room was clean but unfortunately is now due for refurbishment, it all looked a bit 1970s with cheap furniture and dated carpet.

breakfast was served in a pleasant large dining room. There was plenty of choice and the food looked well prepared and appetising. Pick this hotel if you want a lovely view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room outside the main building. There are cabin rooms available
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Since this large, group tour oriented hotel is at the foot of the glacier it is in a great location and about the only option in the area. But it is large and very tour group oriented. We had a room in the building across the back of the property so were somewhat isolated from the masses. Prices in the restaurant are very high, even for Iceland, so we had dinner in the gas station across the road for half the cost. Internet service is spotty. Breakfast was reasonably good. Staff were reasonably helpful but quite impersonal.

Room Tip: A room in the building across the back of the property is much more quiet and had a good view of the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a trip booked in advance by our ravel agency, so I have no real idea if it was an expensive stay or not. But it better not be. The hallways smelled 'old' and funny, and - worse - so did the rooms, also after a thorough airing-out. Even our kids mentioned the smell, and as they have been with us on road trips in the US staying in numerous Motel 6's and the like, they are *not* picky or unreasonable, and neither are we adults.

Also; the area between buildings were illuminated at night by a powerful spotlight that shone through cracks in the curtains in the room. Strange and somewhat annoying.

We ate lunch once at the hotel, and the price was steep, to say the least; ISK 3850 (33,5 USD) for a pretty basic chicken curry. Dinner buffet was ISK 6.500, and - as we did not expect gourmet quality here - we ate a surprisingly good meal at the truck stop on the other side of the street instead.

The hotel have a few noticeable qualities, though:

1) The location is awesome; the glacier is practically at the doorstep!
2) Helpful staff
3) Nice morning buffet

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view towards glacier and/or mountain (and away from spotlight in the yard).
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We booked our room in the morning as we arrived in Skaftafell. We were planning to take a hike and wanted to have an overnight accommodation later in the day. The hotel is in a nearby location.

Our rooom was in the anneks building behind the hotel and was just o.k. We decided not to spend ekstra for the hotel´s restaurant meal and opted for the cafeteria across the street.

There was a large group in the hotel that evening, perhaps a conference, so the hotel was quite busy.. We did enjoy the morning breakfast, one of the better ones during our stay in Iceland. And the view from both the hotel and our room was lovely.

But the price of the room sets it apart from some of the other accommodations we have had. It was quite pricey, but we chose the hotel because of its proximity to our hiking route.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Hotel Skaftafall was another hotel we stayed at on our self-drive "ring road" tour of Iceland. The best part was hiking behind the hotel toward the glacier area around midnight. You totally lose track of time in Iceland in the summer. As for the hotel itself...outdated decor, the room was odd...two twin beds for us (a married couple). We arrived 10 minutes after the hotel closed the restaurant and of course there is nothing else around so we were starving. The girl at the desk offered to make us sandwiches, which we paid for. I thought this was nice until I opened my sandwich...it was a butter bread sandwich with one slice of lunchmeat and one slice of cheese...that is it. Yuck...and I must say I ate it anyway because I was starving. My husband and I had a laugh over it. Nothing special really stands out for me at this place...glad to move on to the next place...the wifi didn't work here...it's free but good luck getting it to connect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ABieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaftafell
10.6 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
568 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solheimahjaleiga Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lindartun Guesthouse
Lindartun Guesthouse
#3 of 17 in Hvolsvollur
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brekkugerdi Guesthouse
Brekkugerdi Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Laugaras
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sireksstadir Farm Holiday
Sireksstadir Farm Holiday
#1 of 3 in Vopnafjordur
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skaftafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skaftafell

Address: Skaftafelli 2 | Freysnesi, Skaftafell, Vatnajokull National Park 785, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Skaftafell)
Region: Iceland > East Region > Vatnajokull National Park > Skaftafell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skaftafell
Price Range: £145 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skaftafell 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Skaftafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Skaftafell Hotel Skaftafell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing