We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very high quality B&B”

The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Durrow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very high quality B&B”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here the night before a wedding in Castle Durrow. Service was great, the room was huge and had two extremely comfortable kind sized beds. One of the best B&B's I ever stayed in. Breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colm224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    24
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
76
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cahir, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

A great place to stay, excellent sized room, a great breakfast and a very friendly welcome.The property is located in the centre of Durrow, very convenient to Durrow Castle, where we attended a wedding. The room we stayed in was a very large twin room, simply decoratec but stylish and in keeping with the character of the house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I have eaten here on countless occasions with family, friends and work colleagues. I can not fault the service or food in any way.

Rosezita always goes out of her way to make sure you are welcomed and looked after, even when it is very busy. The other staff are highly trained also. Séan the head chef always gets the food right (I'm a terribly picky eater) and always caters to a persons needs.

Friday and Saturday night's service is always relaxed and enjoyable with the most mouthwatering food. (Steak especially) Sunday lunch caters for families of all ages and is a very reasonable price. Fresh bread is always on the table and the prompt service means you won't be waiting very long for your starters. Vegetables on the side compliment the main courses. Desserts are gorgeous!

The front room to the left is perfect for intimate family occasions and is large enough to accommodate a nice size group.

There is a new conservatory extending towards the river which extends the dining area. The bar area is also used for service when it gets very busy (which happens often)

Please make sure you book a table to avoid disappointment, this is a very popular spot for locals and tourists.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed here but I would imagine a room over looking the river would be scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceolaguscraic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Rosezita makes this place run like clockwork. My girlfriend and I, and three friends, stayed here for two nights while attending a wedding at the Castle, which is a short walk away. A warm welcome late on Friday night, great breakfasts on the two mornings (kudos to Sean in the kitchen), and exceptional treatment in between. There was no iron in the room, but who needs one when Rosezita offers to iron your shirt for you! The guest house itself is very well appointed, a warm and cosy lounge, and a roomy restaurant. Our room was huge, with two king size beds and a large bathroom with walk-in shower. It was a really good find and made the wedding weekend even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 20 has two double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_real_miu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We were going to a wedding at castle durrow. Ashbrook arms is a quick walk away so no need for taxis. We arrived late on Friday night and we received a very friendly welcome. Our room was lovely and clean (I'm very fussy with cleanliness at hotels and I couldn't fault the ashbrook). Our room had 2 king size beds, the room was huge!
Breakfast was great, I had fruit salad with yoghurt, croissant and full cooked breakfast.
They are currently building a conservatory, which I can imagine will only add to such a lovely b&b.
The bed and pillows were really comfortable, so much so my husband and I thought we would take a quick nap in the day and we woke up 1.5 hours later!
My only suggested improvement is that they need to send a confirmation email after booking is made.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ch3rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kells, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here on Saturday evening following The Supreme Racing Club Awards Dinner which took place at the Castle Arms Hotel Greeted by and shown to my Room which was Beautifully presented spotlessly clean great shower and the hot towel rack a great idea Breakfast was excellent great selection of Cereals and Juices followed by lovely cooked Irish Breakfast straight from the Kitchen Piping Hot with plenty of toast toasted correctly and brown bread which was really fresh. This ia very professional run Bed And Breakfast who understand how to do things correctly and look after their Customers I would highly recommend this Band B if you are in the area or need a stop over Well done you are a credit to your profession Regatds and thanks for looking after me on my visit to Durrow

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennymcgrath11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed for two nights while attending a wedding in the nearby Durrow Castle. Found the proprietor very helpful, seemed to know us before we even introduced ourselves and was very helpful in terms of nearby amenities/attactions.
Rooms/bathroom was comfortably large and warm (during some winter frost outdoors). Breakfasts were standard B&B fare and the gusthouse was very popular for dinner on the Saturday night (so they must be doing something right!).
Overall I had no complaints, perhaps a little expensive for what you get but as has been said in other reviews here, the standard would be higher than a standard B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
4.6 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
180 reviews
13.7 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
5.7 mi away
Grange Manor Kilkenny
Grange Manor Kilkenny
#1 of 1 in Ballyragget
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Gandon Inn
The Gandon Inn
#2 of 6 in Portlaoise
111 reviews
20.0 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse

Property: The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Address: The Square, Durrow na, Ireland (Formerly Bianconi Red Lion Restaurant)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Durrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run guesthouse and restaurant is situated in the picturesque georgian village of Durrow, Laois in Ireland. The house was purpose built by Lord Ashbrook in 1777 and meticuosly restored by the Murphy family in 2005. It has 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms and the restaurant is open on Friday and Saturday nights and for Sunday lunch. It was formerly called the Bianconi Red Lion Guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant And Guesthouse Hotel Durrow
Durrow Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing