We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, large beautiful room, great food!”
Review of Castle Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Loved this place! Right across street from the castle, nice little square to stroll in. Easy parking. The room was decorated beautifully, and the largest hotel bathroom I've ever seen.Super clean. The restaurant is a gem, with a large handsome bar. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there. Delicious, great service. The owner Michael was the friendliest, funniest and most helpful host ever! You cannot possibly go wrong choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a suite for the 3 of us.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank appaloosas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Castle Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

A group of 12 of us from a vintage bike club met up in Durrow on Sunday morning, as we are from all over Ireland and try to meet up once a month the Castle Arms was the chosen place to have our meal. We were seated together and though we had a few late comers the table was extended to accommodate then with no bother at all. The different requests for the meal was all taken in their stride and the girls who served us even took the time to ask about our group and even had some suggestions as to where there was some local scenery worth viewing. Top class in every way & the food was superb. I could not fault this place in any way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A very reasonable Hotel in the heart of Ireland, close to the Dublin to Cork Motorway.
Booked in here as we had a meeting in nearby Urlingford the next morning.
Rooms very Clean and Beds Comfy, old fashioned decor, with free wi-fi.
Food served in Bar, good menu covering all tastes, served by friendly staff.
Breakfast also good quality.
At a business rate of € 50 bed and Breakfast, it represents good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robboWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The staff could not have done enough to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. Too many names to mention each person. The general manager was also extremely kind. He even gave me a lift into the next town, TWICE! On the way back he took me on a mini guided tour of the area. That is the kind nature of the Irish that I came across. He even asked one of his staff to give me a lift one day. Where would you get that? The free breakfast was first class! Rooms are a little dated but still very comfortable with tea and coffee, clean white towels and two bottles of mineral water each day in your room. The dinners are excellent value also. Dancing and singing on the Sunday in the ballroom. Do not moan about the band, join in the fun!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paradisebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed recently for a family wedding - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, although we only booked this hotel as it was close to the venue we were really pleased with our choice! Must mention Ruth (a waitress in the bar) who was friendly and charming, a real star and an asset to this hotel. The rooms were comfy - great size and lovely bathroom and shower! Breakfast in the morning was very filling - set us up for a long day at the wedding! We also ate the evening that we arrived - we did arrive just after the kitchen should have closed, but this was no trouble and Ruth and the others looked after us exceptionally well - nothing was too much trouble and they were all very welcoming. Thank you all for a lovely stay, we only booked as it was close to the venue but we were very lucky to have found a really welcoming place!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We went to the Castle Arms Hotel yesterday for my Mam and Dad's 40th Wedding Anniversary celebrations and one word to describe it all is WOW! I booked it all with Catriona and I had a couple of special requests and they not only were met they were exceeded. Joseph looked after us so well throughout the luncheon and the two waitresses (Ruth was one of the girls names, I forget the other girls name - sorry!) were excellent. We had 10 small very lively kids there and the girls were just lovely to them.

Joseph gave Mam and Dad an upgraded room with a four poster bed, and he placed handmade Irish chocolates and a card from the Hotel in the room and petals on the bed - very lovely touches! Mam and Dad said the bed was the most comfy they have ever stayed in.

We can’t thank you guys enough for looking after us! Highly recommend the Castle Arms Hotel.

Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheyAreAllGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A nice one night stay here for a wedding in the nearby Castle Durrow.

Check-in was quick and painless. Then a kind member of staff showed us to our room and carried up my bag. What a gent.

The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom could do with a bit of modernising to be honest, but other than that it was fine.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down. There was only one person working the whole floor and she was completely run off her feet. I started to get a bit narked when a group of three people who came in and ordered their food 30 minutes AFTER us and got their food pretty much immediately. Not good when you have a hangover and needed a greasy fry up to make things better. It arrived eventually and filled a gap, it was nothing special. But fry ups that are not your own rarely impress, to be honest.

Apart from the breakfast, it was a grand stay. And I would recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to stay in the village

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
4.6 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
185 reviews
12.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
704 reviews
13.7 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
698 reviews
13.7 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
180 reviews
13.6 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arms Hotel

Address: The Square, Durrow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Price Range: £53 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing