We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Durrow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Durrow
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2008

Our friends got married and had there reception at Durrow Castle and we stayed as part of the weddding party.

We stayed at room 9 at the Stables. It is not a room, it is a 2 bedroom apartment. It is amazingly beautiful and huge.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with a working stables.

The hotel its self is of a high standard and everything was near enough perfect and if there were any problems the staff fixed and sorted them out for you right away.

As we were at a wedding, we had a set meal. The food was great, well cooked and full of flavour. The wine was good, the service great and professional.
Breakfast was great also.

It would not be the cheapest hotel in the world to stay in. I asked for info and was told that it costs up to Euro310 a night, dinner and breakfast included. But it is worth the money.

Pleasent suprise in the morning of finding out how little my bar bill was.
Expensive hotel, cheap bar.

We will return.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Having to leave in the morning.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernj175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    76
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
123
218
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

Have to say this was a very nice, very distinctive hotel.

I stayed there for a wedding for which the wedding party took every room in the place, and it was just the right size to give it an intimate feeling without being claustrophic.

The food was excellent, although the breakfast wasn't quite what I was expecting. Don't get me wrong, this was no bad thing...but was more of an interesting take on an Irish Breakfast than a hearty Irish breakfast.

Just a few things to note. If are in the "courtyard" area, turn on your fan heater as soon as you get there, and leave it on when you're out and about. Single glazing in this quarter means the rooms get cold rather quickly. Or, if you are in the newer quarter and attending a wedding, just be aware that it's a long and winding walk to the ballroom.

  • Liked — Distinctive, charming place. Full of character.
  • Disliked — Needed heater in the bedroom
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyMcNamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

We (myself and my girlfriend) stayed there for one night for a wedding. It's a beautiful place, perhaps an hour and a half drive from Dublin. Head for Cork/Limerick, you're close when you're in Abbeyleix, then go to Durrow.

It's on its own lovely grounds (watch the bumps on the way in!!). It's beautiful - lovely old building, very tastefully appointed inside.

Stunning grounds with beautiful gardens. For a Wedding - it's absolutely incredible. We had a fantastic evening, and the staff could not have been better or more helpful. I was also blown away by the way they served rack of lamb, pink, to 160+ people. Fantastic!

Rooms were lovely, quiet, comfortable, great linen.

Breakfast was savage (in my world, savage = good!! :-)

I'd highly, highly recommend it. For anything, for anyone. Would love to go back.

  • Liked — The whole thing!
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sos100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

What can I say: SPEECHLESS
We got married there on the 19th May 2008
No problems
No hassle
Great service
Beautiful Staff
Helpful Staff
Beautiful Place
Perfect bride
Great fois grais
Will be back for many anniversary's
Thks
Lisa & Brian

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flymoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

Four poster bed, very large room with arm chairs and writing desk. View over gardens and into the hills. Charming bar and bar staff at reasonable pirces. The bathroom is enormous and stylish with Molten Brown toiletries. Staff are very friendly. Feel like a king or queen for a night or more at the Durrow Castle!

  • Liked — Atmosphere and rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

We attended a family wedding at Castle Durrow. We travelled up the day before the wedding. We had booked a room at the Stables, as did more of our party. Our room was gorgeous, really big, with lovely quaint decor. As some people were moved around, only one other person from our group was staying in the Stables, that room was even nicer - practically a suite. We saw one other room in the hotel, think it was the Courtyard and that was gorgeous too.
Dinner had been organised for everyone at the wedding that night. It was BBQ-type food - but indoors and it was gorgeous. We went to the bar later and kept the night barman up half the night - he continued smiling and seemed to be enjoying our "singing".
Breakfast next morning was fabulous. The orange juice was just lovely, drank glass after glass of it. Cooked breakfast was lovely, and so nicely presented. Staff were lovely and friendly and checked that we were okay. Toast was lovely - something that often isn't nice - this was lovely thick bread and just rightly toasted - and lots of it.
The wedding was wonderful, meal was gorgeous, service great. One of our group asked for a veg option and it wasn't an issue at all - looked good too!
Check-in and check-out were totally pain-free - not always the easiest when there are lots of guests all with the same name! Tea and coffee were complementary for guests - there aren't tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.
We will definitely go back there!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — Shower took while to heat up.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

Stayed here for a one night treat after Christmas. The accomodation is beautiful and luxurious. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant and had a gorgeous meal from a wide ranging menu.
We had one slip-up when we were forgotten for a while when we awaited our table for dinner though the quality of the meal made it worth waiting for.
The location doesn't offer much outside the hotelso this may not be the best place for extended stays. Apparently the gardens are nice in the Summer, however.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — No Pool!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
14.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.6 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
12.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
13.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Durrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Durrow

Property: Castle Durrow
Address: Demesne, Durrow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Durrow is located in the heart of the village. A fully restored, magnificent 300 year old Mansion with luxurious bedrooms each with their own atmosphere. Our restaurant is located in stunning south-facing rooms, decorated with mirrors and hand blocked wallpaper, our head chef creates delicious seasonal menus, popular with visitors and locals alike. We are a terrific place to relax and let romance and Guinness de-stress the mind and body in our cosy bar and reception rooms. In the Magnificent garden, with fabulous scented borders and a walled garden, from where our chefs pick their daily produce, you can stroll around for hours or have a more vigorous walk by the river and in the hills adjoining the castle. A stay at the castle with Dinner and some romance would not be complete without a beauty treatment in our salon , aptly named the Powder box ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Durrow Hotel Durrow
Castle Hotel Durrow
Durrow Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing