We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”
Review of Castle Durrow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Durrow
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I never write reviews but I felt I had to because it was such a wonderful experience. What a truly magnificent place, and the excellent staff are one of the main reasons it made our stay so wonderful. Well done to them, they have helped greatly in enhancing this wonderful house which is well worth a visit be it for an special occasion or an overnight stay. On this occasion we were guests at a family wedding and everything from the moment you walked in the front door was special. We will definitely go back..I really couldn't recommend it enough. Anne Dublin

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    77
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
126
221
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed there while attending a family wedding . From the moment we walked into Castle Durrow we were met with "The Wow Factor" from the fantastic Irish Welcome we received at check in to our fabulous bedroom complete with a four poster bed. Service was excellent and the food was superb.We took a long walk around the grounds the next day and being a lover of gardens , I was just in my element . The walled gardens are magnificent . This has to be one of the very best locations for a wedding or weekend break in Ireland. Just loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura52221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellence in every area of hospitality might start to sum up our experience of Castle Durrow.In fact, superlatives may fail me in my review. My wife and I held our wedding here in May 2014. The fine website certainly gives a good impression of the magnificence of the buildings, rooms and grounds however, visiting in the depths of winter, 18 months before our wedding to look at the venue left us in no doubt that it had the potential to be a dream spot. Marie Laffin, the wedding coordinator was outstanding from start to finish. Her ability to communicate effectively in person and through emails etc made a big difference to the successful outcome. This included band, lighting, florist and photographer too.
There was clearly excellent team communication between staff involved in reservations of rooms and the function and hotel staff throughout. Not an easy thing to cultivate, but this culture of helpfulness, courtesy and excellence does permeate the place, a tribute to all.
Particularly Louise and Suzanne, Ray, Kieran, to name a few, who went out of their way to make our guests welcome and ensure the day itself went off so well.
The rooms are individually stunning in their decor and upkeep, both houses and castleyard/stables. Some of our guests work in the hospitality industry and made special mention of this.
THe grounds are beautiful, from the tree lined lawns, herb gardens, secret fish pond and tennis court with pavilion where we had a bbq the day after.
Our wedding day, in reference to Castle Durrow, was superb. The reception areas were fantastic. The banquet hall is beautiful with little addition on our part. The meal, fillet of beef being the main event, was of exception quality. Again, friends in the hospitality industry made mention of the quality and presentation of the entire meal.
I am delighted to give Castle Durrow, and in particular the phenomenal staff, my highest possible approval. My wife and I feel very grateful our wedding was here.

Room Tip: Had a look in all the rooms. All amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Attended a wedding here recently and it was beautiful. Can't speak of the bedrooms, but I was told they were stunning. The service was excellent and the food gorgeous. The grounds I know are stunning, and it was probably the only shame that the wedding was in winter so we didn't really get to see or appreciate the gardens and grounds. Great wedding venue though!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelliePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at Castle Durrow for two nights, attending a wedding in the castle. The grounds are beautiful. The staff are welcoming and attentive, really friendly people. Beautiful food, lovely clean comfortable room. No complaints at all. No tea facilities in the room, but tea and coffee were supplied free at any time of asking in the bar or at reception.

Room Tip: Rooms in the actual hotel would be quieter, as wedding rooms are near the banqueting hall and can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker199221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here recently as part of a wedding party. What a place! Our room was amazing, the staff were fantastic from start to finish, the food- perfect, and the gardens - wonderful to explore. I even enjoyed a game of tennis.
A wonderful spot and I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away:)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite in the main building - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The owners and staff of Castle Durrow pulled out all the stops for a memorable evening there was sunshine beautiful gardens stunning rooms the best nights sleep ever in room 54 and NO rain.

The food was superb and the wine fabulous the wine list is wonderful, being spoilt as I am living in the centre of the UK with a vast number of local gastro pubs all trying to out do one another with ever exotic creations I was a real joy to eat well cooked tasty elegant food locally sourced in beautiful surroundings and feel we could relax and have a party without feeling we were making too much of a noisy exhibition!!!!

Really Really great and the breakfast was just perfect too.

Thank you Castle Durrow for a very very happy time in the sunshine!!!!

Room Tip: They are all fabulous but facing the garden is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philippa1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
14.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
4.6 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
12.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
14.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Durrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Durrow

Property: Castle Durrow
Address: Demesne, Durrow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Durrow is located in the heart of the village. A fully restored, magnificent 300 year old Mansion with luxurious bedrooms each with their own atmosphere. Our restaurant is located in stunning south-facing rooms, decorated with mirrors and hand blocked wallpaper, our head chef creates delicious seasonal menus, popular with visitors and locals alike. We are a terrific place to relax and let romance and Guinness de-stress the mind and body in our cosy bar and reception rooms. In the Magnificent garden, with fabulous scented borders and a walled garden, from where our chefs pick their daily produce, you can stroll around for hours or have a more vigorous walk by the river and in the hills adjoining the castle. A stay at the castle with Dinner and some romance would not be complete without a beauty treatment in our salon , aptly named the Powder box ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Durrow Hotel Durrow
Castle Hotel Durrow
Durrow Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing