We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Castle Durrow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Durrow
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2009

stayed here in December 08 for a wedding.Have to say I can't fault it. Lovely room , great food both in the bar and at the wedding. The wedding room is fantastic and in an amazing setting. The staff were without exception friendly and polite which is very hard to say about anywhere these days. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank futuredub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2008

I suspect that Castle Durrow aims to attract the wedding business. They certainly don't treat ordinary vacationers particularly well. The room was nice, but very poorly heated, and the bathroom was freezing. I was not impressed when I went to take a bath at midnight and found that the hot water had run out. For the price charged, I expect 24 hour hot water.

The service in the restaurant was appallingly slow. It took 1/2 hour for the waitress to bring bread to the table after she took the order.

The grounds of the hotel were very nice.

I definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ElectricSheep5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

We got married in Castle Durrow in June 2008 & I can't say enough good things about the place, the hotel is stunning, the food was gorgeous & Marie the wedding co-ordinator (as were all the staff) were amazing! Our guests had a brilliant time and they loved the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
Thank traveller3334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We had our wedding in Castle Durrow on Mon 13th Oct but it had been a year and a half in the planning.
Basically from day one the staff at the hotel were nothing more than fabulous. Marie the wedding co-ordinator in particular made everything so easy for us.
A good reference point of what this hotel is about is that we had 70 guests all of whom stayed in the hotel and every single one of them loved the place, the food, their rooms and the staff.

I honestly have stayed there 4 or 5 times now and every time your made to feel special - wedding or just a regular stay.

it is by far the best hotel in ireland - by a long stretch.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AndrewinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

The castle and grounds are beautiful. Our room was gorgeous - large, four poster bed, high ceilings. They have a range of rooms - this was one of their best. Dinner was very good, as was breakfast. However, it was €310 for dinner, B&B for two. So at that price I felt that the in room TV should have had multi-channel reception (only the 4 Irish channels available). It was also somewhat irritating that the dinner menu was a restricted version of the normal dinner menu - a bit miserable given the price charged!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calafort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

This review is more about the food than anything else. We had dinner at Castle Durrow choosing from the set menu. To be honest we weren't all that excited as we had a drink in the bar first and the musty smell and dozens of bar flies was kind of overwhelming!
I chose a fish dish as did one of the other guests, and I'm sorry to say it was definitely off. The minute the waiter brought it near the table, the smell was overpowering. When I cut into it the middle was pink and freezing cold - it wasn't even cooked. I asked our waiter if I could have it a little more done, and to be fair he was very nice about it. But it came back the same. Both our fish dishes were undercooked and off.

The starters were ok-ish, same standard as pub grub. THe dessert was a total let down.

The service was alright - not fantastic but not awful.

The rooms were in need of a good clean and fresh decor. Will definitely not be going back! Way overpriced - save your money for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank scallions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Stayed here one night end of August. Had previously been here for a wedding. We had a deluxe room and were on a Dinner, bed & Breakfast rate. The room was huge and nicely decorated. There was a wedding on the night we were there but it did not cause a problem for us. The food in the restaurant was excellent, had a few drinks in the bar afterwards. Bar man John was lovely, chatty & friendly. Enjoyed our stay and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allenef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
16.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,578 reviews
13.6 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
239 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,084 reviews
16.1 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
4.7 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Durrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Durrow

Address: Demesne, Durrow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Durrow is located in the heart of the village. A fully restored, magnificent 300 year old Mansion with luxurious bedrooms each with their own atmosphere. Our restaurant is located in stunning south-facing rooms, decorated with mirrors and hand blocked wallpaper, our head chef creates delicious seasonal menus, popular with visitors and locals alike. We are a terrific place to relax and let romance and Guinness de-stress the mind and body in our cosy bar and reception rooms. In the Magnificent garden, with fabulous scented borders and a walled garden, from where our chefs pick their daily produce, you can stroll around for hours or have a more vigorous walk by the river and in the hills adjoining the castle. A stay at the castle with Dinner and some romance would not be complete without a beauty treatment in our salon , aptly named the Powder box ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Durrow Hotel Durrow
Castle Hotel Durrow
Durrow Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing