We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place”
Review of Castle Durrow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Durrow
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Certificate of Excellence
County Meath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful place”
Reviewed 6 August 2010

What a beautiful place! Our daughter's wedding was organised with grace, friendliness and efficiency. From start to finish we were welcomed and made to feel at home. The food was splendid; the rooms comfortable and full of character and the gardens spectacular. Even a guest's teething baby was looked after gently by an experienced member of staff so that she didn't have to miss dinner!
All in all it was a most enjoyable and happy experience.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MMGCountyMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    80
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
133
226
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We got married in Castle Durrow in June and cannot speak highly enough about this amazing venue. The staff are so warm and friendly and would do anything to assist, the rooms are beautiful, the food amazing and it really feels like its your home for the weekend. We stayed from Friday to Monday and the standard of service and care was the same for the entire weekend. Our families and friends had a similar experience and were raving about CD. We could not recommend CD highly enough, zero stress when you book this venue for your wedding, a really enjoyable break if you stay there for a weekend! That says alot!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamhie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This hotel is a wonderful find, full of charm and beauty, coupled with excellent service and fine food. Castle Durrow is as splendid as they come.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaneyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed at Castle Durrow and pampered ourselves in the deluxe rooms with the four poster beds. We booked the "dinner, bed and breakfast" offer and could not believe the superior quality of the food and service. The attention to detail and the "little things" will bring us back again. Thank you to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I had my wedding here in May and I can honestly say it was a perfect day. It exceeded my expectations. I was really expecting something to go wrong but from start to finish it was just the most amazing day. The hotel is fabulous and in the most wonderful setting for a wedding, with a beautiful terrace at the back for afternoon drinks. The staff were so friendly and amenable, the food was great, the drinks were flowing and everything went without a hitch. The hotel even ran out 20 minutes before the ceremony to get me 2 beautiful roses with lovely long stems which were part of the ceremony as I had forgotten about them. They didn't even add them to the bill! I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a wedding and I've met a number of people who have either been to a wedding here or had their wedding here and they've all said the same. The bill at the end was also surprisingly reasonable. You must go here!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripovermyowntwofeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Attended a friend's wedding here and stayed the night before and the night of the wedding. I loved every minute of it. I thought the staff were excellent - both very friendly and efficient. The garden facing room was very cute although my boyfriend was understandably less enamored of the very flowery decor! The food was lovely - both the bar food on our first night and the wedding meal. The breakfasts were fabulous. The grounds were well kept. What else can I say? When can I go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I travelled with my family to a wedding which went very well.The grounds were very nice but the food was not suited to chilldren( this was nothing to do with the wedding menu) All the stafff were helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deep-blue-swimmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
14.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
264 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,808 reviews
14.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,880 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Durrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Durrow

Property: Castle Durrow
Address: Demesne, Durrow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Durrow is located in the heart of the village. A fully restored, magnificent 300 year old Mansion with luxurious bedrooms each with their own atmosphere. Our restaurant is located in stunning south-facing rooms, decorated with mirrors and hand blocked wallpaper, our head chef creates delicious seasonal menus, popular with visitors and locals alike. We are a terrific place to relax and let romance and Guinness de-stress the mind and body in our cosy bar and reception rooms. In the Magnificent garden, with fabulous scented borders and a walled garden, from where our chefs pick their daily produce, you can stroll around for hours or have a more vigorous walk by the river and in the hills adjoining the castle. A stay at the castle with Dinner and some romance would not be complete without a beauty treatment in our salon , aptly named the Powder box ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Durrow Hotel Durrow
Castle Hotel Durrow
Durrow Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing