We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and staff, but some problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in La Maddalena
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent location and staff, but some problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The staff is very friendly and welcoming and the hotel is at a superb cation right in front of the harbor. It was disappointing and unjustifiable at this day and age that they don't have internet service in the rooms and that the small refrigerator is unable to cool properly, let alone make ice for the small ice cube tray in it, especially in view of the hot summer weather. The bathroom is very modern but the floor of the tub enclosure is dangerously slippery and there is no way to hang the showerhead overhead.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    114
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
182
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London at the moment
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent four nights at Hotel Excelsior as an extended weekend break. It's handy in terms of location: behind the town hall/square and in front of the ferry terminal. I read reviews saying the ferry noise was intrusive but we had a sea view room and didn't really notice it. I should add we live in London so maybe a factor; the ferries quickly became background noise (windows are double glazed) and didn't wake us up. Actually we enjoyed watching the boats passing to/fro - reminded us we were on an island. Not having to hassle to find our hotel on arrival was also welcome. Rooms are middling size but spotless. Staff are very friendly. Location wise it's an easy 1 minute stroll to the town centre or along the waterside and there's a supermarket a few doors down. Breakfast has a bit of everything but isn't extraordinary. All in all a nice, clean hotel, very friendly staff and easy location. We had a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roving_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
137 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Pros
A clean and relatively new property next to the ferry stop (never was troubled during my stay).
A good base to travel around this wonderful archipelago with the best beaches in Europe and great islands nearby.
A good place to dine around from.

Cons
Rooms on smallish side, internet in the room is very slooooow, hard to be in touch with your work. The personnel is probably part-time/seasonal, pretty indifferent to what is going on around. No spa,swimming pool, or fitness area (not a 4 star it purports to market).

Overall, with La Maddalena Hotel & Yacht Club closed until 2013, the best (and not expensive) option in La Maddelena, and archipelago is magnificent!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostiantyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Very nice hotel at the harbour .Nice big breakfast and exstreemly helpfull staff.All of them spoke well english wich helps a lot when our italien is not that good .Easy to locate ,straight in front of the ferry.Room with a small balcony ,but I like to be able to sit outside (not all rooms have one ).Big enough for the two of us.Room nice size , and bathroom perfect.We had a pleasant stay and we would stayed at the same place again.

Room Tip: Front facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astoele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I went back to this hotel one year after my first visit and I have to change my review from positive to negative.

The rooms quality is still OK, however the prices went up and the quality of the service went down ( a lot).

I found the staff at the front desk rude and unhelpful.

They were useless and unfriendly when I booked and they confirmed this attitude when they kicked me out in the morning at 11 AM even if I asked a late check-out. As my boat was at 1.30PM and the temperature outside was 35 degrees, I asked if I could stay at least until noon. The girl at the front desk ignored my request and pretending to check her PC she said that they had someone arriving early. I could see her screen and she wasnt checking anything...really pathetic.

They told me that staying 1 extra hour was a big problem for their cleaning process...

Other negative points :
- the very noisy cleaning ladies started cleaning the rooms at 8.30 and they woke me up with their loud chats and hoovering
- they say they have WiFi but it doesnt work
- 5 days cancellation policy is too much
- average continental breakfast

Bottom line: they think they are a 4 star, now they charge like a 4 stars but the service is really poor. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DayTripperLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel is situated right in the centre, the windows are soundproof. It was recently refurbished in a cool and calming contemporary style. There is a 'solarium' on the roof and a wonderful terrace on the first floor, where breakfast is served.
We booked a room for two nights with three beds via the internet, but got a double wit a fold out bed, leaving not enough room to move about. After the first night we decided to complain and got a family suite which was very nice. Very professional staff. No business centre available, but internet café nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polderpolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

I stayed 1 night at Excelsior and my experience was above the expectations, considering that I paid a reasonable fee for a double room < 100 euro

The Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful , the rooms are elegant and clean, with a nice sea view.

Will definitely come back.

Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DayTripperLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Maddalena
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
#2 of 17 in La Maddalena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
8.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel e Residence Villa Del Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Miralonga
Hotel Miralonga
#7 of 17 in La Maddalena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.6 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
21.7 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Vai Amendola, 7, 07024, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Maddalena Islands > La Maddalena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in La Maddalena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Excelsior, elegant and modern, is located in the city centre on the island of La Maddalena. We offer customers a comfortable and quiet holiday dream. It is easy to reach the most beautiful beaches on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel La Maddalena
Hotel Excelsior La Maddalena, Sardinia - Maddalena Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing