We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in La Maddalena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Good admin, good reception, good recommendations on restaurants and things to see, accessible from the harbour (1 min by foot), beautiful rooms and amazing bathroom with changing lights on the shower, A/C, TV and great value for money. Oh, and WHAT a breakfast, non-stop eating!
Totally recommended!

Room Tip: if you can, get a deluxe room, views may be amazing, silent during low season and beautiful terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexiaPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    123
    26
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
200
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

When you come of the boat from Palau, directly next to the ramp you find the hotel.
Service is excellent and location is perfect.

The hotel is a bit expensive and the rooms should be cleaner.

The surroundings on the island and the surrounding islands are great.
This is a part of Sardinia that you shouldn't miss.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for a week in end of October 2012, and were very happy with the service of the hotel (originally we had only planned on one night, but decided to extend). Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was spacious and clean (we stayed in a family suite with plenty of room for our family of four). Breakfasts were also fine, with all you need to keep you going. I would agree that the Internet service in the rooms was slow though, but this wasn't important enough to take a star off.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annecy-Apartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sassari, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for one night last Spring and it was perfect! The room was clean, modern, new and the shower in the spacious bathroom was amazing! The staff helped us with everything we needed, and even made friendly conversation while I sipped my tea waiting for my husband. The location was right across from the ferry, so perfect if you are on foot. We had our car and found a free parking spot right across the street. The roof top deck had new comfortable chairs and was a nice place to go for an evening drink. The location is perfect and close to everything. There is even a little grocery store a few doors down for any snack or other needs. I would highly recommend the hotel...great night stay!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennybinetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found it SUPERB!!!
Extremely clean. Very comfortable beds. Immaculate rooms. Great location. And the staff were very helpful, friendly and profesional. Good breakfast too.
I would definately reccomend this hotel 5*

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The staff is very friendly and welcoming and the hotel is at a superb cation right in front of the harbor. It was disappointing and unjustifiable at this day and age that they don't have internet service in the rooms and that the small refrigerator is unable to cool properly, let alone make ice for the small ice cube tray in it, especially in view of the hot summer weather. The bathroom is very modern but the floor of the tub enclosure is dangerously slippery and there is no way to hang the showerhead overhead.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London at the moment
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent four nights at Hotel Excelsior as an extended weekend break. It's handy in terms of location: behind the town hall/square and in front of the ferry terminal. I read reviews saying the ferry noise was intrusive but we had a sea view room and didn't really notice it. I should add we live in London so maybe a factor; the ferries quickly became background noise (windows are double glazed) and didn't wake us up. Actually we enjoyed watching the boats passing to/fro - reminded us we were on an island. Not having to hassle to find our hotel on arrival was also welcome. Rooms are middling size but spotless. Staff are very friendly. Location wise it's an easy 1 minute stroll to the town centre or along the waterside and there's a supermarket a few doors down. Breakfast has a bit of everything but isn't extraordinary. All in all a nice, clean hotel, very friendly staff and easy location. We had a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roving_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Maddalena
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
#1 of 17 in La Maddalena
500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#6 of 17 in La Maddalena
152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Cala Lunga
Hotel Cala Lunga
#9 of 17 in La Maddalena
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Miralonga
Hotel Miralonga
#5 of 17 in La Maddalena
149 reviews
21.7 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
972 reviews
8.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Vai Amendola, 7, 07024, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Maddalena Islands > La Maddalena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in La Maddalena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Excelsior, elegant and modern, is located in the city centre on the island of La Maddalena. We offer customers a comfortable and quiet holiday dream. It is easy to reach the most beautiful beaches on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel La Maddalena
Hotel Excelsior La Maddalena, Sardinia - Maddalena Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing