We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in La Maddalena
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The staff in this hotel are exceptional - they couldn't do enough for me! Let me explain - I had been planning to propose to my girlfriend when we got to La Maddalena but I didn't know the island or the nice areas. I emailed the hotel over the weeks leading up to the holiday and received a dozen thoughtful emails from the staff helping me out. They ended up booking us a very romantic boat trip for two which was absolutely perfect (also helped that she said yes!). I'd recommend the hotel to any couple looking for a bit of romantic flair to their holiday 10/10

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank triathlonsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    113
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
179
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Excelsior and were very impressed with the friendly staff who went the extra mile to make our stay a memorable one. A special thanks to the receptionists who helped us print off our Easy Jet boarding passes which ended up being quite a mission. Comfortable rooms with all mod-cons and everything in working order. The hotel could not be better situated, being close to the old town, restaurants and the harbour. Thank you Hotel Excelsior and your exceptionally friendly staff for a wonderful stay. 5 star service from a 4 star hotel who charge 3 star prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingo0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great room, very good location, walking distance to all restaurants. Free parking around the hotel. wireless slow but remember this is a island. The breakfast have great coffee but need to change sometimes after few days start to be borring
I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pataix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koper
Level Contributor
245 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We enjoyed our short staying here. It is perfect, while it is on walking distance to all restaurants etc.. We always found free parking very close to it. The staff was helpfull and always nice. The price is normal for what you get. Only small minus is the breakfast, which is not their strongest point. The room was big, nice and clean.

Room Tip: we choosed a room, on the side of the port, with a balcony - it wasn't too loud from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123321_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We spent there 1 week, we had a good time. It is just in the city center, but very close to bus stop, bar, restaurants and in front of the see (but not possible swim there, it is the harbor).
Only problem it is the wireless: it was not reachable in our room!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smaramattula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice and really clean hotel. The staff was very nice (special thanks to Maria Luisa and her collegues) and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect. Near the harbor and in a walking distance to the nice restaurants and gelateria's :0). I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Borro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This is a very good quality four star hotel 50 mtrs from the ferry. Rooms are recently renovated or just new. My room had adequate storage for clothes and a small safe and refrigerator, excellent bathroom with bidet. Flat screen television with BBC world news. It's always nice to be able to keep in touch.

Ferry costs are very low., about €8 for a car and 2 people. It makes this island well worth a visit

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank FreddyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Maddalena
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
#2 of 17 in La Maddalena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel e Residence Villa Del Parco
8.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Miralonga
Hotel Miralonga
#7 of 17 in La Maddalena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
21.7 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
7.6 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Vai Amendola, 7, 07024, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Maddalena Islands > La Maddalena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in La Maddalena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Excelsior, elegant and modern, is located in the city centre on the island of La Maddalena. We offer customers a comfortable and quiet holiday dream. It is easy to reach the most beautiful beaches on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel La Maddalena
Hotel Excelsior La Maddalena, Sardinia - Maddalena Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing