We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in La Maddalena
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We arrived at the hotel knowing that it had only recently opened, but it still did not live up to our expectations. First of all there is no real sea view from the bedroom terrasse, even if it is advertised as such. Pool is nice but only a dozen or so sun loungers we wondered what it would be like when hotel is full. A few more choices for breakfast would have been nice. Hotel bar was empty in evenings no wonder when a cocktail costs €19! We had no running water twice during our stay. On positive side the hotel staff tried to do their utmost and were always friendly. We were nevertheless happy to have travelled to this beautiful archipelago and beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flowerflowerfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHResortMaeMa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear flowerflo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma and for your detailed review.

We really appreciate the time you took to review your visit, your feedback is important to us as it helps to improve our standards of service and to enhance the guest experience. Hopefully you will notice the difference in quality and service during your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Roslaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    113
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
77
296
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TH
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

New hotel, quite a lot to be improved on.
Rooms are nice and fresh, but very cold because of the airconditioning. You can't really control it, you need to call reception if you want it off and then contact them again if you want it on. Very inconvenient.
tv is supposed to be very high-tech, but none of the English-speaking channels worked. You get good wifi in the room, but nowhere else. (maybe in the lobby, but you need to ask for another password).
The hotel has almost no grounds. While the pool is quite pleasant, the pool area is pretty, but tiny and i can't imagine what it would be like if the hotel was full and there were more than 10 people who'd like to swim. Amazingly they also put all the shade (umbrellas) away as soon as there's the slightest breezy.
The location is good, really close to the sea, but surprisingly there's almost NO view of the sea from anywhere. We had a room on the 3rd top floor and you could glimpse it behind some houses, but i'd never call this 'sea view' as they make it appear in the description of the rooms. Anyway, mainly the view is of the carpark and i would not recommend a room in any of the ground or 1st floors.
Breakfast was also poor. You'd expect better quality from a luxury hotel. There was one type of bread and not really a lot of variety. Hopefully they'll implement some changes there. Did not eat at the restraurant, but it was very expensive. Better spend your money in the cute little town, much more choice and good eats.

The reception staff are very friendly, if not yet very organised. Room service is also rather chaotic. Elevators did not work. I guess it's still a work in progress.
Overall, the hotel feels still quite sterile. Hopefully with time it will get a bit more lived in and probably more pleasant.

Room Tip: definitely go for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jili_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sardinia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed at Grand Hotel Ma & MA last week for a long week-end and very much enjoyed the hotel's location which allowed me to discover many of the hundreds bays all around La Maddalena.

The hotel is suited for active people who really wants to discover the beauty of the isalnd and come back at evening to enjoy a very good spa.

the Building is brand new, nicely decorated and with some very impressive details. with time it will get warmer as you can feel it was recently opened.

Value for money extremely in balance and in line with a new opening.

Room Tip: all rooms are very particular, suites are for sure worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHResortMaeMa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear loki4,

It was such a pleasure to read your review, we are delighted you chose Grand Hotel Ma&Ma for your stay in la Maddalena and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience.

Thank you very much for your positive comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Rosalba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Ordered a familiy room but were upgraded to suite. Lovely and helpful staff arranged for us to have a wonderful holiday. The hotel is quite new and is an undiscovered treasure in this lovely island of maddalena. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel has a pool, gym, a beach nearby. The breakfast is good with lots of fruit, could only be a little more to choose from. Overall luxury feeling about this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHResortMaeMa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Dear Juxtra,

Thank you for sharing a fabulous review of our Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma and we are very happy that you would definitely recommend it to "anyone".

It was a great pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Rosalba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We enjoyed our trip to La Maddalena but there could be some improvements in the hotel.

The upside:
.Quiet and relatively tourist free - June is not busy anyway. The location is quiet and away from the central town which is what we wanted but transport can be an issue. Buses do travel on time but are not that frequent
.The concierge Fabrizio was a gem of a guy who was very helpful, sincere and has a wealth of local knowledge that he is willing to share. He made up for the shortcomings in the hotel. Indeed most of the staff at the hotel reception and cleaners were warm and friendly.
.Good toiletries in the rooms, nice big hairdrier
.Efficient and regular cleaning
. Free WiFi in the hotel which was great!
. Lovely swimming pool
. Massive balcony in our room but could do with sun beds placed in there

The downside:
Still has some construction undergoing though there is no noise or interruption
.Breakfast, especially the warm food was limited to dry scrambled eggs or boiled, cool frankfurters and small sausages. There was a selection of cold food which was unchanging day after day. Some of the staff at breakfast gave the impression they were waiting to clear the place up even before it was time
.Some of the advertised services at the spa were not working - (hot stone seats) and when we asked, the poor guy did not know when they would be fixed. Little things like cold herbal tea etc.
.The TV would sometimes work - we do like keeping up with world events


Would we go back there? Yes, we would.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potentash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rozendaal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a so called 5 star luxury hotel. They charge the price of a 5 star but it really deserves a 2 star. No service, no lights in the corridors, sterile place, roomservice sucks, food cold. Staff argued loudly in kitchen. Breakfast the worst you can imagine. The hotel and its apartments are still under construction. We visited the hotel in June 2013. After one day we left the hotel but had to pay for the 3 nights we booked. We asked two weeks before arrival if the hotel was complete ready to receive the guests. Bulldozers are still working on the plot. It was a complete disappointment. The pictures at their website are misleading. Other 5 star hotel are less expensieve in beautiful Sardinia and have 10 times more ambiance. Do go there for the price they are asking.

Room Tip: Choose an other hotel on the main island. 5 star hotel Capo d' Orso is a much better pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Michel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHResortMaeMa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear Michel E,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not delivering the high standards of service that you have come to expect from our hotel. But I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of your comments. Hopefully you will notice the difference in quality and service during your next stay with us should you come to la Maddalena once again.

Best regards,

Rosalba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Maddalena
1.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#2 of 17 in La Maddalena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
8.8 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
8.4 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel e Residence Villa Del Parco
9.5 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma

Property: Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
Address: Loc. Nido d'Aquila, 07024, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Maddalena Islands > La Maddalena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in La Maddalena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ma&Ma (Grand Hotel Resort) has overcome a noteworthy challenge in building an extra luxury resort with a low impact on the surrounding environment. The magnificent elegance and functionality are conveyed in a stylish aesthetic design which coexists with the more rigorous green style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma La Maddalena, Sardinia - Maddalena Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing