We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lofoten Islands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stave Camping & Hot Pools
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed in their Shipwreck apartment for 2 nights just a week ago.
My husband and I travelled with our three kids and my mum, so I believed that two family bunkbeds would be ideal for us - for this reason I was a bit shocked at the owner's reaction when we arrived. It was simply a misunderstanding and it was all sorted, but I feel the owner could have handled the situation better and made us feel not so unwelcome. Maybe we got him at a bad time.
My 2 star rating is entirely for the Shipwreck apartment - the place is pretty shabby, the kitchenette really badly equipped (one single pot etc), and the bathroom absolutely appalling (proviso: there's plenty of hot water but doesn't drain well).
Stave camping is set on a beautiful beach (but not stunning like what you get driving south to Lofoten islands), but your view is obscured by campers and tents who get the best view of the surroundings. I guess if you are into camping, that's quite ideal then. There are a couple of kids' trampolines at the back with an fantastic view of the mountains behind - probably the best spot there.
Stave camping is about a 20 minute drive to Andenes and the whale safari. If you are arriving on the plane and decide to stay at Stave, I would suggest you do some groceries shopping straight away, as you will not find much in the apartment (include hand soap and toilet paper in your list).
We also stayed at Sea Safari Andenes, which has spotless, nicely decorated and very good value rooms, and we would recommend staying there instead if you are only staying for a few days and don't need to do a great deal of cooking.
I appreciate that Stave accommodation could be pretty average for Norway, but we stayed in other places around Vesterålen and Lofoten islands and this was definitely the worst place we stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
threedogsbarking, Owner at Stave Camping & Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.Your reservation was for four people, not six, but we did our best to accommodate your larger group. The kitchen in that apartment is fully equipped.. In these cases,if you simply notify the staff, we could show you the pots & pans, and immediately supply anything that might be wanting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

We travelled by camper and had a great stay at Stave Camping! Quiet place, superb views, clean, nice sauna at the beach, washing machine and dryer, warm and friendly staff, great costal hikes in the mountains nearby, whale safari at Andenes!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyBervas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
threedogsbarking, Owner at Stave Camping & Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi Cathy!

Thanks for your kind words.Glad you enjoyed your stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Good place, Clean, Friendly stuff.
The stuff will explain you evrey interesting points in the area.
Comfortable cabins, close to main atraction places, like "the Whale Safari" and "Puffin Safari".
Also not expnsive for this area.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladislav_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
threedogsbarking, Owner at Stave Camping & Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi Vlad!

Thanks for your visit, and thanks for the invitation to eat with you and your family. The smoked meat and the drink was excellent!

Regards to your wife and son : -)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lovely place, nice appartment, very helpful and superenthusiastic owner. The location right at the beach makes it perfect if you love nature and comfort at the same time. Greetings, judith en toos from The Netherlands

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithToosHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
threedogsbarking, Owner at Stave Camping & Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

HEY JUDITH : - )

Thanks for your kind words : - ) glad you enjoyed your stay, happy you stayed some extra days. And remember what we talked about, our island could always use your doctor skills..... ; -) ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in June 2012. The campsite is very clean with choice of beach side of the road with no electricity or the main campsite. Host is very helpful with advice on walking, sea kayaking, cycling and local wildlife. From midnight sun to blue sky and sea with white sand and mountains this is an idyllic spot to just chill. We love it and this is our second stay. It will not be our last.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quentin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
threedogsbarking, Manager at Stave Camping & Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay Quentin!! : - )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed for almost 14 days in July 2012. Beautiful place to get at ease and a great starting point for hiking, biking and watersports.Recommendable to all those who want to get away from daily hurry and noise. Wonderful midnight sun over the sandy beach. We'll surely get back when we visit Lofoten or Vesteralen again.

Room Tip: Get an appartment at the outside of the building block. Beautiful view at the ocean, no neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
threedogsbarking, Manager at Stave Camping & Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Hi Robert! You guys got lucky with the weather : -) Glad you enjoyed your stay (14 days!) and alll the nice walks. Welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Had a great stay! The camping is right at the beach with beautiful views wherever you look. The accomodation is nice. We stayed in one of the apartments without WC or shower, but the common WC and showers were very clean all the time and not so many people. I can really recommend Stave Camping and to visit Andøya. There are many hiking trails, nice roads long the coast and of course, whale safari. The landscape differ from the rest of Lofoten and is definetly worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with sea view. No 1 & 3 for example
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palleschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
threedogsbarking, Owner at Stave Camping & Hot Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Hi! Thanks for the your kind words, glad you enjoyed your stay at Stave!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lofoten Islands hotels
0 mi away
Lofoten Vaeroy Brygge
Lofoten Vaeroy Brygge
#1 of 2 in Vaeroy
21 reviews
101.4 mi away
Ramberg Gjestegard
Ramberg Gjestegard
#2 of 5 in Flakstad Municipality
61 reviews
112.3 mi away
Reine Rorbuer
Reine Rorbuer
#1 of 83 in Lofoten Islands
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
86.4 mi away
Unstad Arctic Surf
Unstad Arctic Surf
#5 of 21 in Vestvagoy
21 reviews
77.4 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#2 of 25 in Vagan
135 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stave Camping & Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stave Camping & Hot Pools

Address: Stave, 8489, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Lofoten Islands
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Arctic Ocean & nature reserves. Hot pools overlooking the ocean & beach sauna that combines with ocean swimming. Location on the Coastal Walking Trail. Near the Whale Safari & Puffin Safari. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing