We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Grand Matej

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Matej
2 reviews
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The hotel si very nice, rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff was nice and helpful. Gastronomy in hotel restaurant in simply awesome. You can also try local wellness with a view of the stars. I can fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanFri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
11
27
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
437 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I recently did a cycling trip from Budapest to Prague. We stayed in Banska Stavnica in the middle of the trip. THis hotel is in the old section of town - definitely stay there and not in the new town. A great place to wander with a few nice shops and interesting views.

This is an old mining town and once provided much of the wealth of the Hungarian empire so many grand old structures. Could have spent another day, but we had to travel on.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor at the end of the hall - windows on 2 sides and a bright airy place t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed at Hotel Grand Matej with my husband and 1-year old, and although the room and location were excellent (we took a business room so it was pretty big), I felt that the experience was let down by the detail. Firstly the receptionist when we arrived was fairly stand-offish to us, answering our questions with 1 word and generally not making us feel welcome. When we returned to the hotel after visiting the town she was there again but playing a game on Facebook, and so didn't even look up or acknowledge us. And also in the room there was absolutely no information about the hotel or the town for us to look at, so although the hotel had a spa we didn't know when it was open, what floor it was on, etc. Finally there was no aircon, and no wifi in the rooms, which was surprising especially as it was a business room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augusta_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Hotel centrally located with parking facilities.We had a front room on the upper floor with a very nice view.Room was average.Hotel staff friendly. Restaurant food and breakfast were average.This hotel represents good value for money but not much atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubliner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Seen this hotel once from exterior I booked it on my second visit to Banska Stiavnica. I was quite surprised about the interior. One can see it is old, carpets and elevator could be considered as historical exposition. The room was quite acceptable, but bit small. The major problem was that noises from other rooms can be heard well. Our room was sepearated from another room by only double doors locked from inside. Can be probably usefull for families, not for couple thou. The breakfast was disaster. Basic salami, some slices of cheese, some hotdogs and fried eggs was all one can get, if not wanted jam and yaoghourt. Coffee was not something that can be digested, so I asked for real one from waiter. He was friendly and helpfull, but the coffe was still not good. However the hotel has good location. You can spend a night or two there, but for breakfest use some of the nice coffees in the town.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

On arrival and from the outside I felt I'd made a good choice but my initial thoughts quickly changed. I had booked a superior room and was given a large room on the fifth floor. Immediately it became apparent that there was a problem as we could hear a loud bubbling noise coming from the wellness centre's jacuzzi which was just the other side of our bedroom wall & there was no inbuilt sound insulation! We asked to change rooms and were then given a much smaller room, where I had to place my case on the desk in order to accommodate it.

The first tiime we used the shower in this new room the bathroom floor was covered with water. We reported the problem and moved to our third room in two days. Mercifully our new room was larger than the room with the water problem, which for two people could hardly have been smaller.

Breakfast was very poor. The so called orange juice was so watered down and so sweet I found it undrinksble. I made it clear that I thought the juice very nasty and was given a bottle of orange juice from the bar.. There were no tea bags on offer other than fruit teas and the ham looked as if it was the cheapest they could have found. There was no toaster & it wasn't until I complained about this that the waiter offered to go in to the kitchen and toast some bread for me. On the second day we were tired of yet more fruit tea being offered and my husband made it clear that we didn't want this, when as if by magic a large box of Yorkshire tea suddenly appeared from the kitchen. Why this hadn't been made available to us up until that point I don't know.
On booking out the receptionist argued that the tiny second room we had been given was the same size as the first superior room we'd booked (and subsequently had to move from), which clearly was nonsense. Despite my husband's best efforts we were just given a ten per cent discount, even though we had gone through all these problems.
I would say it was just about worth putting up with the various short comings for two nights in order to be centrally placed for viewing this interesting town. The mineral museum is very well presented and I enjoyed my visit, even though I'm not that interested in mineralogy. The art gallery next door was also well worth visiting and we found the staff very accommodating in opening it up for us before the due time. We had a very nice evening meal at the brewery restaurant Erb and highly recommend that.

Room Tip: Don't be tempted to choose a superior room if on the fifth floor, as you may find it's next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Car0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banska Stiavnica hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
bratislava
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

- rooms are nice and clean but the walls are very thin and there is a gap under the doors so you can hear all the noices from the corridor and other rooms (young couples comming in at 2 am) plus on the 5th floor you can smell the desinfection from wellness in the room and it is opened till 10 pm, sometimes even longer so I highly do not recommend this floor for families with children.
- food is ok, but warm breakfast buffet is not warm enough and dinner is without soup, just the main court and desert, which is pretty unusual. however, restaurant staff is very friendly and fast.
- the cable internet does not work in the room, only downstairs at reception area.

Room Tip: I do not recommend the 5th floor because of the noices and smell from wellness which is placed at th...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank alex777Bratislava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banska Stiavnica
0.1 mi away
Pension Kachelman
Pension Kachelman
#1 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salamander
Hotel Salamander
#3 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
2.0 mi away
Salamandra Resort Hotel
Salamandra Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hodrusa Hamre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Sitno
Hotel Sitno
#1 of 1 in Vyhne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Golfer
Hotel Golfer
#1 of 1 in Kremnica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penzion Cosmopolitan I
Penzion Cosmopolitan I
#12 of 26 in Banska Stiavnica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Matej? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Matej

Property: Hotel Grand Matej
Address: Kammerhofska 5, Banska Stiavnica 969 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Banska Bystrica Region > Banska Stiavnica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Banska Stiavnica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Matej 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Matej is an elegant hotel with a pleasant ambience in the centre of the mining town of Banska Stiavnica, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.The hotel features a café and a restaurant, both elegantly furnished. The restaurant serves international and traditional Slovak cuisine, as well as high-quality wines. It is the largest restaurant in the town.Hotel Grand Matej offers spacious and comfortably furnished rooms and is close to the bus and train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Grand Matej reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing