We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of Pension Kachelman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Kachelman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Small sleepy hotel in a small sleepy hollow. Small rooms with "paper walls and paper doors". You don´t even need the small 20 cm TV, cause you will get all the "what´s on today" straight throug the tiny doors. It´s clean, cheap and the stuff´s nice. OK for a short stay.

Room Tip: No idea....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruzo_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

I´ve been to this hotel once again after almost 6 years. First time we were very satisfied but this time some details make us feel not so comfortable.
Hotel is very well situated, few steps from the very centre of Stiavnica, we had nice view from our window, the wooden staircase in the hotel is impressive, too. The room was clean, apart from the recycle bin, which was full upon arrival. Since we stayed only one night, we did not report it to the staff. My sleep was terrible because of the loud music and when the music finally stopped, there was a strange high-frequency noise coming from the electric unit on the wall. Definitely not good for light-sleepers and headache sufferers (which I am usually not).
We were looking forward for the breakfast, it was not really bad, but the waiters were very disinterested, they only asked which room we had. We realised the only way to get food is to take the bread from other tables (it was almost like stealing it) since on our table was only one piece. The choice of other food was not exceptionally big, coffee tasted awful. Next time we will choose another hotel, but there is not so much choice in Stiavnica and hotels are usually booked. But it is still worth to go there apart from the quality of hotels and restaurants :)

Room Tip: Maybe in the older parts of hotel there is not this strange noise? For the first time I had no such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kackac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel while attending a friends wedding and I was very nicely surprised by Kachelman. It is a spacious hotel, rooms are good size, clean and cozy, all staff was EXCEPTIONALLY friendly and I would really recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to visit either Banska Stiavnica or to use this as a wedding venue. Staff was very helpful and never said no to any request. Restaurant sells well prepared food which is both tasty and of a good value. I would recommend it to everyone who is looking for affordable accommodation and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from restaurant, I stayed in 206 which is just above the restaurant it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanVargyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went to a wedding here on 14th sept, and stayed in hotel. Fantastic room and food was great. Avoid walking south to where the supermarket is, full of local gypsy drunks and nasty dogs. The area where the hotel is located is very safe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Welcoming reception, comfortable and clean rooms, good food. Excellent value. Manager Marianna took the time to advise us about other places to visit in the region. Hotel Kachelman is the place to stay in Central Slowakia !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armand969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

If you are looking for a bit more space in a room, this is an option for you. Located a bit south to the city center Hotel offers good breakfast, free parking and good quality. It lacks a bit of local atmosphere, the furniture is not the latest style, but all in all a good option in Banska.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have to divide the acommodation and food services. The room was very nice, clean, quiet. The place is right in the centre of the town, so it is a walking distance everywhere. No problems with parking any time of the day. Reception people are nice and friendly. We had a halfpension. Breakfast was nice, but scrambled eggs and sausages were always cold (they don´t heat them). The dinner (we got to choose from variety of food) included soup, main dish and one drink. Food was very average, but decent. The only problem according to me was a restaurant staff. They do not greet you, do not pay attention to you (even if there are 4 people in the whole place), sit around and play with their phones, do not smile and etc. Very not professional behavior and they really do not look like they are enjoying their job. If this will improve, it would be a very nice place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banska Stiavnica
0 mi away
Hotel Salamander
Hotel Salamander
#2 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Matej
Hotel Grand Matej
#4 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
66 reviews
2.1 mi away
Salamandra Resort Hotel
Salamandra Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hodrusa Hamre
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Hotel & Spa Resort Kaskady
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sitno
Hotel Sitno
#1 of 1 in Vyhne
66 reviews
1 mi away
Penzion Terra Banensium
Penzion Terra Banensium
#15 of 25 in Banska Stiavnica
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kachelman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kachelman

Address: Kammerhofska 18, Banska Stiavnica 969 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Banska Bystrica Region > Banska Stiavnica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Banska Stiavnica
Price Range: £31 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Kachelman 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House Kachelman is an original civic house dated the 16th – 17th century. In the object of current Guest House, you can find valuable painting and architectonic elements. Comfortably furnished Guest House located in the center of Banska Štiavnica will satisfy also more demanding guests with its equipment. Accommodation is provided to total 52 persons in 22 double rooms, one triple room and two apartments with fire log, minibar and a kitchen corner. There are 19 additional beds available. Every room is equipped with shower cabin and toilet, color TV set with satellite receiver. Family with a small child can have a children bed. There is a pleasant restaurant with the fire log, capacity of 100 guests and wifi connection located on the Guest Room ground floor. Two terraces are accessible in summer – one of them with capacity of 30 guests and another one is private with grill and pond with capacity also 30 guests. Resort center also located on the ground floor contains sauna, Jacuzzi and relax room. Massage services are available upon request (to be booked). The Guest House provides a pleasant „Hunt Saloon“ to its guests with capacity 25 persons to various events, presentations and conferences. Soon there will be multimedia training room available with capacity of 50 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Pension Kachelman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing