We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel with a very good restaurant”
Review of Pension Kachelman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Kachelman
Certificate of Excellence
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel with a very good restaurant”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Banska Stiavnica is well worth a look if you are touring by car in Slovakia. A Baroque former silver mining town it oozes a gloriously distressed atmosphere of former wealth, which has now passed them by.. If you stay then do make time for a stroll around this small town and visit the old castle in the town where you can walk around the creaky wooded battlements.
The Pension Kachelman has basic en - suite rooms, which are kept very clean - It's only around 35 Euros for B&B, so don't expect luxury; It does the job for an overnight stay.
The best bit however is the restaurant. If you ever wondered what an Eastern Bloc restaurant's decor looked like in the communist era then look no further than here. That said, the food was amongst the best we had during our entire trip. The Slovak wine selection was equally as well enjoyed..Try the Matysak Rulandske Modre red. It goes down a treat with the roast wild boar on offer.
If you are planning a visit in the summer then make sure you also divert off to Cierny Balog, an hour or so's drive though beautiful rural scenery.to the north west, There you can take a ride on the delightful antique narrow gauge steam railway, originally built to haul timber out of the forests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, friendly, well situated, can't fault it. The car park was very full but it was a busy time of year and it's great that it has a car park. Spacious rooms, great wifi, good breakfast and restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Pension is well situated on the main street of Banska Stiavnica about 1 block from the main square. The facilities are clean, spacious and the staff attentive. Breakfast was great. This old mining town has a very interesting history and well preserved historic buildings. Be sure to visit the botanical gardens and old manor house.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mittyc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senec, Slovakia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Small sleepy hotel in a small sleepy hollow. Small rooms with "paper walls and paper doors". You don´t even need the small 20 cm TV, cause you will get all the "what´s on today" straight throug the tiny doors. It´s clean, cheap and the stuff´s nice. OK for a short stay.

Room Tip: No idea....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruzo_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I´ve been to this hotel once again after almost 6 years. First time we were very satisfied but this time some details make us feel not so comfortable.
Hotel is very well situated, few steps from the very centre of Stiavnica, we had nice view from our window, the wooden staircase in the hotel is impressive, too. The room was clean, apart from the recycle bin, which was full upon arrival. Since we stayed only one night, we did not report it to the staff. My sleep was terrible because of the loud music and when the music finally stopped, there was a strange high-frequency noise coming from the electric unit on the wall. Definitely not good for light-sleepers and headache sufferers (which I am usually not).
We were looking forward for the breakfast, it was not really bad, but the waiters were very disinterested, they only asked which room we had. We realised the only way to get food is to take the bread from other tables (it was almost like stealing it) since on our table was only one piece. The choice of other food was not exceptionally big, coffee tasted awful. Next time we will choose another hotel, but there is not so much choice in Stiavnica and hotels are usually booked. But it is still worth to go there apart from the quality of hotels and restaurants :)

Room Tip: Maybe in the older parts of hotel there is not this strange noise? For the first time I had no such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kackac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel while attending a friends wedding and I was very nicely surprised by Kachelman. It is a spacious hotel, rooms are good size, clean and cozy, all staff was EXCEPTIONALLY friendly and I would really recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to visit either Banska Stiavnica or to use this as a wedding venue. Staff was very helpful and never said no to any request. Restaurant sells well prepared food which is both tasty and of a good value. I would recommend it to everyone who is looking for affordable accommodation and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from restaurant, I stayed in 206 which is just above the restaurant it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanVargyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went to a wedding here on 14th sept, and stayed in hotel. Fantastic room and food was great. Avoid walking south to where the supermarket is, full of local gypsy drunks and nasty dogs. The area where the hotel is located is very safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banska Stiavnica
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salamander
Hotel Salamander
#3 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Matej
Hotel Grand Matej
#4 of 4 in Banska Stiavnica
59 reviews
2.1 mi away
Salamandra Resort Hotel
Salamandra Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hodrusa Hamre
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Penzion Terra Banensium
Penzion Terra Banensium
#17 of 25 in Banska Stiavnica
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 25 in Banska Stiavnica
2 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sovi Dom
Sovi Dom
#1 of 2 in Svaty Anton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kachelman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kachelman

Property: Pension Kachelman
Address: Kammerhofska 18, Banska Stiavnica 969 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Banska Bystrica Region > Banska Stiavnica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Banska Stiavnica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Kachelman 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House Kachelman is an original civic house dated the 16th – 17th century. In the object of current Guest House, you can find valuable painting and architectonic elements. Comfortably furnished Guest House located in the center of Banska Štiavnica will satisfy also more demanding guests with its equipment. Accommodation is provided to total 52 persons in 22 double rooms, one triple room and two apartments with fire log, minibar and a kitchen corner. There are 19 additional beds available. Every room is equipped with shower cabin and toilet, color TV set with satellite receiver. Family with a small child can have a children bed. There is a pleasant restaurant with the fire log, capacity of 100 guests and wifi connection located on the Guest Room ground floor. Two terraces are accessible in summer – one of them with capacity of 30 guests and another one is private with grill and pond with capacity also 30 guests. Resort center also located on the ground floor contains sauna, Jacuzzi and relax room. Massage services are available upon request (to be booked). The Guest House provides a pleasant „Hunt Saloon“ to its guests with capacity 25 persons to various events, presentations and conferences. Soon there will be multimedia training room available with capacity of 50 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Kachelman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing