We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last a well run Hotel and golf course”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have had an apartment on the golf complex at Isla Canela for 10 years. We stayed in the hotel when we purchased and the rooms were very good. However we can not comment on them now. However we have been lacking a relaxing bar and restaurant facility for years. The hotel has been under different ownership but the new ones have got it right. It was reopened This Year and they have made it welcoming and reasonably priced. The bar menu is good and restaurant nice. The golf is now run from the hotel and is much more friendly. The course is in very good condition and reasonably priced with monthly offers. I think the golf is included for guests?. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jiffyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

Visited hotel for breakfast and evening drinks for seven days in a row mainly to use wifi and view some tennis. The team extremely friendly and helpful so much so ate there twice.

New owners certainly turned things round.

Great value for money cheaper than most beech bars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We went to this hotel in June 2013 .It is clean roomy smart and great for golf,you are actually right on the course the bar and restaurant area is great the food is very good,and the bar prices are inexpensive,Less than £3 for a large beer.You will need a car if you stay here, as the beaches are around 3 miles away as are the nearest shops,I think there are local buses,but we had a vehicle.We enjoyed our week here and the golf is good, but very challenging.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dennis y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was the first stay in the hotel during the Easter break courtesy of Golf Escapes. One of the reasons we had chosen this holiday was because it was apparently walking distance to the nearest beach (bars/restaurants and cafes). However, to our dismay, the walk was around 3.5km and more like 45minutes walk which meant you had to take the car to get there. The Marina was approximately over 5km and would have taken over an hour to walk.

On a more positive note, the golf course was well maintained and in places quite challenging. The only irritating factor was a local man trying to sell you used balls which he had pinched from players who couldn't find their balls and watching you play to see if you missed the fairway was not particularly relaxing.

Whilst the staff at the hotel were very pleasant and friendly, the waitress in the morning at breakfast was not particularly proactive in replenishing plates of fruit, yoghurt, bread, cheese, orange juice etc. Having said this, the evening staff were much more attentive but this could be partly due to the fact that there were only 2 - 6 people most evenings and the atmosphere was non existent. However, the orange juice at breakfast was fabulous.

Overall, if you are looking for a quiet getaway with very few people around then Isla Canela is good value.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor overlooking the 18th fairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Nice small hotel, rooms very good for price paid, small balcony, sits on its own golf course, bar area good, need a car to get anywhere though, if you want to go out of hotel, because nothing within walking distance.
Good parking at hotel and all staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Good for golfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This was our first stay in this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. We've always stayed in the Riu Atlantico but as that was closed we opted for this one as we got an excellent deal on half board and golf.
If you want a huge choice of food then this isn't the hotel for you. The breakfasts were good - there was a hot option of eggs, bacon and sausage otherwise it was a cold buffet. The evening meal was a set menu with a choice of 2 main courses and no choice of starter or sweet but it was all really good and beautifully presented. Most of the time we were the only ones in the dining room.
The staff were excellent, couldn't fault them throughout the week, always polite, friendly and helpful
The rooms were clean and adequate for our needs. At first we were given one with no balcony and only a small window but we asked to be moved which they did with no problem. The bathroom had both a shower and a bath.
We will certainly return here next year.

Room Tip: If you like the sun request a room facing the 18th fairway but not 215 (no balcony and only a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RImmerSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I chose this hotel because it had only 58 rooms, offering a "boutique" feel that I was seeking, and I was not disappointed. The room was spacious, with a king-size bed, a love seat, a table and chair, and a small balcony with another table and two chairs overlooking the 18th fairway. Even though we were on the ground floor, the balcony was built up about three or four feet off the ground so you didn't feel you were sitting at ground level. The bathroom was large enough but lacking a bit in privacy, as the door was frosted glass and the bathroom itself didn't have a fan to disguise the sounds of any ablutions taking place therein. The WiFi was a hotspot in a pleasant seating area off the lobby, but it was a bit wonky. We received emails just fine but were unable to send any. After three days the entire WiFi was down for the entire weekend until a repair person could come in on Monday to get it up and running again.

The dining room was quite charming, with classical music to accompany your meals. Breakfast was a typically Spanish buffet but more than adequate. The orange juice is not to be missed, as it is rich and sweet as only Seville oranges can make it. The half-board option gave us a three course meal each evening, with the starter and dessert set by the rotating daily menu, and an choice of two options for the main. It is served to you at the table, so you don't have to feel like a schoolchild going through a buffet line. All the food was prepared in traditional Spanish ways, which didn't suit the palate of some of the Brits we met but we thought it was wonderful. The presentation was also lovely. We discovered on the menu a fantastic but quite inexpensive Spanish rosado made entirely from Petit Verdot grapes, and we were enthralled with it. The staff quickly learned that we liked this wine and would offer it first.

The golf course was a pleasant and challenging track, but it was more like a neighborhood course than a resort course. It played among the many apartment buildings built to surround the course, and each hole featured its own difficult strategic decisions, many requiring layup shots in front of water hazards. Even the holes without water were not totally straightforward, as the greens would be protected by bunkers on the front and sides. The course is not hilly, so walking is easy enough, and the exercise was welcome for us after being holed up for the winter in England.

The local town of Ayamonte is quite charming. Clean and friendly, the locale is a great place to go for shopping or lunch (although the tapas at the hotel made a perfect lunch for us on most days). About three miles down the road is the Marina, which was closed at this time of year, but it was everything I DON'T like about resort locations: large, busy hotels with entertainment and tourist trappings everywhere you look. I was happy to stay away from the Marina and enjoy the personal service at our hotel, where the staff knew our names and we knew theirs.

The Isla Canela Golf Hotel was the perfect holiday for us, and we would recommend it for anyone who enjoys experiencing local food, local wine, and local people in a small, personalized setting.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of a fairway. Don't be afraid to be on the ground floor, because even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuffolkAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Canela
2.9 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,191 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
9.1 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Playamarina Spa Hotel
Playamarina Spa Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isla Canela
987 reviews
4.9 mi away
ADH Isla Cristina
ADH Isla Cristina
#1 of 5 in Isla Cristina
344 reviews
9.1 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isla Canela Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isla Canela Golf

Address: Calle Golf Norte s/n, 21409, Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Price Range: £60 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Isla Canela Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Isla Canela Golf offers a peaceful, relaxed and friendly setting where you can enjoy all the activities available at Isla Canela and the village of Ayamonte throughout the year thanks to its privileged climate, with more than 300 days of sunshine every year on average.The hotel is beautifully decorated with 58 exclusive and elegant rooms and Andalusian-style architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Isla Canela Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing