We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent golf hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent golf hotel”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

A group of eight of us have just spent a fabulous week at this hotel, playing golf every day. It is a very challenging course but we keep returning - this is our fifth visit. This is our first stay at this hotel and we were all very impressed. The staff were extremely efficient and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast and evening meal were very good, rooms well equipped with separate shower and bath, and excellent value for money - I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and we plan to return as often as we can.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    104
    24
    1
    5
See reviews for
54
168
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We just got back from our long stay in this great hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel with nice rooms, professional reception, great restaurant and food and very friendly and helpful staff. We had the half board stay that offers a great breakfast buffet and a three course diner menu to choose from.

As avid golf players we were out on the course almost every day. What a great but also challenging course (make sure you take enough golf balls with you or buy them in the mini shop in the hotel). The course was in excellent condition even though a lot of players go out every day. Still it is not a crowded course and you can enjoy a pleasant round of golf.

The beach of Isla Canela is close by, as well as the city of Ayamonte and Faro is within an hours drive. So if you think about a trip to the South of Spain do not hesitate and enjoy this great hotel

So if you are looking for

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mireille A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This one is one of the best golf hotels in the area, very professional and helpfull reception, very good restaurant with a great half board menu, nice bar where we ate a reasonably priced lunch most days after our exertions on the golf course, all the staff were attentive and cheerful.
Nice pool area next to the bar where you can enjoy a cold beer and watch the golfers playing the 18th hole
Good sized and well equiped rooms which all seem to have a view of the golf course.
Free wifi in the public areas which I could pick up in my room, very handy.
All in all a very good choice for a golf holiday if you like it a little low key.

ps I don't know if it was the time of year (October) but the mosquitos were pretty bad on the golf course so remember the bug spray.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midnight-moses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, NL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is brand new (or looks like that!) with superb facilities as the swimming pool, gardens, cafes and most important the golf course! The golf course is green, very detailed maintained and looks just amazing.
The rooms are spacious, great huge and confi beds, teh deco is just right, everything feels very welcoming, with a decent size balcony in each of the rooms. The bathrooms have both a powerful shower and bathtub.

The breakfast is very very nice, top quality products including Jamon from the region and all sort of fruits,eggs, breads and cackes.
I was very pleased with my stay, 4 days of amazing time and golf!

The hotel is located not more than 10 minutes away from Ayamonte's city center and beaches.

Staff is very friendly, specially the golf course marshall.

Room Tip: If you can, try to reserve a odd number room as the even numbers are very dark, as they have north h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank guayomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Dorset, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have just retuned from a 7 night stay at the Isla Canela Golf Hotel. As you enter the hotel you are immediately made welcome by the Hotel Reception Staff. All services at the hotel clearly explained to you, in a friendly cheerful manner. The rooms are modern with comfortable beds, ensuite shower and bath. The Bar and Restaurant Staff are wonderful, very friendly with nothing being to much trouble. The setting is very peaceful, if you are looking for a break that just has Golf and peace and Quiet, this is the hotel for you. If your stay includes half board the evening meal is selected from a special Al a carte Menu. Six Starters, Six Mains and Six Desserts. This is the same menu all week. The food is well prepared and presented and is a very nice change to the usual Holiday Buffet. However it can be a bit limited if you are a Veggie. We brought this to the attention of the Director of Hotel and Golf who promised to look into this.
The Golf Course is very good test of golf, with excellent fairways and greens.
Overall an excellent resort to stay if you are just looking for quiet and golf, with friendly staff and good food thrown in.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor over looking the eighteenth fairway are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have just spent one night at the hotel and really enjoyed it. A nice pool and really friendly and helpfull staff, especially on reception and in the restaurant. The evening meal was very good.
Rooms are large and beds extremely comfy and the air-con is the best I have ever come across. It was so quiet you could not tell it was on apart from the temperature being perfect.
If I was in the area I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gwen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have had an apartment on the golf complex at Isla Canela for 10 years. We stayed in the hotel when we purchased and the rooms were very good. However we can not comment on them now. However we have been lacking a relaxing bar and restaurant facility for years. The hotel has been under different ownership but the new ones have got it right. It was reopened This Year and they have made it welcoming and reasonably priced. The bar menu is good and restaurant nice. The golf is now run from the hotel and is much more friendly. The course is in very good condition and reasonably priced with monthly offers. I think the golf is included for guests?. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jiffyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Canela
3.3 mi away
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
2.9 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,043 reviews
9.1 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
2.9 mi away
Playamarina Spa Hotel
Playamarina Spa Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isla Canela
910 reviews
4.9 mi away
ADH Isla Cristina
ADH Isla Cristina
#2 of 5 in Isla Cristina
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isla Canela Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isla Canela Golf

Property: Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Address: Calle Golf Norte s/n, 21409, Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Isla Canela Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Isla Canela Golf offers a peaceful, relaxed and friendly setting where you can enjoy all the activities available at Isla Canela and the village of Ayamonte throughout the year thanks to its privileged climate, with more than 300 days of sunshine every year on average.The hotel is beautifully decorated with 58 exclusive and elegant rooms and Andalusian-style architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Isla Canela Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing