We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family hotel”
Review of Playacanela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playacanela Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at the Playacanela, Isla Canela and thoroughly enjoyed it. Due to some not so great reviews we were not expecting too much from the hotel but it was great. All the staff (from cleaners and reception staff to the fabulous entertainment team). The restaurant was very busy at times but we expected this due to the size of the hotel and it being fully booked. I remember reading one comment that there were no British people staying there during their holiday- we also found the same but were happy with that. A Spanish holiday in Spain is what we booked. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and a room over the entrance as you get views over the marina and the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playacanela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Know that it is our aim that pass a pleasant experience and that's what we are working and trying to improve every day.

We remain at your disposal and we hope to visit again.

Playacanela Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Positive aspects
• Good price/quality relation in All inclusive
• Apartment with good areas for a family of 4 - bedroom, living room with kitchenette, and big balcony - it seems the interior has been renovated
• Food variety good enough (although you could lean more in the richness of mediterranic plates)
• Having a baby corner (one suggestion, have – on purchase or not – meal in fla….. and fruit), with soup and yogurts
• Beach in front of the hotel (direct access)
• Staff very nice and made an effort to understand our semi Spanish/Portuguese

Improve (not so good) aspects
• The hotel is divided in two blocks (main hotel and apartment block) the mains hotel seems to have had some renovation done, the apartment block as not yet been fixed, so we hope that it done soon, because the paint is beginning to came out and tiles are beginning to show
• Although near Portugal, it doesn’t have anything written in Portuguese (menus, hotel information, newspapers, TV channels) which is a shame because there was quite a number of Portuguese staying in the hotel
• The same applies to the mini club, the animators do not understand Portuguese children (so if you can have a single person who understands and talk Germany, maybe during times that you more Portuguese with children, you could have someone in the staff of miniclub that speaks and understands Portuguese)
• Being All Inclusive, I find the snacks between meals a little “poor”
• For a 4 stars hotel, you should careful at the dishes that you put at disposal, because for many times it was chipped
• Another thing, you do not display the same information to the several languages – example: in Spanish, next to the door of the restaurant, it says that if you have all Inclusive, if the of the check in you don’t have lunch; you have the right of having lunch the day of the check out. That is not in English.
• The pool, although beautiful various areas, including children, has the titles all around that is very slippery, not only for children, but adults

Overal it was a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra_Oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hotel was quite disappointing - full of Spanish, fully booked (which is quite strange, we had problems with extending our stay in a room because of our late departure). Nobody speaks English, without basic Spanish it's impossible to get any information.
The restaurant looks rather like a school canteen. Food was so-so. It was better to come early, because later there was nothing left to eat.
Maybe it was our bad luck, but it was full of annoying children. If you like to relax, choose another hotel. Also parties for adults (amusement only in Spanish!) started approximately 11 pm. It was impossible to have a good sleep.

In the neighbourhood there is nothing to see, just few other hotels, restaurants, small harbour and the beach. Several times a day there is a bus to Ayamonte - real nice small town with beautiful Old Square and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kartonowy_swiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This is a 4 star hotel near Ayamonte which is right next to the Portugese border with Spain.
The hotel is spacious and bright. We had a family room which comprised a bedroom with two double beds. Also there was a living room with a fridge, TV and a sofa bed - more than enough room for my wife and two children aged 11 and 9 years. The pool was lovelly and warm with two slides which the children really liked. I enjoyed the food which is buffet style although the boys were a bit 'picky' but the they are at home! The restaurant could get very crowded but if you went in early it was quiet. The hotel is about 200 yards from the beach which is wide and sandy.

I really liked this hotel and the staff were friendly and helpful. I think it helped that we did try with our limited Spanish, some of the staff had very little English. This is a VERY Spanish hotel - at a guess I would say 95% Spanish so this is not a hotel for those who want to be surrounded by fellow Brits. The entertainment and activites were thus in Spanish and this might not appeal to everyone. Parking is very difficult and I would recommend paying the extra and using the basement hotel car park.

I would recommend this hotel to those wishing for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David10951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This hotel did not cater for the English - notices not writtent in English, no representatives notice board.
All entertainment in Spanish plus no professional shows just the childrens animation team - quiz!!!

hotel staff struggled to understand Englis - so obviously not frequented by theEnglish even thoughwe went thro T Cook - only English couple in the whole of the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeds18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Extremely disappointed!
We have been to Isla Canela 4x. Twice in Iberostar and once in Riu. Then this...
Love the area for still being so Spanish but this hotel could put you off forever!
Toilets were filthy.
Dirty plates and cups not cleaned away for approx 2 hours sometimes from tables and chairs near pool area and bar.
Rooms not cleaned properly.
Must wait 20 mins for drink from bar.
Dirty glasses and plates in restaurant, plus food was sometimes topped up and not completely changed. Eggs not properly cooked. I have come back home with food poisoning.
Children's entertainment too late. My 3 came home absolutely shattered.
Todo incluido...NOT!!! No ice-creams or snax included, nor cocktails. Included branded names of vodka but never had any.
Please note it states no San Miguel included but it is!
This hotel was clearly understaffed. Someone needs to take a look at this.
Will always return to Isla Canela, but never to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BerkshirePals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

we stayed at this hotel as it was recommened as being extremley Spanish and quiet, a great family hotel!!!!

The children's entertainment started at 22.30, and was loud and tacky. Our children were excluded from taking part in the "Kids Club", the staff were racist and would not serve any holiday makers unless they were Spanish - this applied not only to British customers, but also residents who were Portuguese and Asian. The food was substandard and on one occasion my 8 year old was served raw under cooked Pork in the hotel restaurant.

I would recommend visiting Isla Canela if you wanted a quiet resort , however I would advice visiting one of the other hotels on the resort such as the RIU or the Iberostar - both were lovely and i'm sure our stay would have been much better had we stayed in one of these!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojo30London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Canela
0.1 mi away
Playamarina Spa Hotel
Playamarina Spa Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
997 reviews
15 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
#4 of 6 in Isla Canela
374 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tui Family Life Islantilla
Tui Family Life Islantilla
#2 of 8 in Islantilla
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacanela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacanela Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Mojarra, 21409, Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Canela
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Canela
Price Range: £62 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacanela Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive, arabesque style hotel is between the Coast of Portugal and Isla Cristina Port, very close to Isla Canela Marina. Enjoying a beachfront location, the hotel boasts a magnificent themed pool with slides and a jacuzzi surrounded by palm trees and sun loungers, solarium, heated pool (closed from 8/01/13 to 30/04/13), games area for adults and kids, large lounge bar with outdoor terrace, entertainment shows, ... And much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Alpha Holidays Limited, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Playacanela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacanela Isla Canela
Playacanela Hotel Isla Canela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing