We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodging, great price, super village”
Review of Hotel de Zwaan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Zwaan
Ranked #5 of 6 Delden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 February 2014

As soon as we drove into town we thought we he stepped into another . We found our hotel on the edge of town. It had a large convenient parking lot next door, a real plus. There were people enjoying the sunshine and drinks on the outside terrace, and we knew this place was for us. We checked in easily, struggled our bags up the very steep stairs to our room and were pleasantly surprised by the large size. Being used to small European rooms, this one was at least twice or three times what we had been used to. All we needed was there so we stashed our bags and walked to the nearby castle. The castle, Twickle, is owned by a German family and is a residence so all you can see is the outside, but even that is a sight to behold. The Path leads you through the property of the castle and is an enjoyable walk.
We visited with family and friends in Hengelo which was an easy drive away. Breakfast was included and was ample and fresh. One glitch, one of the days, Monday I think, they did not serve breakfast because they were fumigating. They never informed us that they were doing that or that they were not going to serve breakfast (nor did they compensate us). However there are some great bakeries just down the street so we did not suffer! On Friday night there was a wedding reception immediately under our room, and although we had expected a problem there wasn't because they stopped the celebration at midnight. The town is part of the attraction and well worth exploring. While we were there they were having a medieval festival with all kinds of exhibits and performances such as wooden shoe making, a blacksmith making medieval weapons and a local band playing traditional Dutch music. All in all the stay was very good, the room was great, the food was excellent, the staff was super and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay-so much so that we will return this May.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miami_FLDutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Zwaan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is perhaps a somewhat strange evaluation because in the end, I didn't stay at this hotel.But I want to share with you how they resolved this issue.
What happened was I booked through their website but unfortunately something went wrong and the hotel was fully booked when I arrived around 7 pm. It was evident that something was wrong when I phoned about an hour in advance to let them know that I was arriving shortly. When I made my way to the hotel I was met by the owner who immediately appologised and offered me a drink from the bar whilst they were checking the situation. In the end, my fears were confirmed, they had somehow missed my booking and the hotel was fully booked. The owner was sincere in his appologies and offered me a different hotel in the same town at the price of his hotel. He also invited me to have dinner at their expense at their restaurant (which looked very nice) but because I had arranged to meet a friend in a near by town, I declined the offer. The hotel price is €62,50 and a dinner would have easily been €25 to €30 so the offer was very generous. How nice of them!!. The owner, Martijn ten Broeke, brought me to the other hotel and waited while I was having a shower and then brought me to another town some 10km away, no hassle whatsover. All in all a very pleasant experience and I think that if you would stay at this hotel, you would not regret it. I am looking forward to staying there and I would be confident to put friends, business relations, etc. there because I know that they would be in good hands. Some background information: I travel extensively on business and stayed in many a hotel so I sort of know what to expect and what not. This hotel certainly stands out!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
4  Thank thefleeingdutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We spent 4 nights at Hotel de Zwaan visiting family in the area and really enjoyed our stay. The outside terrace is a superb people-watching spot and the hotel oozes character with a light, pretty dining room. The rooms are large and comfortable, with clean modern bathrooms. The only problem was the telephone service which was not working during our stay and apparently was going to take longer to fix.
Staff were attentive and pleasant and service was good.
Definitely a place to return to in the heart of pretty Delden.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with on the side of the hotel for a lovely view across fields.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We asked for a room with a bath which luckily was available. The hotel has 2 rooms with bath. As it turned out, our room was also the biggest of the hotel. It felt like being in a small suite. A very nice surprise! We slept very well on the beds. Had a great time in the hotel and Delden. Delden isn't so exciting, but if you enjoy a small quiet village with lots of nature in the vicinity this is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCvdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

I only stayed for 2 nights, but I wish it could have been longer. The Hotel is OK. Nothing spectacular. Just good. The beds are OK. Everything is clean and the food is tastfull.

But the sorooundings of Hotel de Zwaan in Delden are awesome. Very green forest and a very well preserved historic castle called "Castle of Twickel".

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank waitsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank SuzanenFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delden hotels
0.7 mi away
Landgoed Hotel & Restaurant Carelshaven
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Delden
Aparthotel Delden
#3 of 3 in Delden
72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Het Wapen Van Delden Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Sevenster Delden
2.7 mi away
Hoeve de Haar
Hoeve de Haar
#1 of 6 in Delden
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Herberg Het Witte Paard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Zwaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Zwaan

Address: Langestraat 2, 7491 AE Delden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Delden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Delden
Price Range: £78 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Zwaan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsNL so you can book your Hotel de Zwaan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing