We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Centraal, excellent location with nice ambience”
Review of Hotel Centraal

Hotel Centraal
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Centraal
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harlingen
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Lovely Place, perfectly located in romantic sea town of Harlingen. Chris the helpful owner always good for advice. Excellent breakfast serviced. I would like to recommend the place as a hub to visit neighboring Dutch countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WPS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Centraal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel in July of 2012. The location is, of course, central-- with very easy public parking across the street.
This is not a particularly up to date hotel, however there was a certain charm in that its not trying to be anything other than what it is--- an old fashioned hotel with pretty lobby, a nice man behind the old fashioned check in counter, steep steps for our generation to remember how our ancestors travelled, smallish clean rooms, and gobs of history. I liked it. Made me think of the long past much more than prettified quaint places that, although are lovely and charming, know what they are.
Breakfast was immense, tasty, and typical full bodied Dutch coffee which we found to be the best in Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great location. Average room with outdated decor. The bathroom was like a closet and towels were kept on a towel rack just outside the bathroom.

You could easily hear other hotel guests coming and going.

A bit minimal for the price I paid for the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here for a week's holiday. Its location within Harlingen is excellent, the rooms very comfortable, the staff friendly and breakfast of a very high standard. The only shortcoming for those with reduced mobility would be the absence of a lift and the steep, winding staircase to the upper floors.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vergemount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

The room we had was ok but pretty cold even with the central heating on, which was a bit surprising for September.

Its a great location in the centre of town, but unless you want to pay a fortune for parking you need to arrive after 6pm. If you stay for more than one night and leave your car in the street during the day it could turn into a fairly expensive stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Stayed at the Hotel Centraal in Harlingen, NL for two nights in May while visiting friends in the city. The hotel is located in the center of town within walking distance of all Harlingen activities. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull and all spoke excellent english. There is only public street parking in front of the hotel at the parking meter rates. We stayed in the "Deluxe" rooms which are totally refurbished and in a new section at the rear of the hotel. The regular rooms are located in the floors above the original hotel. The "deluxe" rooms are spacious and clean with a large bathroom. A great breakfast was included for the E87 price. Harlingen is a delightful little city directly on the ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jyoung3381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jan Gerrit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlingen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zeezicht
Hotel Zeezicht
#3 of 4 in Harlingen
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anna Casparii
Hotel Anna Casparii
#1 of 4 in Harlingen
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant vof 't Heerenlogement
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
15.9 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
14.8 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centraal

Address: Brouwersstraat 12, 8861 CX Harlingen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Harlingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harlingen
Price Range: £71 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centraal 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Centraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing