We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always the water at your feet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delta Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vlaardingen
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen
Level Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Always the water at your feet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

That's the title of the 'Welcome' brochure of the Delta Hotel in Vlaardingen (Netherlands). We stayed here on invitation of our Dutch family that booked suite 204, one of the 78 rooms of the hotel. It was one of the best we ever had with 10 meters long windows facing the river 'Nieuwe Maas'. We also enjoyed the terrace on which we spent many hours looking at the ships sailing from or to nearby world harbour Rotterdam. Impressive all these ocean liners, container ships, pilot vessels, tugboats or water taxis bringing new guests to our hotel. A smiling and very helpful receptionist makes you feel good as soon as you enter the hotel. We had drinks in the 'Grand Café' and afterwards some excellent food in the Brasserie, again offering spectacular views on the great river. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a view on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MechelenWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    143
    46
    18
    2
See reviews for
38
125
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed there recently as part of a volunteer information team for a charity supporting Alzheimer research. The hotel sponsored our stay. They definitely pampered us! We each had one of the beautiful rooms overlooking the river (fascinating to see all the ships go by). Breakfast was a regular bufet type, with reasonably good choice. Next to our allotted conference room we had access to a machine with speial coffees and all sorts of teas. To accompany those, staff brought triays of cakes, cookies and candy bars mid-morning and mid-afternoon. Lunch was soup plus a buffet for main and afters. Complmentary drinks in the bar pre-dinner. The dinners were 3 courses ( we could choose from 2 starters, 2 maiuns and 2 desserts; judging by what fellow participants got the vegetarian options were good too), very tasteful and well presented. ANd yes, we did get a lot of hard wordk done too. But the way the hotel sponsored us definitely merits a good word here! No idea what it would be like when staying there privately, but it all seems very promising.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinekevB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Delta hotel is in the Vlaardingen district of Rotterdam which is a 20 minute taxi journey from Rotterdam Central railway station which costs approximately 40 Euros. It sits by the river Nieuwe Maas and has a jetty right next door to get the water taxi.
The receptionist was very cheerful and welcoming. The hotel décor has a distinctive maritime theme which carries on throughout the hotel. The rooms are very nicely presented with great touches such as shell shaped mints and extra cushions with sailing boats on. It was spotlessly clean with a fresh and modern feel. Situated on the top floor gave the best views through the dual aspect corner windows looking out inland and up the river.
I had dinner in the hotel restaurant that evening which was a very pleasant experience seated on the balcony watching the barges pass by while drinking a Heineken. Get there early or reserve to get a table in the sun as it gets busy later on.
After dinner I had a walk into Vlaardingen. Most people probably go into central Rotterdam in the evening as the area was pretty quiet. There are, however, some historic buildings edging the waterway and quaint alleyways providing a taste of Dutch authenticity.
Because I was visiting the NMi Euroloop facility which happens to be the other side of the river, I booked a water taxi for the morning. The receptionist was extremely helpful in making the arrangements and even called my room to go over the details again.
After a very tasty breakfast consisting of the usual continental selections, I waited for my water taxi at the jetty next to the hotel. After 30 minutes with no sign, I spoke to the hotel receptionist who then called the taxi firm and he arrived 12 minutes later. I was dropped off the other side at the UMC quay and although it was only a 2 minute journey it was 31 Euros, but still cheaper than by road apparently. If I use the water taxi again I will ensure I book it in the morning rather than the evening before.
If I have to visit NMi again in the future I would not hesitate to stay at the Delta.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water on the top floor have the best views, although there is only an industrial ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damasinnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here on business, and my assistant specifically requested room with view to the water. They gave me a tiny room on the 1st floor right above the service entrance, which meant waking up 4:30 by delivery trucks. AC did not work, breakfast was horrible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annans7Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Located between factories and big ships it's kind of strange to see this marvellous hotel but it's kind of cool to eat breakfast and watch the giant ships in the Rotterdam Harbour. Good hotel with wifi in the rooms and a nice breakfast. Friendly people behind the counter and in the restaurant. Great biological menu with vegetables from the own city and flesh from local farmers.

Would definitely recommend to go to this hotel and will definitely return soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WvanWaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We are stay at the moment in this hotel and was waiting to write the review jiat to give the chance to the hotel to give me a better impresion. But it is not the case. The bulding is indeed very special and the decoration is quite nice in general. We are staying in what they call a suite. Our room looks very nice but the leak of details is really frustating. For instance we do not have a proper double bed. We have two single beds next to each other which means that if we roll a bit we could fall in the middle. This is definitely not a bed or beds that you would expect for a suite. The bath rooms are clean and the shower head is amazing but apart from that it is also not suite like. To me the bathroom is really a nice attempt to give a good impression but not my favorite. Conaidering the european sizes I will say that the size of the bathroom is big.
We are also here for a business trip so you would expect a business service but this is not the case. There is no drinks in the mini bar, there is only some coffee and tea.
The service in the restaurante is slow and they just forget what you order and it takes for ever for some one to look at you or to empty the table. Some times you must really call for help because they can just walk in front of you table and they do not do anything. My husband order for the dessert menu and it never came. However I have to say that the food was good. The taste and the presentation was very good.
So i would not be to keen on recommending this hotel for people that is o. The road often, because you would feel very disappointed and the prices would we expensive if you look the value of the service. But if you are after just a clean organize strategic place to stay it would be perfect for you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jessijulais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

A very unusual building but a beautiful setting

All the staff were welcoming and highly professional

The decor is modern and everywhere was spotlessly clean

The food was delicious and the rooms, meals & drinks were very reasonably priced

Woudl highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taur033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlaardingen
1.4 mi away
Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen
Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen
#2 of 4 in Vlaardingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
6.0 mi away
Inntel Hotels Rotterdam Centre
5.6 mi away
SS Rotterdam
SS Rotterdam
#9 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam
1.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen
Bastion Hotel Vlaardingen
#3 of 4 in Vlaardingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.5 mi away
Carlton Oasis Hotel
Carlton Oasis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spijkenisse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Delta Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Maasboulevard 15, 3133 AK Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Vlaardingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vlaardingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Hotel Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Vlaardingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing