We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Basic Fayre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vlaardingen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cumbria
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good Basic Fayre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Good basic Fayre on which the Ibis philosophy is based. Clean modern room, pleasant on site restaurant and bar, car parking if you need it.

A little out on a limb, so be careful of you're wanting it all on your doorstep. Veryb handy for the road links the rest of the region. Staff are great. Helpful, polite and very well trained. I have seen some of the negative comments below, and wonder what some people expect when they use chains like the Ibis. This is Dutch style Premier Inn. Good, honest, basic Fayre, priced accordingly for each area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjan P, General Manager at Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear SuperDJ,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Arjan Peterse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    96
    47
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
86
28
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

As new visitors to Holland on a self drive hire car and carefree holiday we booked this Ibis in advance and glad we did. Ibis is always our preferred hotel for value for money and as we had a car this worked for us. We booked 2 night but stayed 5 in total , it was hard to leave .this is an ideal hotel to stay with a car ,we visited Gouda, Delft ,Rotterdam and Amsterdam by train ,so easy. Vlaardingen is lovely ,we have not stayed in a hotel that gave us so much as a tourist to a new area.
A special mention to Lauran ,the front man at the desk we first met. His attention to us was wonderful and made us welcome which in turn was appreciated and we extended our stay.
The restaurant and front desk staff all GREAT. Breakfast was well supplied and hot and cold.
Value for money was excellent ,parking ,easy walk into town.Room service good ,room on the fourth floor clean and bright, close to freeway acceptable ...just close the window.!!
If you have a car and want to see great parts of South Holland we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Be nice to the staff and respectful ,not all their customers are nice, a smile and friendly to them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jvjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjan P, General Manager at Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear JVJourneys,

Thank you for your very kind and warm words regarding your stay with us. This is very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Arjan Peterse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We always choose Ibis Hotels but we are rapidly running out of those which have carparks!. The hotel was spotless, the room was modern, bright and clean as a whistle. Breakfast was the usual fare - hot and cold choice, range of fruit, yoghurts, breads and toast. Coffee and tea on tap. Eat all you want breakfast buffet was ideal for a few hours cycling. The evening meals were more than adequate and reasonably priced. Excellent visit made so by a more than adequate stay at this hotel. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjan P, General Manager at Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,
Arjan Peterse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauvais, France
Level Contributor
182 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Probably closer to "Poor" rather than "average, but I am being kind... I have been visiting Rotterdam regularly on business for the past 15 years and have frequently stayed in the Ibis since the very beginning. Over the years they first renovated the restaurant and then (a year or two ago) the rooms. What I mean by room renovation, is that they added flat-screen televisions, replaced the old wash basins by plastic-resin moulded basins and replaced the bathtubs by larger, walk-in showers that occupy the same floor-space as did the former bathtubs. Guess they also upgraded the loos, can't remember how the old ones were. The resin basins are aging badly and apparently stain very easily. The size of the rooms has not changed, however - still miniscule. The walls are thin and not particularly sound proof - it was once obvious (and rather distracting) that the occupants of the room next door were apparently a honeymoon couple... There is a thermostat control pannel for the aircon / heater, that I have never managed to get to work to my satisfaction - either to hot or too cold. The windows are protected by insect screens. But if you open them in hot weather in preference to using the aircon, the traffic from the nearby A20 motorway is very noisy.

The breakfast buffet is usually acceptable and the restaurant staff friendly. But the restaurant staff seem to be overworked and service is usually very slow, with it often taking ages to attract anyone's attention. The choice on the menu is limited, the prices high, and the food usually mediocre at best. One recent improvement - a year or two ago they decided to make internet access free for all hotel guests. Only trouble is that more often than not the wifi signal is poor to nonexistant in the rooms.

With the afore-mentioned "renovations" and "improvements" someone seems to have decided that this justifies a significant increase in rates. I have never particulary enjoyed staying at the Ibis Vlaardingen, but continued to do so because the hotel was relatively inexpensive (up until a couple of years ago only about €80 per night) and conveniently located for me. For my last stay it was suddenly over €100 per night excluding breakfast (another €15). I consider that to be to expensive for what you get - one can get equivalent or better accommodation for less than that on the outskirts of Rotterdam.
Will now only stay there if I find that I have exhausted all other options. If they let me, after reading this review....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed for one night as part of a business trip. The hotel had everything that I needed, and the location was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. If I were to have a negative comment it would be that the breakfast was not as good as I would have expected, it was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan2433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjan P, General Manager at Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Vaughan2433,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.com.I'm sorry to hear the breakfast was not as good as expected. We are currently reviewing our breakfast. Your suggestions will help us to improve. We would really appreciate your suggestions so please be so kind to contact us directly on H1195@accor.com.

With kind regards,

Arjan Peterse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here same time last year, so had no doubts about choosing this hotel again. Room was perfect and clean (still single beds though!), very helpful staff and lovely breakfast again. Vlaardingen Centrum Station is not too far - about 8 euro taxi ride.

No doubt I will be back again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VodkaQueenNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjan P, General Manager at Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear VodkaQueenNL,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor! It really motivates us to to perform even better next time. Please contact us directly for your next reservation. I will make sure you will stay in one of our rooms with a double bed.

With warm regards,
Arjan Peterse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

i went to this hotel in 2002 and stayed for 15 days,the room are clean ,well equipped but a bit small ,i do not think 2 persons can stay in a room .the hotel staff are nice and helpfull ,they all speak english .the location is good on a high way and about 10 minutes walk from city center and vlardingen train station .the breakfast is very nice and has plenty of varieties ,one of the good thing is that mc donalds is a few steps from the hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yael39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlaardingen
Delta Hotel Rotterdam
#1 of 4 in Vlaardingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Oasis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spijkenisse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Campanile Hotel Vlaardingen
#4 of 4 in Vlaardingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
NH Capelle
#1 of 1 in Capelle aan den IJssel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen

Property: Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen
Address: Westlandseweg 270, 3131 HX Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Vlaardingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vlaardingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen: close to the ports In addition to individual travelers, this ibis hotel specializes in accommodating business groups. In just 10 minutes you can be at the ports of Rotterdam, Rozenburg and Spijkenisse. The ship and repair yards of Schiedam are also just around the corner. And why not visit the Euromast? The entire hotel provides free WIFI and free parking. In the evening, enjoy a meal in our restaurant or a drink at our bar. You can be at Rotterdam The Hague Airport within 15 minutes. If you are taking the Stena Line ferry from the Hook of Holland, then stay the night before or even after your trip at our ibis hotel, where staff will be on hand to help you round-the-clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing