We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of The Cedars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cedars Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stowmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed for one night at The Cedars and found it to be friendly and welcoming. When we arrived about 3pm we asked if they did food/snacks and although the kitchen was closed we were offered sandwiches, we went into the bar and found it in darkness and were not sure if it was open but that was soon rectified and we were served immediately with a drink and the sandwiches. Our evening meal was lovely and there was plenty of choice, even for a Wednesday evening it was very busy. Our room (9) was on the 2nd floor and was spacious, however we were disappointed with the double bed mattress, it was hard and uncomfortable, and unfortunately it caused us a disturbed night (Oh and the walls are so thin we could hear our "neighbour" snoring!!). We paid extra for the full English breakfast and the one thing I said to my husband was "where are the baked beans!!!" He was not offered them when ordering; but I had perfect poached eggs!!! Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magsie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

We selected the Cedars Hotel in order to attend a family wedding in Stowupland. We booked three rooms for ourselves and our daughters and partners.
Everything was very satisfactory, including letting us pick up keys early as we were not due to return to the hotel until late that evening.
The rooms were all comfortable and a good size. We felt very welcome right from the start and would have liked to stay longer to visit more places. It was a very restful stop and of the many hotels we have stayed in of late, this one provided the best feeling of being refreshed and ready for a new day.
The breakfasts were tasty and beautifully done and we particularly enjoyed the quiet ambience of the breakfast room with no annoying background music to spoil quiet conversation.
We will head for the Cedars again next time we have to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My son was married yesterday (29/9/12) and the reception was held at The Cedars Hotel. The staff were all polite, friendly and efficient, the food was delicious and served in a timely and professional manner, the M.C. (Jonathan?) was excellent and made sure everything progressed smoothly and with no drama. I stayed in a lovely, clean room with a clean and very comfortable bed and the little corridors and different staircases only added to the quirky charm of this period hotel. The breakfast was hot, tasty and varied with something to suit everyone, even our repeated requests for "more toast" was greeted with a smile. I would totally recommend this hotel as a wedding venue, I know the communication between the hotel and my son and his fiancee was extensive, nothing was too much trouble for them and I'm sure this translated into what turned into a smooth, happy and trouble-free wedding day for them. Well done and many thanks for a great experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a similar high standard, however if you have difficulty with stairs then I would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chairofbowlies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnathan1985, Manager at The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank-you very much for your kind words. We work hard at The Cedars to try and ensure that Weddings run as smoothly as possible and it is wonderful to hear that it has been appreciated. You and your guests were a joy to host and, as we often say, this is an easy job when you have great customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I have made two visits to the cedars for a meal in the last month . Both times finding the surroundings and service warm and friendly.The food was very good the choice and quality not to be faulted. I can really recommend the shredded beef in chilli and orange sauce, also the homemade meringue (chewy in the middle) If your looking for good food with nice surroundings give it a try !!
janet b

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I've been staying at the Cedars for years and am totally enamoured with it. I work for the large multi national across the road and am often chastised by colleagues who turn up their noses at the it. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful (always leaving out a key if I am arriving late) and in some cases hold the bar open for a few minutes to serve a night cap (again if I am arriving late). Every room is different and it differs greatly from the corporate sameyness one meets everywhere. I'm going to keep going there - the food is good and not pretentious. In fact there's nothing pretentious about it.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and myself have stayed at the cedars hotel about 4 times now, the last stay being recently. I cannot fault this hotel at all. The staff are very welcoming and helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean and always lovely and warm in the winter months. The food, we find is exellent value for money and cooked beautiful. We hope to be staying there again in September and we are really looking forward to it as we know everything is just how we like it!
Keep up the good work cedars!!

Room Tip: We always ask for room number 1 as it is spacious and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BhamQueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The staff here were wonderful, friendly and helpful. The bar food was fine as was breakfast. Nice selection of beer. Room was nice, very clean. The only real complaint was the shower which didn't have much pressure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerrycambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowmarket
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
12.7 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
6.6 mi away
Best Western Claydon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Beacon Hill
Travelodge Ipswich Beacon Hill
#1 of 2 in Needham Market
101 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
508 reviews
10.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel

Address: Needham Road, Stowmarket IP14 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stowmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stowmarket
Price Range: £57 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cedars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedars Hotel in Stowmarket is a privately owned, family run 3 Star Hotel which takes pride in offering a warm welcome and a personal service to every visitor, holidaymaker and business traveller alike.The oak beamed bar with its large open fireplace is an ideal place for a relaxing drink or to enjoy a meal from the varied selection of bar food which is available. In the restaurant, which is also open to non-residents, guests may choose from an a la carte menu which offers a wide range of food at reasonable prices.The hotel benefits from excellent conference and wedding facilities. We take pride in helping to make your special day run smoothly and like clockwork!The Cedars Hotel is situated in the heart of East Anglia on the edge of the Suffolk market town of Stowmarket. The Stowmarket hotel has good road access and excellent parking facilities for up to 75 cars. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Cedars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel Stowmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing