We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bays Farm Suffolk B & B.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 9 Stowmarket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bays Farm Suffolk B & B.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We only stayed 2 nights here as we were visiting a Charities [TWAM] open day in Ipswich so wanted somewhere near but not in town. It could not have been a better choice, everything was wonderful - our hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Sadly we were unable to view the extensive gardens as the weather was not good, however we enjoyed the logs from the garden on the open fire in the guests lounge! The room was very well equipped with a large shower in the ensuite and the food in the 17th century dining room, with all its oak beams, was excellent. We have stayed in 4 star hotels that were not a patch on this so cannot recommend it highly enough - just need an excuse to go back now...........

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms in the main house plus a suite in the Hay Barn - all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveelward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
297
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This B&B would put many 5 star hotels to shame with the warm welcome, delicious breakfast and comfortable rooms with facilities which leave guests wanting for nothing. The gardens are delightful and are open for the NGS each year. We stayed 3 nights and will happily be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellamax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you are looking for a beautifully run bed and breakfast, which offers peace and quiet with understated luxury, look no further. The obvious warmth of the welcome on arrival sets the tone of the whole stay. Nothing seems to be too much trouble, which extends to the thoughtful design of the sumptuous bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms. Everything is immaculate and spotlessly clean. The breakfast, cooked by Stephanie and served by Richard, is a daily pleasure and prepares the guest for days exploring the delights of Suffolk. Its five star rating with a gold award from Visit Britain and the AA barely hint at the excellence and value for money on offer, which make it one of the best B&Bs in the country.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

room was lovely, spacious, bed was unusually comfy (and the B&B was very quiet, making for a great nights sleep). were shower was very nice.
breakfast was brilliant and the owners were friendly and welcoming
I'd recommend it to friends and family

location is a bit out of the way but if you're after a stay in suffolk, the area is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancasterlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here in the Hayloft for 3 nights as we wanted a weekend away but not too far from home.
Stephanie & Richard are the perfect hosts very friendly helpful & informative with ideas for places to visit locally. Food was excellent room was clean.
We will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannybobbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for two nights at Bays Farm while visiting in the Suffolk area. We had come to visit an airfield where my Dad was stationed during WWII, and after reading all of the reviews selected this place for our stay. And what a great decision that was... Richard and Stephanie really do go all out for their guests. When we left we felt like we were leaving old friends. Our room (the pink room) was spacious and had everything we could possibly need. We enjoyed our dinner with them so much the first night that we decided to eat there again the next evening. Since we're from the U.S.A. we appreciated the delicious English style food. Breakfasts were a real treat. They even had gluten free bread for the hubby. It was with great regret that we had to bid them good-bye and continue our vacation. Unfortunately they spoiled us- the other places we stayed couldn't measure up to Bays Farm . We certainly hope to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Hayloft as we had travelled down from Gloucestershire for a family wedding, Richard & Stephanie were excellent hosts and made us very welcome.Nothing was too much trouble and they had thought of and provided everything that could be desired plus extra thoughtful touches.And we could not fault anything with our stay,We had an evening meal the first night which was lovely and you could tell they only use the best ingredients, the breakfast was also excellent with a wide variety of choice,This was the best B&B we have ever stayed in and will stay here again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: We recommend The Hayloft
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickcannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowmarket
2.3 mi away
The Cedars Hotel
The Cedars Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stowmarket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
12.5 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Limes Hotel
Limes Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
8.6 mi away
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen

Property: Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Address: Forward Green | Earl Stonham, Stowmarket IP14 5HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stowmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stowmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavish restoration has turned this charming 17th-century farmhouse into a quality destination. The most recent changes have seen the addition of a separate shower in the Blue Room and an upgrade to a King Size bed in the Cream Room. A moat and 4 acres of recently re-designed gardens which open under the National Garden Scheme surround the property. The interior has a wealth of oak beams and the individually designed bedrooms are luxuriously furnished and each have en-suite facilities. The Hayloft is beautifully appointed and offers a comfortable lounge area along with its own balcony looking over the orchard. Possibly the most luxurious Shepherd Hut in the country is located in the wild flower garden and overlooks the newly landscaped moat. Why not sample the luxury of Bays Farm but with the individuality of a special shepherd hut experience. Bays Farms is very pleased to have been reviewed by our guests as the #1 5* B&B in East Anglia for the last three years (Trip Advisor 2013 - 2016). Why not come and experience a stay at Bays Farm? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bays Farm Country B&B And Kitchen Stowmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing