We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Takeaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saffron - CLOSED

The Saffron
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb Takeaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I have used the takeaway service several times and the food is top notch. A little pricey when compared to getting a Chinese for example, but the extra expense is well worth it. Really surprised to find somewhere of such quality tucked away in Stowmarket!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Matthew79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    12
    3
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault this lovely Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Six of us had a superb meal at The Saffron this evening. It was the occasion of my grandson's 12th birthday and The Saffron was his choice. We all enjoyed poppadoms followed by a variety of starters - can thoroughly recommend the meat feast. We all opted for different mains and the waiter advised us on how much rice to order saying we could always have extra if required. His estimation was spot on! We enjoyed a complimentary bottle of house red - a very palatable French Red. Four of us chose a dessert - all were lovely. The service was superb and we were not hurried at all; we spent 3 hours in the restaurant. Definitely worth many more visits.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our family celebrated a 16th birthday and we were very well looked after. The food was of high standards the best indian I have tasted in a long time. The service was excellent too, made to feel very welcome and special. Will definately go back and recommend to friends.
something I did notice and thought was a special touch, was when customers collecting a take out a member of staff carried the order to your car. Simple - but I thought was nice touch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Never disappointed when we eat here,usually after a few beers,always tastes great....
Friendly service always try to please...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oddbodSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff serving excellent Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

By far the best restaurant in Stowmarket. The food not only is good for an Indian Restaurant but also the ingrediants are top quality. Staff are always friendly and soon remember you. I use it for both eat in (the ambiance is modern, clean etc) and takeaway and always enjoy whatever I choose.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikem1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saffron also viewed

 
Haughley, Stowmarket
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing