We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil and charming”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Yolande F
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Tranquil and charming”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I have only fond memories of our 1 week stay at Cocketts for our family Christmas gathering.As it was, we were well informed about the property prior to arrival and were genuinely pleased with its layout and content.The owners had even gone to the trouble of supplying a lovely, fully decorated Christmas tree plus additional seasonal decor around the lovely fireplace.Also, a bottle of wine and biscuits awaited us in the kitchen.A really nice touch to say the least and it got our stay off to a great start!We met the owner briefly a few times and got the sense that they would do anything to make our stay as comfortable as at all possible.Cocketts is a great place to use as a base for investigating the surrounding area, as we did, and found that several of their suggestions ( which are extensive in the form of brochures, books and maps), were spot on.I´m still dreaming of my steak´n kidney pie lunch at ´The Four Horseshoes´ near Thornham Magna...a must visit!Finally - we were keen to see what everyone was writing such great reviews about and now we have no other option than adding our own. Thank you so much!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old building and its rural setting
Liked least: Some windows were difficult to shut due to frames warping and pipe noise from bathroom.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent quiet area, easy to get to beaches, towns and pretty villages”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just had a great week at Cocketts. Lovel house with good facilities and well equipped kitchen. We all slept so well. WIFI was good, my daughter needed it for A level revision. Our dog was secure in the back garden and couldn't escape! We enjoyed sitting outside enjoying the sunshine and just relaxing.

The owners live next door and we would have enjoyed another chat with them but our paths didn't cross again, sadly. They have provided lots of information and maps on Suffolk, and we enjoyed some great walks straight from the house.

There was lots to see and do and we enjoyed a great week exploring the local area. Suffolk has a lot to offer and we enjoyed ourselves.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation of the property and good quality bedding
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Apr 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay ad grateful that you took the time to comment.
All the best
Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wainwrigh...
Lancing
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great character cottage and so peaceful”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Such a beautiful cottage with so much character (oak beams, slopy creaking floors). Well equipped with everything you could need. We didn't use the top floor games/play room and twin room, but would be great for kids to have own floor. At the end of a country lane, so very peaceful - just the sound of birds (and the odd tractor). Well located for Ipswich, Jimmy's Farm, Stowmarket and we also made short day trips to the Suffolk coast. Owners right next door were very friendly and unobtrusive. Welcome wine and nibbles a nice touch. Secure garden for our pooch to run around, without disturbing the ducks and squirrels. Lots of walking routes out the front door. Altogether a very peaceful week away.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So peaceful and everything you could need catered for.
Liked least: Wifi was intermittent, but probably good to get away from it for a week.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Thanks for taking the time to respond. We are really happy that you enjoyed your break in Cocketts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoldyDerb...
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil setting”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Just come back from a week at Cocketts. What can I say? To be honest I wish we'd made more of the peaceful setting listening to the birds each morning. Now we're back in suburbia and awakened each morning to the sounds of traffic whizzing past the window, children crying and people talking outside - we miss it so much!

The cottage is fully equipped with everything you could wish for (apart from a corkscrew, saying that most bottles these days are screw tops but we bought one from a local vineyard which had a cork).

Lovely welcoming touch of a bottle of wine and chocolatey biscuits, together with milk in the fridge.

One thing to mention was the broadband, or lack of it. We booked the cottage as having trawled the internet beforehand we needed somewhere with wifi to enable us to keep in contact with our newly established business, however we could only connect in one place of the cottage. May not be a major problem to many people but if you are relying on it, don't!

One of the main things which made our holiday was the fully enclosed garden which was completely dog proof. Our small dogs normally tend to find the smallest hole and escape through it so this was truly heaven to be able to leave them in the garden knowing they were safe!

One downside was that the grass hadn't been mown as the owners had a problem with the mower and this unfortunately let the overall ambience of the cottage and its surroundings down. On a hilarious note to all dog owners who will fully understand, the exceptionally long grass made it tricky to find our little darlings' poops and we ended up with pooped shoes on several occasions!

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secure garden for our two dogs
Liked least: Internet access was difficult to get
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 May 2013
Thanks for taking the time to respond - I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Cocketts. I'm sorry about the long grass, that was really rather unfortunate. My old mower has been mended and I did manage to cut the grass before our next visitors.

We have placed at least two corkscrews in the property so I am sorry you couldn't find one. I wonder what happens to them? We shall make sure there is one in the house at the next changeover.

Broadband is surprisingly good here. It may not compare to the experience in more built up areas (there's no sign of fibre yet...) but I know many people have been able to connect to the WiFi easliy - others clearly don't - I will look into it to see if I can make it more reliable.

Thanks again for the comments.

All the best,

Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“One of the best kept secrets in Suffolk”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We arrived at the cottage with snow imminent for our usual family Easter get together, a party of six adults and two young children. The short trip down the lane to Tan Office had left us somewhat apprehensive as the road was slightly flooded in one place, but on opening the door of Crocketts any fears were instantly dismissed.

The house is exactly, if not better than described with comfortable furniture in the lounge and a modern TV that functions without problems. The wood burner was a real bonus especially as the snow stayed around most of the week and it adds to the ambience overall. The central heating system keeps the whole house warm. The house is carpeted throughout which also adds to the warmth.

The kitchen is extremely well equipped with virtually everything to meet ones needs ( I would struggle to find anything missing anyway) and everything was spotlessly clean with no signs of "grease" on or within the shining cooker. The Large fridge/freezer met our needs comfortably. The utility room similarly was well equipped.

Upstairs the bedrooms are cloaked in oak beams, twisting and turning along the walls and across the ceilings to create a restful and picturesque environment to sleep in. The beds are comfortable in all rooms and the crisp white bedding and towels completed the experience.

With the two youngsters it was good to have a large selection of toys available because due to the weather we were unable to use the outside areas so could only imagine what the garden would be like during the warm summer months! We did meet the owners on a couple of occasions and spent a few minutes chatting but otherwise they were extremely unobtrusive yet still comforting to know they were nearby.

Overall we enjoyed our week immensely and when a three year old cries and does not want to leave then it must have been a good place to stay. I am not one for repeating an experience but staying here may have just changed my mind.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a lovely restful place to stay in
Liked least: Only having one bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Apr 2013
I'm really glad you enjoyed the experience - it was a shame the weather was so cold! Thanks for the feedback.
Doug and Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenB190...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Some girlfriends and I chose Cocketts for our weekend away as it was in the beautiful area where we had all grown up. It promised and delivered a quiet break in the heart of rural Suffolk. As friends we have shared weekend breaks away together for the last 20 years! The comfort, warmth of welcome and character of the beautiful cottage meant that this particular weekend rated very highly in comparison to the many others we have shared together over the years. The owners were friendly and generous and though on hand had we needed them, we were hardly aware of their presence nearby. The cottage itself was a dream, quirky and full of character, a real joy to stay in. It was incredibly well equipped and extremely comfortable. In fact, we scarcely left it all weekend! I would recommend this wonderful cottage to friends and family unreservedly, it was just what we wanted!

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious comfort of the cottage.
Liked least: Leaving to return to the real world!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Feb 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back!

Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetlafl...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection!!”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

I have just returned from a weekend stay at Cocketts with a group of girlfriends. We regularly have weekends away to catch up as we are scattered across the country, this cottage has been the best we have ever stayed at.

Peace and tranquility are in abundance here.

Tha facilities are fantastic, the kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need and unlike many other places I have stayed there is enough crockery and cutlery to mean you don't have to wash up in between dishwasher cycles, and the knives are sharp ( I usually take my own as they are so often old and blunt!) .

The log burner was a welcome feature of the cottage and made it nice and cosy.

Everything was exceptionally clean and tidy, beds were very comfortable and lovely crisp bed linen.

It was nice having the owners close by, we only saw them when we collected the keys and other than that we wouldn't have known they were there, but it is nice knowing if we needed anything they were on hand.

I would recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to soak up the Suffolk countryside and will definitely recommend to friends and will return again myself .

Date of stay: November 2012
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I loved it all!!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Dec 2012
Thankyou for the review - we are glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.