We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This cottage is a real gem and one I hope to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy sitting room with large inglenook and wood burner..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sitting room with large inglenook and wood burner..
…..beautifully dressed for Christmas Cocketts - pretty in pink
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Cosy sitting room with large inglenook and wood burner..
…..beautifully dressed for Christmas
Cocketts - pretty in pink
Large well-equipped farmhouse kitchen...
…looking out onto front and back garden
King-size master bedroom with small dressing room
Second king-size bedroom that can be made up as a twin
Attic den with PS3, games, toys and double futon leading through to...
…vaulted twin bedroom with original oak floor.
West facing patio in safe enclosed small garden ..
…that shelters another little home, that hides outdoor toys for young ones.
Garden gate leading through to larger garden for ball games...
…an old orchard with fruit trees, picnic table...
...and two magnificent walnut trees
The owners keep pygmy goats, chickens and 2 turkeys.
This is Nancy and she likes attention!
Cocketts is at the end of a no-through lane, and the track beyond is just right for dog walking
The mid suffolk footpath which passes the cottage is perfect for a longer walk
Views across the fields from the cottage...
...and back the other way.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Melodiecl...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This cottage is a real gem and one I hope to visit again”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

First I would like to say thank you to Doug and Alison who left us a bottle of wine and a packet of biscuits upon our arrival. Rather nice! First thing I noticed aside from how peaceful it was, a cosy yet spacious exceptionally clean cottage. Huge fireplace with a lovely wood burning stove, which had logs provided. Fully equipped kitchen, sociable and keeping in style of the cottage. Charming rooms with comfortable beds.

My friend and I stayed here for a few days with our little 1 yr olds. Feels incredible child friendly, with high chair and cot bed provided. My friend also brought her dog and lots of space for her to run around and walks close by. The rarebreed farm is worth a visit.

My only regret is that I didn't stay longer and I will be making a real effort to return again. At least so that my partner can experience the magic and charm of Cocketts.

Thanks again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the Cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
We are very glad you enjoyed your short break. Many thanks for taking the time to provide this review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K A
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed here for four nights and highly recommend it! The cottage is lovely, it's is a great size and quite spacious but still very cosy! It was very clean too, The decor is very tasteful and and has a very welcoming feel. It is set at the end of the lane and is very quiet and peacefull. So quiet but yet close to everything you need! It was great for us that our dog was welcome too! I'm sure children would love to see the very cute goats! Thanks for letting us stay in your cosy cottage and for the welcome gifts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely interior of the cottage, warm and welcoming.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james v
1 review
“Wonderful comfortable place”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Thank you to Alison and Doug, the cottage was a perfect place for us, with plenty room and nicely turned out. Alison kept us informed until we were actually at the cottage and we were delighted to find the lights on and a bottle of wine waiting. We would have happily stayed there for much longer had time been on our side. We certainly intend to come back to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thank you, so glad you liked the Cottage. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ta-Br72
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage - everything you need!”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The setting and cottage at Cocketts is lovely. I took my parents, brother and our partners away for a weekend and we had a great time. Everything you could need is at the cottage and it has tonnes of character.
The location is great for getting to Woodbridge and Sutton Hoo, plus easy to get into Bury St Edmunds and the coast. Really cosy feel and lots of space. In the summer we could imagine the garden and ground would be wonderful to experience too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to place this review. We are really glad you enjoyed Cocketts. It wasn't the best of weather but you're right, Cocketts is cosy when its cold outside, and works well in the simmer too when you can take advantage of the garden.
Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy countryside getaway”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Cocketts is absolutely perfect for a cosy winter retreat. We stayed here early November, and the place was snug, the log fire was perfect, and the house itself lovely and warm!
If you want to get some peace and quiet - this is the place! Being so far from the main road, and many other houses, means the only noise you can hear is the occasional bleat of a goat!
Totally tranquil.

Doug and Alison were fantastic hosts. They were accommodating with our arrival time. When we had some issues with the electricity (it was only a fuse!) they came round immediately to sort us out. They also left us some milk in the fridge, and even some cookies!

The facilities are ideal - modern, well-equipped kitchen, hot showers, and yet cosy rustic settings throughout.

We were very impressed with the place, and would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself
Liked least: The location is only accesible via car (thought taxis are cheap!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond; we hope to see you again soon. Cocketts is lovely in the summer too...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola P
1 review
“A Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This cottage is perfect if you are looking for some peace and tranquility. The place is full of character and has a wonderful history. The owners looked after us brilliantly and couldn't have been more accommodating. The garden is wonderfully spacious and the fenced area to the back of the house is perfect for allowing young children the freedom to run around safely. The owners keep a number of animals - chickens, turkeys and goats - which guests can feed and we were thrilled to see rabbits hopping about in the garden too. If you are as lucky as we were you may even see deer roaming around in the fields. The house was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The area is quiet and secluded but well situated for a number of lovely days out. We visited the beautiful Helmingham Hall Gardens, Framlingham Castle, Lavenham and Bury St. Edmunds, all within a half hour drive. Wonderful deli and cafe at the Chili Compnay in Stowmarket. A beautiful cottage in idyllic surroundings and we hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: No pub within walking distance (for us at least!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to respond. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and pleased that you saw the deer; they are around and if you go out at the right time you will often see them but they can be quite evasive if they want to be. I think the animals will miss you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolande F
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Tranquil and charming”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I have only fond memories of our 1 week stay at Cocketts for our family Christmas gathering.As it was, we were well informed about the property prior to arrival and were genuinely pleased with its layout and content.The owners had even gone to the trouble of supplying a lovely, fully decorated Christmas tree plus additional seasonal decor around the lovely fireplace.Also, a bottle of wine and biscuits awaited us in the kitchen.A really nice touch to say the least and it got our stay off to a great start!We met the owner briefly a few times and got the sense that they would do anything to make our stay as comfortable as at all possible.Cocketts is a great place to use as a base for investigating the surrounding area, as we did, and found that several of their suggestions ( which are extensive in the form of brochures, books and maps), were spot on.I´m still dreaming of my steak´n kidney pie lunch at ´The Four Horseshoes´ near Thornham Magna...a must visit!Finally - we were keen to see what everyone was writing such great reviews about and now we have no other option than adding our own. Thank you so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old building and its rural setting
Liked least: Some windows were difficult to shut due to frames warping and pipe noise from bathroom.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Doug and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing