We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as previous visits.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Bistro

The River Bistro
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Stowmarket
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bistro Stowmarket,english european, modern
Suffolk
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous visits.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

While it wasn't a disastrous evening it was certainly disappointing and no where near as good as previous visits. The service was good, as it should be, but not exceptional. The food was okay but in no way outstanding. We are glad we booked for an early dinner as the noise in the restaurant became louder and louder throughout our meal and by the time we left it was quite unbearable. So, for pretty ordinary food, okay service and being subjected to noise, it's our opinion that our dinner for four people was expensive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Altea88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    48
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Having just moved into the area, we were keen to find a restaurant that served good food. We weren't expecting much on reading the previous reviews, but were pleasantly surprised. The food was top quality. We both went straight into the main course, as the portions were of a good size. We both opted for the Sea bass in a white wine & seafood sauce (muscles, squid etc) served with linguine & buttered vegetables. It was fantastic. Desert was the honeycomb cheesecake which was in our top 5 of deserts tasted. Unlike some other reviewers, the service was faultless & friendly. A great meal, we will definitely visit again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food in Stowmarket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The restaurant is lively and airy. I love the varied menu. Food fit for a king and arrives in very good time by friendly staff. Thank you, it was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We went as a small group after work and all had a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
The food was outstanding (I had the steak) and the service was friendly yet professional and relaxed.

This is just what Stowmarket's needed for a long time.

Thanks to everyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

After a concert in the town we wanted something to eat. We checked the website which said that this place was open until 11.30pm and rolled up a little before 9.45. We were met at the door by a glaring woman who, in reply to our enquiry about the possibility of a table, snarled “kitchen closes at 9.30”. Our annoyance wasn’t at the fact of the situation; it seems perverse for a restaurant to stop producing food two whole hours before it closes, but if that’s how they want to run their business that’s up to them. We did object to the rude and aggressive manner in which we were treated. The woman even chased us into the car park shouting that the fact the place was open until 11.30 didn’t mean food was available till then. Why she deemed this necessary, given that we were already leaving, was unclear, but it certainly emphasised that we were unwelcome. The words “get lost you morons” were not spoken but were clearly implied. Acceptable food is not so hard to come by these days that one needs to put up with being treated unpleasantly. We live locally and have eaten here a number of times in the past, but will not be doing so again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jandj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The River Bistro also viewed

 
Stowmarket, Suffolk
 
Haughley, Stowmarket
Stowmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The River Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing