We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Verandah House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stowmarket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Verandah House
Ranked #4 of 8 Stowmarket B&B and Inns
clydebank scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

stayed recently - welcome very good - host anticipated and answered all the questions we would have - very flexible and helpful re check in - very good quality rooms and great breakfast - well postioned for stowmarket - stayed at week end but still very quiet - will use again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neroni, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, it is always appreciated! Hopefully your stay will be just as pleasurable next time. Kindest Regards, Gianfranco and Suzanne Neroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
36
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed for a night as we were visiting friends nearby. Our room (number 5) was vast and full of character with lots of nice little touches and classy furniture. Everywhere was spotless and attention to detail obvious. We have paid far more in the past to stay in much inferior accommodation. The owners were very professional and friendly without being overbearing. Breakfast was fine. Clearly Franco is capable of far more than the full Suffolk !
As one or two others have said, parking is a bit tight but, hey, certainly not the end of the world. All in all, excellent value and would heartily recommend.
Thankyou
David and Georgina

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neroni, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you David and Georgina, I am so glad you like Room 5, it is an exceptionally large room with plenty of space and we do like the decor, having updated the room a few years ago. All our rooms have a different character by size and shape and they are all quite spacious. We try and keep our prices competitive to the surrounding area and as you say the car park can be tight, but it never proves to be a problem with guests, they enjoy being in such a quiet area considering we are so close to the high street. Thank you also for recommending us to your friends and family we will welcome them all in our usual friendly manner.

Kind Regards
Franco and Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed while visiting family locally. Lovely character building. Large en suite twin room. Very clean and newly decorated. Freeview TV and hospitality tray. Compares very favourable with many 5 star hotels I have stayed in on business. Very warm welcome and made to feel at home. Breakfast was excellent, plenty to choose from, cooked to order and very quickly. No hesitation in recommending this B&B particularly to lone female travellers. Will certainly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilac_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neroni, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your review we always encourage feedback in order to know how to do things better. When we have a good review it is always comforting to know we are getting things right.

Regards
Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We received a friendly welcome, when we arrived for our two nights stay. This B&B is very clean and in excellent decorative order. Our room was a good size, with tv, tea / coffee facilities and en suite etc. The breakfast is 1st class and if you leave hungry, it will be your own fault, as there is plenty to choose from. We will definitely stay here again, on our next trip to the town.
Ron & Sue Oct 2011

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronc785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neroni, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you so much for your response it is always helpful to know that we are doing things right. It gives us pleasure to look after our guests and to know they are enjoying their stay.

Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south east england
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed here with friends overnight as attending a wedding nearby. What a lovely surprise this B&B was! Incredibly easy to find, Genuine warm welcome from the lovely owners. Quick and easy check in. Spotlessly clean. Lovely airy room full of character with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Breakfast was lovely and cooked to perfection with a good choice. A short stroll into Stowmarket with choice of pubs etc. Lovely garden would definitely recommend this hotel and wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchyfeetSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neroni, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We try and welcome all our guests into our home as if they are friends and to make them feel relaxed. We have been here five and a half years and have totally refurbished the house in that time, we are proud of what we have achieved and we enjoy the feedback as a result. We made sure that when we renewed the beds they were of a very high standard as everyone enjoys a good night sleep and a good hearty breakfast sourced locally thereafter. We enjoy seeing couples and families that come back time and again, so hopefully we will see you again sometime!

Kindest Regards

Suzanne and Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We selected this B&B as we were partying nearby and needed somewhere within walking distance. The room was newly decorated and there were some last minute renovations going on at the time of our stay which did not bother us but picky people may have complained. The bathroom was huge and had a bath, which is always a deal maker for me. The owners were very friendly and on first name terms with guests. Breakfast was cooked to order and we were given hot cross buns on the Sunday as it was Easter!
We had read a review from a man who complained that the car park was too small and in the event that his wife needed to get to hospital he would be unable to get out!! He then went on to complain that he couldn't get a decent bottle of whisky in Stowmarket [hardly the B&B's fault]. Car parking was tight but good humoured reshuffling of cars was only required once!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neroni, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We try hard to make everyone comfortable and at ease, we have completed refurbishment of our last bedroom now. It is always good to have feedback inorder to improve the way we do things.

Kindest Regards

Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed here recently and will definitely stay again. Nothing was too much for the owner, only slight snag was Suzanne, you need to show your husband how to set the alarm clock! I have to inject myself an hour before breakfast but the owner was kind enough to knock at my door to make sure I was awake. Breakfast was very flexible which suited me because I cannot cope with a full English. The milk for the cereal was kept in a small fridge to stop it getting warm which I really appreciated. Next time my heart throb is across the road I shall be back and I shall look forward to meeting Suzanne. Thank you for making me feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceandeep2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neroni, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, I'm glad you were very satisfied with everything here at Verandah House. Unfortunately I wasn't available as my daughter was in hospital! I am glad that my husband coped without me!! (apart from the alarm clock - too technical)!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowmarket
0.6 mi away
The Cedars Hotel
The Cedars Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stowmarket
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Beacon Hill
Travelodge Ipswich Beacon Hill
#1 of 2 in Needham Market
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Best Western Claydon Hotel
3.0 mi away
Limes Hotel
Limes Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham Market
98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandah House

Property: Verandah House
Address: 29 Ipswich Road, Stowmarket IP14 1BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stowmarket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stowmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Verandah House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandah House is an historic grade II listed building, located in the center of Stowmarket, and is a fine example of a Georgian gentleman's residence. Built originally around 1700, a cottage and stables were added to the original house in 1729. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verandah House Stowmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing