We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verandah House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stowmarket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Verandah House
Ranked #4 of 9 Stowmarket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Always very warm and kind welcome, the owners of Verandah House make you feel at home immediately. Extremely clean room and bathroom, delicious breakfast, Located in the centre of Stowmarket, easy for shopping. No negative comments what's so ever, higly recommendable !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for you kind comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Verandah House and also appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Kindest Regards

Gianfranco & Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
32
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Verandah House is a perfect stay in Stowmarket. It is a short walk to the city center.
The room is big, clean and tidy. Suzanne and Gianfranco are very nice B&B owner and it was great to Chat every morning at a wonderful breakfast.
If I am going to travel to Stowmarket again I will def. stay at the Verandah House again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank snuffy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for a lovely review. We are glad you did enjoy staying with us at Verandah House.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Gianfranco and Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire uk England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The best place to stop in stowmarket. I Robert stop in a lovley room on the Friday night before i got marrid to my darling wife Lynn on the Saturday 21st September 2013 the room was clean and tidy, the standards was very high Gianfranco and Suzanne Made us so welcome on our first night of a marrid couple. My wife family stoped as well we seen them at breakfast. They said how woundfull this place is the Breakfast was 5 Stars.

Room Tip: Excellent place to stop in stowmarket 5 Starts all through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We at Verandah House always try to make special occasions extra special! we hope you both have a long and happy life together, and we hope that you will celebrate your 1st anniversary here at Verandah House!!

Kindest Regards

Suzanne and Gianfranco Neroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busot, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Highly recommend the Verandah House for all visitors and travelers. The warm and friendly atmosphere created by Gianfranco and Suzanne is second to none. They serve a great breakfast, no request too great and all needs met with a smile.

My Wife and I travel quite a lot. Verandah House, ideally located in Stowmarket is a great for seeing Suffolk and East Anglia. Verandah is easily one of the best in our experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sja12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your outstanding comments.

It is always lovely to hear great feedback, it makes us feel that we are doing the best for our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Gianfranco and Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We decided to book Verandah house on recommendation of a friend for a wedding, and we were certainly not disappointed!!
Very friendly welcome and nothing seems to be too much trouble!
I don't think we have ever stayed in a place that is so beautifully clean!!
Superb breakfast with a great choice of fresh fruit salad, as well as cereals etc..
Would definitely return if in the stowmarket area.. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments!! We like to feel that our guests feel very much at home where they can relax and unwind. Whether one is on holiday or through work or just seeing family.

Gianfranco and Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for four nights in a pleasant room overlooking the neighbouring garden, which contains a lovely pond. Suzanne and Gianfranco are very welcoming and friendly and the guest house is lovely and appointed to a high standard. Here is a lovely homely feel about the place. Our room was a generous size with a large en suite. There was a good selection for breakfast and everything was freshly cooked and very tasty. Stowmarket is just an ordinary town, but it is ideally situated for travelling round some of Suffolk’s best attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for your kind comments which we appreciate. We always cook breakfast orders on demand, all produce is fresh and locally sourced. Mid Suffolk is ideal if you want to see all of Suffolk's wonderful landscape and villages, whether inland or by the coast. We hope to welcome you again when you are visiting East Anglia.

Kindest Regards

Suzanne and Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I booked Verandah House a couple of days before my arrival and was surprised when my booking details alone were required for reservation rather than a deposit. I thought that was very trusting! The reason being there are no credit card facilities but you can pay with euro or sterling on arrival and there is an atm nearby. The location is perfect - right off the High Street. The house is 1700's and in general the decor, furniture etc. were quite quaint and old fashioned. This results in a really nice feeling of stepping back in time. My single room was huge with two single beds and the wooden ceiling beams were visible. There are also sash windows but not compromising your comfort there are also newer double glazed panes on the inside. The breakfast was cooked to order and really nice. The owners were friendly and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
Kindest Regards


Gianfranco and Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stowmarket
2.8 mi away
The Cedars Hotel
The Cedars Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stowmarket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.4 mi away
Limes Hotel
Limes Hotel
#2 of 2 in Needham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
6.7 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandah House

Property: Verandah House
Address: Stowmarket | Suffolk, Stowmarket IP14 1BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stowmarket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stowmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Verandah House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandah House is an historic grade II listed building, located in the center of Stowmarket, and is a fine example of a Georgian gentleman's residence. Built originally around 1700, a cottage and stables were added to the original house in 1729. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verandah House Stowmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing