We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit just as good as the first.”
Review of Verandah House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stowmarket
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Verandah House
Ranked #4 of 8 Stowmarket B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Visiting friends in Stowmarket, Verandah House is the first number I call. We have the large twin room with lots of storage and large en-suite with separate toilet and all the usual facilities you'd expect from a top class b and b. First class breakfast, expertly prepared by Gianfranco and cheerfully served by Suzanne. Literally two minutes from the shops and town centre but very quiet even for a light sleeper. Lots of tourist flyers/brochures and advice available for visitors.
Verandah House has everything you need - don't even think about going anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is always lovely to hear great feedback, it makes us feel that we are doing the best for our guests! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest Regards Gianfranco and Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Lovely big room, very welcoming. Quiet position. Arrival very good. We chose Verandah House
as it is very close to our family in Stowmarket, just across the park. Also at top end of high
street so easy to walk into town. Colin & Vera

Room Tip: We had a side room, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Vera and Colin

I am so glad you enjoyed your Christmas Day here at Verandah House, we try to make it extra special for those guests staying over the holiday period. Thank you for your kind comments and we both hope you have a good and healthy 2014!

Kindest Regards

Gianfranco and Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Always very warm and kind welcome, the owners of Verandah House make you feel at home immediately. Extremely clean room and bathroom, delicious breakfast, Located in the centre of Stowmarket, easy for shopping. No negative comments what's so ever, higly recommendable !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for you kind comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Verandah House and also appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Kindest Regards

Gianfranco & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Verandah House is a perfect stay in Stowmarket. It is a short walk to the city center.
The room is big, clean and tidy. Suzanne and Gianfranco are very nice B&B owner and it was great to Chat every morning at a wonderful breakfast.
If I am going to travel to Stowmarket again I will def. stay at the Verandah House again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank snuffy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Madam

Thank you for a lovely review. We are glad you did enjoy staying with us at Verandah House.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Gianfranco and Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The best place to stop in stowmarket. I Robert stop in a lovley room on the Friday night before i got marrid to my darling wife Lynn on the Saturday 21st September 2013 the room was clean and tidy, the standards was very high Gianfranco and Suzanne Made us so welcome on our first night of a marrid couple. My wife family stoped as well we seen them at breakfast. They said how woundfull this place is the Breakfast was 5 Stars.

Room Tip: Excellent place to stop in stowmarket 5 Starts all through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We at Verandah House always try to make special occasions extra special! we hope you both have a long and happy life together, and we hope that you will celebrate your 1st anniversary here at Verandah House!!

Kindest Regards

Suzanne and Gianfranco Neroni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Highly recommend the Verandah House for all visitors and travelers. The warm and friendly atmosphere created by Gianfranco and Suzanne is second to none. They serve a great breakfast, no request too great and all needs met with a smile.

My Wife and I travel quite a lot. Verandah House, ideally located in Stowmarket is a great for seeing Suffolk and East Anglia. Verandah is easily one of the best in our experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sja12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your outstanding comments.

It is always lovely to hear great feedback, it makes us feel that we are doing the best for our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Gianfranco and Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We decided to book Verandah house on recommendation of a friend for a wedding, and we were certainly not disappointed!!
Very friendly welcome and nothing seems to be too much trouble!
I don't think we have ever stayed in a place that is so beautifully clean!!
Superb breakfast with a great choice of fresh fruit salad, as well as cereals etc..
Would definitely return if in the stowmarket area.. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments!! We like to feel that our guests feel very much at home where they can relax and unwind. Whether one is on holiday or through work or just seeing family.

Gianfranco and Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowmarket hotels
3.5 mi away
Fasbourn Hall
Fasbourn Hall
#1 of 1 in Buxhall
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cedars Hotel
The Cedars Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stowmarket
176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Haughley House
Haughley House
#1 of 2 in Haughley
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
3 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandah House

Address: 29 Ipswich Road, Stowmarket IP14 1BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stowmarket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stowmarket
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Verandah House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandah House is an historic grade II listed building, located in the center of Stowmarket, and is a fine example of a Georgian gentleman's residence. Built originally around 1700, a cottage and stables were added to the original house in 1729. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verandah House Stowmarket, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing