We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive Tea Room and Rude Sign”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ingatestone Hall

Ingatestone Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ingatestone Hall is a 16th century manor house, still owned and occupied by the Petre family who built it. It is open to the public for visits during the summer (Wednesday and Sunday afternoons) and is availiable for private hire (eg weddings and dinners) at other times.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive Tea Room and Rude Sign”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a very interesting place to visit, lots of history about the house. The guided tour was very informative. Beautiful well kept grounds. My only gripe is that the tea room is rather expensive, I think it was £15.95 for a traditional cream tea, way over-priced. Also at the end of the tour near the tea room entrance there is a rather rude sign which reads "Private Can You Read" this gives the impression that the owners of the house find the visitors to be a nuisance. Picture below. I think they could have phrased it a bit better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tiffintaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

A friend and I visited Ingatestone Hall after reading a novel in which the Petre family were mentioned. We were pleasantly surprised by this stunning Tudor building, which is still a private family home. There was a friendly guided tour taken by an elderly, amusing chap in which we learnt many interesting and unusual facts (do you know where the saying "sleep tight" comes from?!) The Hall seemed more special by being lived in, it had a different atmosphere from a National Trust/English Heritage building. The gardens were lovely to stroll around on a brilliant sunny day and as for the tea rooms...well, they are certainly worth a visit! Please check the opening times as they're not open every day and it's cash only. I would certainly take visitors and family here for a pleasant day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PurpleBrolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yet another Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We took some visiting Russian friends here, and were relieved to find that it was an excellent choice. Externally spectacular, the house is even better inside, with guides in each room eager to help and explain different aspects. Some surprising original artworks and some wonderful furniture and rooms make this a fascinating trip. The garden is more limited, but what there is is breathtaking. Certainly very good value overall for the £6 a head price tag. But do be warned, it is cash only!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TandT59and51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice old house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Built in the 16th century by the Petre's family and still in their hands and living there. Various alterations and restorations have changed the building from how it was originally but you are still left with a lovely old house to view. We arrived just as a conducted tour was leaving so immediately tagged on. The tour lasted an hour and the guide was knowledgeable and helpful. There are some nice grounds to explore outside. For us a nice way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Super Tudor mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We visited on Easter Sunday and it was lovely. Not crowded.There is a lovely tea room with fabulous home made cakes. it is all privately run so none of the corporate and samey stuff you get at National Trust or English Heritage establishments . There were no guided tours available on this day but there were attendants in each of the rooms and they were helpful and informative. There is a good guide book for £2 too. it is within walking distance of Ingatestone station and not far from the A12, so getting there is easy. ingatestone is a pleasant small town too with some interesting shops, but on Easter Sunday they were all closed. Check the web site for special events and also for opening times as these are very limited.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ingatestone Hall also viewed

Chelmsford, Essex
Kelvedon Hatch, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Ingatestone Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing