We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent hospitality and service, great bar”
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence
Filago, BG, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magnificent hospitality and service, great bar”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hospitality is what stands out the most, although the service is also wonderful. The bar is outstanding, easy and laidback. You have all of the amenities that one could ever want. The rooms are very warm and recommended for an excellent night’s sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all of my family and friends, not to mention the general public and tourists alike.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Cheers and thankyou we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    141
    42
    24
    15
See reviews for
123
420
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
246 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Me and my girlfriend were guests at a wedding here on 14th May 2011. The whole reception and day was brilliant with the food, barstaff, waiters and organisation all exceptional.

We booked a room well in advance and was actually above the Bridal Suite. The room consisted of the biggest bed i have ever seen! It was practically two super King size beds pushed together and was so comfy! The room consisted of the huge bed, dressing area, and lounge area with a couple of nice chairs and flatscreen TV. The bathroom was very modern and spotless. The room also had a balcony overlooking gorgeous views and a beck.

After the wedding we headed back to the room and there was a little gift set with home made chocolates on the bed. A nice touch, don't know if this was because we were at a wedding or not. All in all a great day followed by an amazing sleep, so much so that we slept in and missed breakfast so sorry can't comment on that, but the rest of the wedding party said it was delicious!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your very kind review! And no you didnt get a gift because it was a wedding, all our guest get a treat be chocolate, homemade flapjack, cakes and cookies! All treats to make your stay that bit more special, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This place is amazing. We had an inital issue with our booking (double booked in January) but this was quickly and efficiently sorted out and we re-booked for this weekend for our anniversary. We decided to book one of the hot-tub suites on a recommendation. and we were delighted when we checked in that the room met and exceeded our expectations.

We stayed in room 13, a gorgeous modern room with the biggest bed I have ever seen, like two doubles put together. It's possible that I've lived in flats smaller than the bed, but even so the room does not seem small. There is a seating area and a flat screen tv, then patio doors which lead to the hot tub area and some outdoor chairs. This area is secluded and very pretty, and the hot tub is fantastic, a huge 6-8 seater tub which was easy to use and overlooked the beautiful countryside.

If you can tear yourself away from the fantastic room please do go and eat in the restaurant. We were shown to a lovely table and immediately offered drinks, bread and menus. The food is stunning, really well presented and beautifully flavoured. and the service we received was superb. The portions are huge, but it doesn't detract from how well the food is cooked or presented. The restaurant has a lovely relaxed vibe which is helped by the efficient yet cheery service. After dinner we sat in the bar for a while to enjoy the atmosphere.

After a fab night's sleep we went to enjoy the quite sublime breakfast, everything you would expect and again massive portions! It was beautifully cooked and left us set up for the day.

We loved the Tempest Arms and were sad to leave. From the warm welcome to the gorgeous room to the amazing food, we were glad to have spent a relaxed Friday night in this lovely place. We will return and recommend heartily.

Room Tip: Room 13 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your very kind words, we are thrilled you enjoyed you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We first booked the Tempest at the end of last year and had our stay cancelled due to a double booking error. We were offered a discount to rebook and we are glad we did.

Our room was lovely with a huge hot tub on a secluded balcony overlooking a pretty brook. The bed was bigger than the bathroom! That is not to say that the bathroom wasn't a reasonable size just that the bed was enormous, the biggest I have slept in and we own a super-kingsize.

We have read some poor reviews on the service but I have to say it could not have been better. The dining room was full to capacity, the bar was busy and there was a function on all at the same time but the service was quick and attentive.

As for the food it was great. The menu cocks an unhealthy snook at the concept of light summer food and is chock-a-block full of good British comfort cooking. It was all great and the portion size was marvelously outrageous. We are glad to be close enough to travel to the Tempest just to eat because it is sure to become a favourite Sunday dinner for us.

Breakfast was a good as dinner not just good produce but well cooked. We may not eat for a while.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Tempest and we will return soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck-Butty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your review I am glad we got it right for you, we really do care that our guests have a great time and it appears that you did! We will be posting your review on our notice board our team will be thrilled!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This was a return visit & even better than before! As you'd expect, reading all the other glowing reviews, the room was lovely. Very comfortable beds, crisp white linen & charming decor. But what really touched us was how friendly & caring the staff were. Right from phoning to book the room you know everyone is interested in making your stay as good as it can be.
We were dealing with difficult health problems so made a special request to have dinner in our room & they went beyond the extra mile to make it all absolutely lovely. So many hotels offer a sparse selection on their room service menu but for dinner at the Tempest Arms you get to choose from the full restaurant menus which is fantastic. The food was superb - couldn't fault anything. And the young woman waiting on us was so friendly & helpful we felt she genuinely wanted to ensure everything was perfect.
Thank you to everyone & we'll certainly look forward to seeing you all again!

Room Tip: Just ask the booking staff they know their hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YMPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your positive review we are thrilled you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon, best wishes till then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Just a quick message to let you all know how very impressed both my wife and I were after our visit to you this past Tuesday lunchtime, the food was to die for all the staff were outstanding the service staff spot on bar staff brilliant and the management were getting stuck in as well. WELL DONE!

UK Pub of the year!

Well deserved

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestaurantMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Hello there!

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to the Tempest Arms, we are chuffed you enjoyed your visit and equally that we ticked all the boxes! We constantly try to give a friendly service with super food! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I stopped at the Tempest Arms on 27th April with my partner. The receptionist was warm and friendly and checked us in swiftly. On entering the room, we were stunned. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was huge!!!! The bathroom was nice and full of expensive smellies! The private decking was fantastic and topped of with a gorgeous (and all ready heated) hot tub!

We had a couple of drinks in the bar which were lovely - followed by a superb meal in the restaurant where the service was equally impressive - and priced very reasonably.

After a wonderful evening - during which I proposed to my partner in these fantastic surroundings, we got up for a breakfast which was as good as the meal. Sadly, I struggled to eat it!!!!!!

I went to the Tempest Arms on the recommendation of a friend. Not only will I be returning, but I will be telling a select number of family and friends - certainly not anyone else as it's far too good to tell everyone!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonMel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Thank you for your delightful review but sadly I think the secret is out! Quite a few people know!!!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your 'select' friends very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,133 reviews
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
784 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
196 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
4.1 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Property: The Tempest Arms
Address: ELSLACK | SKIPTON, Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Skipton/Elslack

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing