We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, relaxing break!!!”
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I recently stayed here with my girlfriend. We booked the hot tub room and on arrival it was heated up and ready to go. We had room 11 and the only thing we can criticise is the bed was too hard the rest of the room was excellent. The bar is very warm and welcoming and the staff are great. The food is lovely too. We will definately be back!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cameron1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2012

We are thrilled you have had such a great stay with us. I have posted your review on our staff notice board it really makes all the difference when we get such rewarding words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

We decided to upgrade to a Junior Suite and certainly weren't disappointed. The massive bed was certainly very comfy. There was a gas fire with the effect of a log burner, desk and 2 seater sofa along with the usual tea/coffee making area inc some lovely flapjack and good selection of teas. They even include umbrellas for a dash around to reception if the weather is wet. The decor was upmarket and the rooms are lovely. We dined in the restaurant and had a lovely meal. Well worth a visit. We live less than an hour away but it's nice to have a night away in such comfort. Breakfast ok

Room Tip: Worth upgrading although I'm sure all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roastlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2012

We are so happy you enjoyed your recent visit to the Tempest Arms keep a look out on our website for more exciting deals and room offers. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights over Christmas. Had a brilliant time. Rooms were excellent and food, as usual, was superb. Staff all very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2012

Thank you very much for your very kind review, we are thrilled that you have enjoyed you Christmas Visit to the Tempest Arms. May I take this opportunity in wishing you a 'Very Happy New Year'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My Partner and I stayed here on Sunday 27th Nov, as a lovely end to my 30th Birthday weekend. We have stayed here once before & last time we had one of the hot tub suites - which was amazing!! This time we were in suite 14, and were not disappointed!! The rooms are all beautifully decorated & feel really luxurious. Lots of goodies, chocolates, sweets, tea,coffee, flapjacks, candles etc. Our room had a beautiful view of the moor from the balcony & stunning view of the starry sky at night!!!

We were very lucky to get a table in the restaurant, as we hadn't booked. The staff were very friendly and helpful & the food was amazing! The portions are very generous and reasonably priced. Unfortunately we overslept in the morning & missed breakfast, so I cant comment on that!

We were so relaxed we felt like we had been away for the whole weekend. Really, really enjoyed it. Beautiful surroundings, wonderful service & wonderful staff - Thanks to all at the Tempest arms. I would reccomend this to all!!

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the executive suites, so I cannot comment on what the other rooms are like as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2011

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your very special birthday with us! Thank you for your very kind comments, our team will be chuffed that you enjoyed it so much! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We have just returned from a 1 night sunday stay at The Tempest Arms and cant compliment this hotel/restaurant enough!
It was recommended to us by a friend and we are so pleased that we booked this hotel,we booked a Junior suite-room 17, the room itself was very spacious,nicely decorated and full of little treats to enjoy-chocolates and sweets on the bed, loccitane toiletries in the bathroom and a fab selection of drinks.
The bathroom was huge with a massive bath,shower overhead and your own bathrobes!The rooms were also very quiet and nipping clean, the beds were so comfortable which helped for a good nights sleep.
We booked a table in the restaurant on the night time and were very impressed with the standard of the food/service. The portions of the food were huge! and there was plenty of choice on the menu.
The pub itself was really cosy, with open fires and comfortable seating.All staff were very friendly and helpful.All round i would highly recommend this pub/restaurant/hotel for a short break. We hope to be back next year- thanks to The Tempest Arms for a very relaxing break!

Room Tip: They do have 2 rooms with their own hot tub. The room we had was number 17 which was a Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakeyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for your most complimentary review, we chuffed you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. please watch out for our special January offers, may be squeeze in another quick break away? Till we see you next? Best wishes from all at the Tempest Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Visited family on my way back from York and it was recommended that I take them here for some good old country pub vibe - and I wasn't disappointed! This place has got everything just right - from the log fires burning in the background, to the cosy benches and a fabulous selection of food and drinks. CAMRA options available too. It's won the UK's best pub aware for the last 3 or 4 years a deserved title! The black lab was mooching about in the background and the place was buzzing when we were there, which was lunchtime mid-week. Could imagine that it might get a bit packed out at the weekend.

Food was plentiful and good and bar service friendly and attentive.

Enjoyed it so much that I bought a voucher, which can be used either in the restaurant or, towards the cost of a weekend away, as a gift for a special family birthday present.

Yes, this place has rooms too ;0))

Nice l'occitane toiletries in the loos just completed the picture, I did not want to leave.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minkamonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Hi there thank you for your very kind review! Wish we did have an Inn in New Zealand!
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Best wishes till then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

stayed on the sunday night half price promo £50 room 21 very nice large clean comfortable( four poster,settee chairs )the l'occitane toiletries are worth a few quid alone. Food was excellent. i had nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: pay bit extra for executive rooms these are in the building next to pub and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riddler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2011

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay, we will endeavour to keep our socks pulled up till your next visit!! Cheers till then....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,197 reviews
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
834 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
4.0 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: ELSLACK | Skipton, Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Skipton/Elslack

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing