We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again”
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just enjoyed a very much needed rest and relaxation in one of the hot tub rooms. We stayed overnight and enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant.
On arrival we were met with a warm welcome and given the key to our room. That evening, even though we had not prebooked, a table was found for us and the food and service was excellent.
I returned home feeling refreshed and relaxed and look forward to another visit in the not too distant future.
Will be advising my friends to book as I know they will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMJAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we are so pleased that you had a super relaxing time! It gives us a great deal of pleasure and I will pass on your comments to our team! Once again thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

My partner booked a table here during October on a Saturday.
We live about one hour away but it was a lovely drive and certainly worth it! The atmosphere was cosy and it was busy. However, service was excellent throughout. We both had steak for our mains. This came with all the trimmings and it was cooked to perfection. One medium and one rare. Very tasty and a good cut of meat. We asked if we could have a break for our desert so we did and 20 mins later had delicious ice cream and a hot drink. The portions are generous and I would certainly recommend you to have very little for breakfast/lunch before dining here!
I would certainly go back here and we are planning a visit before Christmas. Go here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

what a difference a day makes.....................THANK YOU for your very favourable review we are so happy you enjoyed your visit to the Tempest! It is a very special Inn loved by many and we like it too! till Christmas then with all best wishes Martin and the gang!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Lovely room, beautiful scenery and a very hot, hot tub, let down by mediocre staff with couldn't care less attitudes. We accepted the fact that despite booking on the day we were staying, the hotel couldn't offer us a slightly discounted rate, despite the fact that they'd already had a cancellation fee for the room and they were no tables available in the restauarant for dinner.

However, we wanted to stay, so paid full price for a hot tub room, one of the two most expensive rooms at the hotel. On arrival, we were met by the lack lustre receptionist and given the key to our room. Fast forward to dinner which was the most disappointing aspect to our stay - at 8pm on a busy Friday night, the bar area was packed and there were several couples waiting to get a table as the restaurant was fully booked. Common sense would have told anyone not even in the hospitality industry not to allow two children to sit colouring on a large table for four, when adults were stood around waiting to be seated. After mentioning this to the "restaurant manager" we were told in no uncertain terms that the children were with a family sat at another table, had had a meal and would be leaving shortly". Not the repsonse you accept to get when you have paid £165 for a room for one night and were unable to get a table for dinner in the restaurant. A simple "I appreciate you've been waiting for a table and I'll do my best to rectify this" would have been a more appropriate response. We were finally seated and when the food arrived, it was fairly standard pub food and nothing warranting some of the rave reviews on this site, in our opinion.

We checked out the following morning when the same lack lacklustre receptionist asked if we had enjoyed our stay - there were other guest there so we awkwardly said "it was ok"...you'd have thought she might ask "only ok?" but no, nothing, not a response to this at all! Again, another example of just poor service.

We were really looking forward to our evening at the Tempest Arms and had told friends that day that we were staying there and they thought it sounded lovely and planned to book. I'm afraid we'll advise our friends to stay elsewhere where they'll receive better service and a higher quality of food. All in all, a very average stay for a far more than average price.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend in all honesty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoneyBee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay at the Tempest Arms it certainly
disappoints me greatly to read your review.
You mention about discounting the room this is something we would never do as the hot tub room does require a lot more cleaning than our normal suites, keeping the hot tub at tip top condition is of prior importance to us.
We don't actually benefit from deposits from cancelled booking we offer the deposit as a credit on the room when they are next able to visit so as not to disappoint the guest further for whatever the reason the cancellation.
I must apologise for what appears my abrupt manner on the evening in question it really was an extremely busy night and normally this does not affect myself or team so hopefully it was a moment out of character. As I for one are very keen on looking after our guests and ensuring that they have a happy memorable time while with us.
On this occasion it seems we somewhat failed and I will use your critique as a way forward.

Sorry that you are unable to recommend The Tempest Arms to your friends I am sure that if you tried us again in the future all would live up to the many favourable reviews on trip advisor.

So once again thank you for bringing to our attention your experience

Best wishes Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the tempest with my wife for my birthday . We stayed in room 13 with the hot tub. On arrival we were made to feel welcome and given the key to our room. The room was large and very comfortable and the bed huge. The hot tub was warm and ready to go. We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and found the food very reasonably price and absolutely gorgeous. The breakfast is also very nice with a good selection of cereal, yogurts and cooked breakfast. The selection of the beers in the bar are also very good. All in all an excellent stay with great food and beer .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank swfc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and that of our wonderful hot tub room, food, service and reception it is great to hear and certainly cheers us greatly!

Best wishes Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and always look forward to going again.

They have got the balance just right. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable . There is a choice of eating in the bar or the restaurant but , either way, the food is great . Breakfast also really sets you up for the day with loads of choice.

The service and friendliness is excellent . It is great to see the Hotel so well supported by local businesses for various functions.

Would always recommend a long or a short stay here. Location is brilliant whether for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The Club rooms in the new block are beautiful. Recommended if you are there for more than a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueandBarry7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Barry and Susan

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are chuffed to bits you had a great time and certainly look forward to seeing you again till then all the best from the Tempest !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

always packed out and although I've never eaten in the restaurant i have eaten in the bar area and the food is brilliant. typical pub food in a warm cosy environment. great on a Friday and Saturday night for a relaxed informal meal

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JessicamMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

its a right little honey pot and you are right its a great relaxing evening by our fire eating great plates of super food! Nothing quiet like it! Cheers and thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I decided to book the hot tub room (13) for a nice relaxing break.
The room was just perfect and the view from the hot tub was amazing!
There is absolutely no faults at all with this place.
We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

WOW short sweet and brilliant thank you! Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
862 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,247 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Old Stone Trough
The Old Stone Trough
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
318 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: ELSLACK | Skipton, Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Skipton/Elslack

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing