We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch pub grub”
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a meal at lunchtime and found the food of decent quality at a good price. The menu is extensive and the portions generous. Most people having a starter before their main course probably wouldn't want a desert as well. Service was good and the atmosphere relaxed. Certainly to be recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you so much we are chuffed to bits you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived from North Manchester to meet close friends and godchildren from Darlington. Booked for 14.00 and arrived in good time (between Xmas and New Year) and the place was heaving do had a 30 minute wait to be seated. Once seated though food arrived quite quickly. Excellent food and came in large portions. Yorkshire puddings were excellent as were Cheese Pies and Fish and Chips. We sahall be back. Thank you and Happy New Year.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Toni551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Till we next meet hey! Lots of best wishes and thank you so much for your FAB review!
From us all at the Tempest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Had a table in the bar area near the log fire. Food came quickly, all tasty and good value.
Steak was a good size + tasty. Ian's curry was lovely + spicy.
Would definately go back. Better than the Bull down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mistersee95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you so much for your great review we are so pleased all was to your liking and certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future ps I will pass on your compliments to Ian too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We ate here after a drive out it was realy busy and I would advise anyone to book in advance we did get a table by sheer luck, I ordered the Yorkshire puddings and onion gravy to start and it was huge, 3 great big Yorkshires I could only eat one my partner had the homemade mushroom soup which was a normal size portion and lovely. I had the belly pork roast dinner and it was perfect we ordered the veg seperate which was lovely and my husband had calf liver with Madeira jus he said it was gorgeous we couldn't eat it all as there was so much, but I would reccomend a drive out.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fiona g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thanks Fiona! Keep on driving to the door of great portions, friendly welcomes and above all a great Inn! best wishes for the New Year see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here for one night in a hot tub sweet. Cannot be faulted! Stunning rooms, beautiful big comfy bed, roll top bath in room, huge walk in shower and immaculate private hot tub. The rooms have complimentary refreshments and a fridge which is great for keeping your fizz in for the tub! The pub itself has a lovely welcoming cosy atmosphere and the staff are very attentive! The food is superb and reasonably priced also. I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Hot tub suite so worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahF93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

THANK YOU HANNAH for a STUNNING review with all best wishes The Tempest Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Pros:

Once we had sat down at our table, the service was fast and efficient (considering it was very busy). Staff where friendly enough at all times. The food was well presented and tasted good, albeit it wasnt served as hot as I would have liked it to have been. Bar staff where also efficient.

Cons:

1) Limited Parking spaces due to popularity.

2) Whoever planned the table/room layout obviously prioritised quantity over quality - cramming in as many people as possible - something I dont like as I felt non-party guests where invading my space and privacy which affected my overall comfort level and experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetb679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Ohhhh blast only 3 out of 5! Sorry you didnt enjoy the very 'merry' atmosphere!! But judging by your review there where many many good pointers and comments! So till we meet again and I hope we do!! Merry Christmas and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Had a one night stay in December, we had one of the hot tub rooms (no.11). I have to say this was one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in. Ok parts of it were starting to look a little tired, but overall a fantastic stay. All the little touches, bottled water in fridge, chocolates, flapjack, candles and bath salts etc and free cake on reception, made it all the more memorable. Lovely bar and restaurant area too.

Room Tip: Room 11 - private outside hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

hello there and thank you for your review we are so thrilled you had a super time. We are constantly updating areas in our hotel and i will certainly look at commentn made. Till next time you stay all best wishes from the Tempest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
864 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,249 reviews
4 mi away
The Old Stone Trough
The Old Stone Trough
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: ELSLACK | Skipton, Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Skipton/Elslack

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing