We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great but find somewhere else to sleep”
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food great but find somewhere else to sleep”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Food and restaurant staff cannot be faulted. However, double room number 9 appeared dated, not 100% clean, noisy and very uncomfortable bed that sagged in the middle. No double glazing which is needed as room overlooks noisy bins and glass disposal area and near a busy road. T.Vs on wall but no sound proofing so can hear neighbours tv as much as your own. Bed was very uncomfortable as mattress so soft two people just roll to the middle. When paying next morning we mentioned how soft and uncomfortable the bed was and no apology at all was made, in fact receptionist said nothing at all! Very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Oh dear! Glad you liked the food! The rest has been noted!
Best wishes see you soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    140
    42
    24
    15
See reviews for
123
419
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Tempest Arms on Saturday night, we had a standard double room which was lovely the staff were very friendly and the food was delicious, we loved it that much we've booked again for a weekend in May.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review we really do try hard to make every ones stay a pleasurable one and to take the time to write a review thrills us greatly! THANKYOU! from all at the Tempest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had stayed at The Tempest Arms a few years ago and it was excellent. This weekend was our 30th wedding anniversary and my daughter booked us a 1 night stay with dinner as a surprise gift. We were impressed that she had remembered our praise of The Tempest from some years ago and were looking forward to returning. However, on arrival they had the reservation but only bed & breakfast, they did not have details of the dinner contribution my daughter had agreed to pay for. The Tempest then had to phone her to update the booking to include the cost towards dinner. We went to our room but as it was raining cats and dogs we decided to spend a couple of hours in the bar rather than venture outside. We then went back to our room and as it was still raining heavily we decided that we would spend the next couple of hours before dinner relaxing in our room, me catching up on reading and my husband watching sport on TV. This is where is went downhill......the TV was awkwardly positioned in a corner of the room where it was difficult to see from the bed. Next, when the TV was turned on - nothing, no sound, no picture - nothing. A very helpful young lady came up to the room but couldn't rectify things then called for the manager. After 10 minutes of trying he too couldn't get the TV to work and suggested getting someone in to look at it. I explained that it was our anniversary and we didn't want people traipsing in & out of our room. We asked for an alternative room but they were fully booked. By this time our anniversary celebration had been spoiled by a very trivial complaint but, as I explained to the manager, we were not having the stay we had expected. The fault could not be rectified and they offered a discount of £30. To be honest, my stay had been spoiled and even if they had offered a free night it would not have compensated for the disappointment. We decided to leave, which, to their credit, The Tempest graciously accepted. The staff were all really pleasant and helpful but they could not put things right and our celebration weekend was a disaster. This leaves a sour taste and we will not return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Oh dear! What a shame you didnt stay, I am sure you would have had a super time with out the television. We are sorry that we couldnt fix the television but engineering isnt our bag, I am a little dissapointed that you wrote a review as we really did try everything to keep you with us and hopefully give you a memorable evening. It only leaves me to say sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had a standard double room on a Thursday eve (fantastic value for B&B) and ate in restaurant in the evening. Have stayed once before and it was great and just as good this time. Really friendly and welcoming but efficient too . You get a warm greeting as soon as you step in through the door, the room was sparkling clean and we had a good meal with loads of choice and apparently the beer was great too. Absolutely top marks, particularly at the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laloxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
And thank you so much for you FAB review! it really is such a pleasure to see! It has made our day we will certainly look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Couldn't of asked for more, the room was gorgeous and definitely worth that bit extra for the hot tub, views from the hot tub were lovely and the food was fab! We had a great time, my only regret was that I wish I'd of booked 2 nights instead of one because we didn't want to go home! Will definitely be going back soon!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighthompx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
FAB to you to! Thrilled to bits and we are so pleased you took the time to post a review it has made our day! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I booked this as a birthday treat for my husband and it was wonderful. We stayed in room 21 and it was divine. The food was amazing and the pub itself was cosy and friendly. The breakfast was fabulous and again massive portions. I would definitely recommend this place and we will be going back.

Room Tip: 21 was quirky and beautiful but I think all the rooms are supposed to be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
WOW! THANK YOU & CHEERS! We are so pleased you had a super time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Good solid pub/restaurant. Well kept beers and quality food. Portions are large, which can be off putting for those with smaller appetite. Regularly have our work's christmas meal at the Tempest Arms, but also have been with wife and friends for a meal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Andrew thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to tell us!
I will certainly pass on your comments to our team!
Till next time best wishes from us all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,132 reviews
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
783 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
196 reviews
4.1 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Property: The Tempest Arms
Address: ELSLACK | SKIPTON, Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Skipton/Elslack

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing