We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special”
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Thank you for making our anniversary very special. Having called for lunches in the past we always promised ourselves that we would stay over, so glad we did. Room 16 was modern, spacious, comfortable with all the special touches that make the difference. As for the food, as good as its ever been and plentiful. Every staff member we came into contact with was friendly and efficient and we were loathed to pack up and leave. Hopefully we will be back later in the year for another escape.
Thank you again.

Room Tip: Can't fault room 16 with a view of the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

And a BIG thank you to you for writing such a glowing review we are thrilled you took the time to write and certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Me and my wife stayed for the one night as a treat for my birthday.we stayed in suite 13 with a hot tub.the hot tub was fantastic as well as the room.great food at night but make sure your hungry because you get ample amounts .lovely breakfast as well.the staff were really friendly and we would definitely stay again and recommend the tempest arms to our friends.just wish we had booked an extra night ,maybe next time.fantastic break .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Phew a good one!
Thank you so much taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you enjoyed you break and certainly look forward to seeing you again very soon.

With all best wishes The Tempest Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Food and restaurant staff cannot be faulted. However, double room number 9 appeared dated, not 100% clean, noisy and very uncomfortable bed that sagged in the middle. No double glazing which is needed as room overlooks noisy bins and glass disposal area and near a busy road. T.Vs on wall but no sound proofing so can hear neighbours tv as much as your own. Bed was very uncomfortable as mattress so soft two people just roll to the middle. When paying next morning we mentioned how soft and uncomfortable the bed was and no apology at all was made, in fact receptionist said nothing at all! Very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Oh dear! Glad you liked the food! The rest has been noted!
Best wishes see you soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Tempest Arms on Saturday night, we had a standard double room which was lovely the staff were very friendly and the food was delicious, we loved it that much we've booked again for a weekend in May.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review we really do try hard to make every ones stay a pleasurable one and to take the time to write a review thrills us greatly! THANKYOU! from all at the Tempest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had stayed at The Tempest Arms a few years ago and it was excellent. This weekend was our 30th wedding anniversary and my daughter booked us a 1 night stay with dinner as a surprise gift. We were impressed that she had remembered our praise of The Tempest from some years ago and were looking forward to returning. However, on arrival they had the reservation but only bed & breakfast, they did not have details of the dinner contribution my daughter had agreed to pay for. The Tempest then had to phone her to update the booking to include the cost towards dinner. We went to our room but as it was raining cats and dogs we decided to spend a couple of hours in the bar rather than venture outside. We then went back to our room and as it was still raining heavily we decided that we would spend the next couple of hours before dinner relaxing in our room, me catching up on reading and my husband watching sport on TV. This is where is went downhill......the TV was awkwardly positioned in a corner of the room where it was difficult to see from the bed. Next, when the TV was turned on - nothing, no sound, no picture - nothing. A very helpful young lady came up to the room but couldn't rectify things then called for the manager. After 10 minutes of trying he too couldn't get the TV to work and suggested getting someone in to look at it. I explained that it was our anniversary and we didn't want people traipsing in & out of our room. We asked for an alternative room but they were fully booked. By this time our anniversary celebration had been spoiled by a very trivial complaint but, as I explained to the manager, we were not having the stay we had expected. The fault could not be rectified and they offered a discount of £30. To be honest, my stay had been spoiled and even if they had offered a free night it would not have compensated for the disappointment. We decided to leave, which, to their credit, The Tempest graciously accepted. The staff were all really pleasant and helpful but they could not put things right and our celebration weekend was a disaster. This leaves a sour taste and we will not return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Oh dear! What a shame you didnt stay, I am sure you would have had a super time with out the television. We are sorry that we couldnt fix the television but engineering isnt our bag, I am a little dissapointed that you wrote a review as we really did try everything to keep you with us and hopefully give you a memorable evening. It only leaves me to say sorry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had a standard double room on a Thursday eve (fantastic value for B&B) and ate in restaurant in the evening. Have stayed once before and it was great and just as good this time. Really friendly and welcoming but efficient too . You get a warm greeting as soon as you step in through the door, the room was sparkling clean and we had a good meal with loads of choice and apparently the beer was great too. Absolutely top marks, particularly at the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laloxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

And thank you so much for you FAB review! it really is such a pleasure to see! It has made our day we will certainly look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Couldn't of asked for more, the room was gorgeous and definitely worth that bit extra for the hot tub, views from the hot tub were lovely and the food was fab! We had a great time, my only regret was that I wish I'd of booked 2 nights instead of one because we didn't want to go home! Will definitely be going back soon!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leighthompx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

FAB to you to! Thrilled to bits and we are so pleased you took the time to post a review it has made our day! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
862 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,245 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Old Stone Trough
The Old Stone Trough
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
318 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: ELSLACK | Skipton, Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Skipton/Elslack

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing