We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour de France weekend”
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have to admit I am a little biased about the Tempest because we were married here 7 years ago, but I love staying here. We have just returned home after staying for a long weekend to see the children and grandchildren and watch the Tour de France passing by.

As usual, everything was lovely. The lady on reception with the little dog (sorry, I don't know her name) was so helpful when she rang us to advise she had a cancellation and could fit us in for more nights. Clare in the restaurant was efficient, friendly, helpful and seemed more relaxed. The 2 rooms we staying in were also nice. We stayed in room 8 for one night and then room 22 for 2 nights. (We had to change rooms as we got a late cancellation and it was fully booked due to the Tour.) Our cases were moved by the staff which was very helpful.

We ate in the restaurant or the bar each evening and the food was great as always.

It was our favourite restaurant before we moved to live in Scotland and it now our favourite hotel! Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

THANK YOU MARIE!
For your lovely review! And what a wonderful time to be in Yorkshire!
So pleased that all was to your liking and we certainly look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Lots of best wishes from us all at the Tempest Arms !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed at the Tempest for 1 night having been here before a few years ago and members of family coming here often with great reviews. It was our 5th wedding anniversary so thought we would get away for the night. On arrival we were shown to room 22 (I think). We booked a double room and when we got into our room it was just 2 single beds pushed together. Paying £140 a night for the room we returned to reception and asked if they had any rooms with double beds. At Reception they were apologetic and said the mattresses should have been zipped together and it made up as a double, not just two beds pushed together and they happily moved us to room 15, we stayed in this room on our previous visit and it was lovely.

When booking our room we reserved a table for dinner at 7.30pm. When we got to the restaurant we were informed our table was not ready and would be shortly so would we like to have a quick drink in the bar. This was no problem however we were seated at our table at 8.15pm. A little annoying to say we booked our table for 7.30pm but not a major issue and we sat down to choose our meal. On ordering were told the dish I had ordered from the hymn sheet was sold out (should have been told what was not available before we ordered) but the waitress was lovely and helpful in pointing out a similar dish that she was sure I would like. Food was stunning, lovely and fresh, big portions and could not praise it more. My only regret is not having room for a pudding!

The night time is what let our stay down. At 12pm we were woken by noisy people outside our room laughing, shouting and drinking wine from the bottle. At 1pm I had to phone reception as we could not sleep and it was ridiculous these people were outside the hotel rooms being so rowdy at a country pub. Someone answered and said they would go out and move them on. In fairness they attempted to move them on but they noise went on until about 2pm and very much disturbed our nights sleep which was a shame.

Breakfast was lovely, once again, food fresh and delicious.

On check out we did tell them at reception about the noise and disturbance as on the review responses it does always say please tell us if there are any issues. The response was " well they are feeling it this morning " meaning the ppl who were rowdy outside our room. I took no comfort in this at all. We were informed it was people who went to a wedding nearby and then stayed at the tempest. We got an apology but due to being awake half the night it didn't make up for it sorry.

To sum up, great food, lack of sleep let our stay down but on another night I am sure this would not have happened. Just a shame some spoil it for others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsAbrahams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Oh but for a zip! All may have been well!

When we have wedding parties staying with us who are celebrating some where else, we always try were ever possible to position guests away from potential noise should it occur.

If how ever the house keeping department had zipped the beds together and made up like usual all would have been well I am sure! One big eight foot bed away from what can on occasion be the madding crowd!

We thank you for your review and remember chatting to you at length, but please don't think that we don't care, we do and on the rare occasion such as this we certainly try to control it straight away.

I am hopeful that you will return soon and enjoy all you have on the previous visits to us in the past.

Once again a big SORRY from us all and hopefully we will see you soon!
Martin and Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for the one night, and were very pleased with our room, very clean, comfy beds, and a very nice breakfast included in the price. Would stay again without any hesitation.We also had a meal downstairs, which was average for a pub meal. The staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments, without further information I cant really comment on the 'average' meal? But I do hope that you are in the area again soon and we get the chance to raise our offering for you.

Till we meet again soon with all best wishes The Tempest Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This has got to be one of the best stays away we have ever had. Room 11 is absolutely amazing! The roll top bath next to the bed, the leather sofas, the chocolates, sweets, and even an unexpected bottle of prosecco was waiting. The room looks out onto a stream and enclosed back garden with an amazing hot tub, which is all private.

We went for dinner in the restaurant, and I have never experienced such large portions! The trio of Yorkshire puds as a starter was just missing some beef and veg and it would have done me as a main. Then came the mixed grill which was immense, I simply couldn't manage it.

Had a great nights sleep, woke up and jumped back in the hot tub, what a great way to come round. Breakfast was then equally as nice. Great stay, great room, our third visit to an Individual Inns for a night away, and I would go back again and again.

Room Tip: Room 11 Hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tickytowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

And a prefect review too!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on trip adviser it really does make all the difference and our team will be over the moon!
So pleased you had a super time and here's to the next time CHEERS! from us all at the Tempest Arms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hot tub suite 11 which was lovely!
The roll top bath and hot tub really added that bit of luxury, the staff were all very friendly and the food was tasty and plentiful!

The free cake and chocolates in our room were also a nice touch.

The only small thing that could be improved was the shower room which could do with re-grouting/filling but not a big issue!

We would definitely stay again and i haven't hesitated to recommend to friends.

Thank's for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit.
We are currently in the throws of refurbishing all the Tempest area by area and our bathrooms are next on the list so hopefully on your next visit the grout will be tip top as they say!

Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

From us all at the Tempest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We never book here as we always enjoy sitting at the bar side rather then the restaurant. Tonight was a lot quieter than usual! Anyone would have thought football was on?!?

I hadn't got changed from walking the dog and mucking out the chickens. Don't worry though this is a perfect country pub. Wood burning fire, good food and good drinks, wellies and wagging tails are accepted!

They seem to have introduced doing a "special" cocktail every week / month. I'm a sucker for cocktails so anything with elderflower and champagne has my name wrote all over it! This weeks choice was a gin sink, which is gin, lemon grass, crushed ice, fresh grapefruit and lime! It was delicious but with a price tag of £4.99 I felt this was a little on the expensive side. Although it didn't touch the sides! Yummy!

We do know the portion sizes are huge here so we choose the ham, pie & scotch egg plank and the cheese and pate plank. Both were really tasty and surprisingly filling. Still managed a dessert though! Dam the meringue! My personal favourite and would highly recommend! They have changed the meringue this week it was pistachio and rose water flavour! To say our mains were surprisingly filling a scoffed the lot! However the other half succumbed to the sticky toffee pudding and couldn't manage to finish it.

Another great country pub meal in my wellies! PERFECT!

2 Mains, 2 Drinks & 2 Desserts £43.81

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountryBumpkinUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Ah.... thank you for your lovely review I remember you well and yes it was much quieter than usual! With Skipton Gala on and the England playing there best at football! We did seem somewhat slim for numbers!
Glad to say all is back to normal now! Once again thank you we are thrilled you had a great night! And one of our lovely cocktails too!
With all best wishes Team Tempest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stopped here on the way to Harrogate for lunch. It offers a very varied menu. We chose the homemade burger and the ham plank. Bothe meals were very tasty and the produce was of a very high quality. We will definately be returning. What a find! Delightful place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MorrisseyfanLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Glad you have found us! Lets hope its not long before you pass again soon! its great to see such a glowing review thank you!

From us all at the Tempest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elslack
4.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,198 reviews
3.7 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
834 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
4.0 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: ELSLACK | Skipton, Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Skipton/Elslack

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing