We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
642
153
50
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
642
153
50
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe pubfree cakejunior suitesea basshuge portionsfish pielambon arrivalbooked a tablehuge bedbar areafantastic foodmain coursepuddingmain buildinglittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Could not fault any aspect, every
member of staff could not not do enough
to make our stay memorable. All working as one team to deliver an excellent service.
Would thoroughly recommend

XzxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxXxxxxxxxxxxx

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank triumphman855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

THANKYOU so much for your lovely reveiw xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I stayed here last night with my wife and dined in the restaurant. overall I was satisfied and would stay again, however the overall feeling of being made to feel welcome was, well poor.
My wife arrived before me and asked to check-in, she believed that the individual on reception at that time knew she was there but just carried on with what he was doing, apparently he was exactly the same this morning (as I had to leave early). Strangely enough when I went to check-in a little later the lady who greeted me could have been (in my opinion) far more welcoming and when I went to settle my bill with her a little later in the evening I was made to feel "a problem", she even questioned why I was settling the bill with her when I could have paid it in the bar!
Customer service and that skill to make you feel welcome, wanted and of value is critical, in the bar and restaurant that was evident, at reception sadly not.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank toyotaverso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hello there and thank you so much for the many positive's in your review we are so pleased that you will return and hopefully all will be as the many guests found friendly and cheerful and above all caring.

I would add though that I did not ignore your wife a genuinely didn't know that she was waiting at reception until I heard a polite cough. To which I did acknowledge cheerfully and of course checked her into her room as speedily as possible to not keep her waiting any longer.

I wasn't on duty the following morning.

Once again thank you for you comments and we will certainly share to care and improve.

Best wishes Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I stayed here back in May for a few nights with my mum. It was a great base for exploring the dales.
When I booked I checked that the room had a walk in shower as my mum uses a walking frame and has mobility issues. I was told it did and they could accomodate someone with those needs which is why I decided to book. Unfortunately when we got to the room I realised there was quite a large step up to the shower which was impossible for my mum to manage. Probably a communication issue but something to be aware of. The bathroom was also very small which made access difficult for my mother.
I would say that room was on the small side too. The space between the beds was very narrow.
We ate in the restaurant a couple of nights and enjoyed the food and the extensive gin list. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odyssey810543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

I thank you for taking the time to write a reivew I have noted your comments and I will certainly look into them.
We do hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the neat future.

With all best wishes Martin, Veronica and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay. On arrival the receptionist was lovely. Complimentary cake and or cookies if you wanted it. Lovely spacious room with a shower.

Room service was excellent. Breakfast, everything you could possibly want.

Cant think of any negatives. Try the cheese and pate plant. Very tasty.

Looking forward to staying here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Louisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review, great stuff !

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon with all best wishes the Tempest team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The Tempest is a good well run pub. It was renowned for quality fayre with large servings. We have eaten here many times and probably will continue to do so...however there have been some changes, as an example -

Mushroom starter in a very small ramikin nearly 7 pound? Equivalent at Dog & Gun in Sledburn much cheaper. Fish pie too small and inconsistent...one full of fish and potato top the other mainly potato? Too many better ones elsewhere.

Jam rolly polly 6.5 pound? Jam rolly Polly is so cheap to make at that price it should feed 10 people! The whole dessert menu is pricey for what you get.

Unfortunately the Tempest are not on their own as many Restaurants seem to be serving reasonably priced main meals with extortionate starters and desserts. Don't forget Wetherspoons serves 2 Cartmel sticky toffee puddings for 5 pound!

Please Don't shoot yourself in the foot as surprisingly Wetherspoons is getting a better reputation as are other local restaurants and eateries! You will end up as the other inflated establishments...Customers buying main meals only!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank JARYED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear Jaryed

Thank you for your review all though not quite strictly true and no gun for shooting ones foot either !

Your comments are noted and will certainly be looked into, we aren't one of a large chain where by buying power is king!
And we aren't in the habit of buying ready made puddings the size of a coat buttons, good tasting I'm sure but it isn't our bag.
I mean have you seen the size of our Sticky toffee pudding, meringue and jam roly poly ?
I have managed the Tempest Arms for the last 21 years and my aim certainly is not too rip customers off, it is one of offering the very of best dishes at a fair price, all home made and served in convivial surroundings served by a friendly team.
All of which comes at a cost.
One day when the chains & multiples take over you may find yourself wishing for something different and you may just find it gone!
I do hope how ever that you pop in again in the near future and thank you for your thoughts and observations.
Please call me over for a chat I would be happy to chat through your pointers raised
With all best wishes Martin and Veronica and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews