We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of N-Resort All Inclusive For Adults

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
N-Resort All Inclusive For Adults
Great Midwest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

My son walked into our room and exclaimed, “it’s like a cabin in Jamaica.” Exactly right; the accommodations were primitive, rough and a bit outdated. Think of the rooms at the Ritz…and then think opposite of that. Those are the rooms at FDR Pebbles.

Crazy right? But we would probably go back. Why? Pebbles is a two to three star resort; thus, I have two five letter words that sum up their success: NANNY and BEACH.

NANNY: She will be at your door at 9 a.m. ready to work so be dressed and ready, or be comfortable answering the door in your PJ’s. I know some parents that just handed off the kids to the nanny and said they went back to sleep (though I saw a few children that were never with a parent, only the nanny the entire time) but we were all dressed and ready at 9, took the kids to breakfast while she cleaned the room.
Unfortunately, Pebbles only pays your nanny about 40 to 50 dollars A WEEK total so please be prepared to tip your nanny heavily at the end of your stay, about $10 to $15 a day was average. All nannies take a one hour lunch from 12:30 to 1:30. If you have your nanny stay after 4:30, quitting time, you pay her $6 an hour. Our nanny stayed late at least an hour every day but we always let her know ahead of time; Nasika was wonderful.
If you have young children and need a break, then Pebbles is for you.

THE ROOM: 2 stars. Very dark and poorly lit (the rooms are dark carpeted – though the website shows wooden floors – which are not vacuumed. Apparently you have to ask to have your carpet vacuumed but never saw it done) dark paneling, 3 low light lamps, no ceiling fans. Front room sectioned off with a half wall from the front bedroom. Request 2nd floor for more privacy/security. At your request, nanny will spray the room at night for mosquitoes – they are horrible in and out. I also heard they will put mosquito netting over the beds but again, never saw that done. Mgt. should invest in screen doors to the balcony, but alas, it’s mosquitoes at night or keep the door shut. Fuzzy TV with no reception. Empty mini fridge with no bottled water anywhere – they no longer stock your fridge or bring bottled Red Stripe as one reviewer noted in 2009 – sigh, those days are gone apparently. NO INTERNET in rooms in blocks 9 through 11. Horrible shower, either very hot or icy. Uncomfortable beds, especially the kids. My 9 year old daughter kept telling her little brother that his bed stank, and well, it did.

THE FOOD: Meh, barely adequate. If you require fine dining with hot, abundant food, do not come to Pebbles. Dinner: Standard lower end buffet fare – rice, potatoes, a little seafood -- meat or entrée available with a bit of a wait. Buffet dinner is listed 6:30 to 9:30 but you have to eat before 7:30 because they run out of food and do not replenish. Grab dessert first because that is the first to go.
“Italian a la carte restaurant” is packed by 6:45 so be early or you won’t eat there. It will also be packed with kids, though it is listed as “adults only” -- so if you are looking for a quiet dinner you will be out of luck anywhere at Pebbles.
Lunch: The buffet is not crowded at lunch as most people grab a sandwich at the pool grill/bar. Don’t miss the meat patties served in the afternoon and make sure your kid tries the marshmallow/chocolate/banana grilled sandwich served with fries – yep, it’s vacation folks.

ACTIVITIES: “Sugar Shane” made this place somewhat relevant for the tweens and teens. He is the Jamaican pied piper and always had the kids out doing something. I wonder how long Pebbles will be able to keep him.
Toddlers and young children have tons of things to do all the time (BRING YOUR WHITE TEE SHIRTS they all want to do the tie dye Tuesday and Thursdays!!) cooking class, slide contests, though my kids were happy swimming in the pool 24/7. After all, this resort is all about the kids. Family activities/dancing from 7:30 to 9:30 nightly.
Adults all gathered in the main room at the cocktail bar while the children were at the next door disco or game room (billiards, foosball, ping pong, Xbox). It is all in very close proximity so we met tons of other adults while the children had a great time too, even my 7 year old danced until 11 p.m. a couple of nights and it was totally safe and fun.

WATER: The pool is medium size with a big water slide. Bring water shoes though, something in the pool cut up all the children’s feet. Only a couple of coveted umbrellas, little shade, bring lots of sunscreen and hats if you burn. The beach is beautiful and never crowded but very rocky. No beach umbrellas. Relaxing except for the constant harassment of the beach vendors; sorry, but a simple “no” didn’t work. Don’t plan on taking long beach walks you can only walk up to the fence around the property without being harassed.

DRINKS: Bring your party cups. Plenty of beer, mixed drinks, etc but all served in juice sized cups which was comical -- an obvious attempt at reducing cost through reducing volume of liquor/beverage consumed. Never had to wait for a drink though, not once. The bartenders are amazing day and night.

First of all this is what you will HAVE to bring -- do not even think about coming to this place without:
1. SPF 50 sunscreen, at least four big bottles from home ($20 in gift shop).
2. Toss away party cups because they serve ALL beverages in the small juice glasses. Seriously.
3. Water shoes for the pool AND the beach (your feet WILL get cut up at both).
4. Travel mugs for coffee or other hot beverage
5. Bottled water because there is none available anywhere
6. High DEET bug spray for adults and low DEET for children
7. Your medicine cabinet; eye wash, TONS of band-aids, Benadryl for mosquito bites, Neosporin because nothing is available.
8. A watch or timepiece - there are no clocks and you can't be late for dinner.
9. Flashlights for the room because there are not enough lamps.
10. 2 white tee shirts for each kid to tie dye ($6.50 each at the gift shop)
11. Appropriate expectations.

If you have extra room in your suitcase, it would be NICE to bring:
1. Bleach spray for the moldy bathroom
2. Beach towels because there are never enough
3. Slippers to walk around in the room
4. Can of air freshener spray or Lysol

That said, this place is all about the kids and is adequate for adults. It is small and right on the beach and that is a key feature for us. I would recommend this hotel to a few friends, though most of my friends would not think the accomodations up to par.

Like I said, keep your expectations low and you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bassanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    188
    70
    20
    9
See reviews for
170
170
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

We just returned from Pebbles today (first time) & we loved it. It's clean, fun & the our nanny (Tasha) was absolutely wonderful with our 2 children (2 & 7 months). It's small enough that we never worried about the kids - we could find them within a minute or two when we wanted to & they were always having fun. The service was ok, sometimes slow & the food was decent (though the Jamaican food was quite good). We really enjoyed spending quality time with our kids as well as a some alone time.
I read all the reviews I could find prior to going. My advice...just go & enjoy, it's really great (& tip the staff nicely if you can....particularly the nannies).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

We vacationed here for our 10th Anniversary, with our 2 kids (6yrs & 1 1/2yr old). We were there from March 13th till March 17th. The 6yr old had a blast.

He would wake up around 8:30AM in the morning, and couldn't wait for the Nany to come take him to the breakfast area around 9AM. Then she would take him to

the pool, then to the kid's camp for arts and craft work. Our yournger one (18 month old) is not used to Baby sitting or Day Care, so he didn't enjoy the

Nanny service as much. While we sent our 6yr old with Nanny in the monring, we would get our 18month old ready ourselves and take him to the breakfast area,

feed him and then drop him off with the Nanny. He could cry when we drop him but later, he seemed to be fine.

The food was not so good. Especially for my wife, as she is mostly vegetarian, but Fish is OK with her. They did serve fish too inthe buffet, but not so

good. Even the desert and stuff were not that great. We had been on a cruise last November, and compared to the food quality/options on that cruise, the

food here was too bad. The wait at the Italian restaurant was really bad. We had to wait literaly 1hr for the Pasta and Pizza we ordered. But a good thing

we learnt is, if you liked something at the Italian restaurant (which is on the 2nd floor right next to the main buffet area), you could order it at the

Italian restaurant, and tell the waiter to get your food to the main buffet area, that way, you could be eating something else that you might like from the

buffet while you wait for the italian food.

The beach is really nice. It's a small beach, but very nice and safe for the kids. We walked to the next resort (Breezes) one day, and though that resort

has bigger stretch of beach, only a small portion of their beach is sandy and clean, which the rest of it is either not clean or has lot of rocks and

pebbles.

This resort is small and cozy. Like another visitor had commented, you could easily locate your kids in the resort anytime. Almost all the Nannies know

each other and each other's wareabouts. The staff people are very friendly, and they do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as they can.

Booking a taxi at the front desk to go any place is a rip off. As I menioned earlier, we did not like the food at the resort, so for our anniversary, I

enquired at the front desk if there are any Indian restaurant nearby. One of the drivers sadi he knew an Indian restaurant, and it's like 1/2 hr away. The

charged $60 for the round trip. The following day, I learnt from my Nanny that she too like most of the Nannies take taxi to get to the resort every day,

and she pays 80 Jamaican dollars to get to the resort (same 1/2 hr drive). 80 Jamaican dollars is less than US $1.

If you go out for shopping, and use Resorts taxi service, they only take you to certain shope (I am sure they have some deal with these shop keepers). The

fridge magnet souvenir there might be unto $6 each. But we walked down to Bamboo Bazaar with is in between FDR pebbles and Breezes resort (just walk along

the beach) and we got 6 magnets for $10. You need to bargain hard though. Even in the souvenir shops outside, don't go by the sticker price. If the T-Shirt is priced $21, you could bargain for $12. That should give you an idea.

Well, even with all the cons I mentioned above, We still had good time, and enjoyed vacation. We would love to go there again, only this time we are

prepared to handle all the cons.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_babu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

Just returned from Pebbles...most of the reviews prepared me for the experience...the beach was beautiful, the nanny (Kimonie) was wonderful for our 9 year old daughter, the food was barely okay and repetitive, the weather was terrific, room was clean, but very dark, shower was inadequate, difficult to get a drink at either bar...the trip to falmouth was horrible, luminous lagoon was interesting...the brochure and hotel webiste is misleading...glass bottom boat, snorkling, etc. are not included in the "all inclusive"...many of the items that were listed were not available during our stay...i.e. hotbub...there are really only two restaurants...the Italian has slow service and if you didn't get there by 6:30 you will not get in...the other restaurant is the buffet...it was difficult to get service at the grill...the hotel is understaffed and the present staff is overworked...the grounds were jungle-like and very pretty...I would only recommend this hotel to families with children under 12 years...every time I sat down for dinner there was a screaming baby that showed up a few minutes later...not romantic at all...with that said we enjoyed the beautiful beach and the sun for seven days...I did a lot of reading.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesthesun007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mtl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

If I had known of this place sooner, this wouldn't be our first trip there. Obviously we're planning on not making it have been our last :)

We've been to resorts in Cuba 3 times since having had our 2 girls, and my husband and me never had the leisure that FDR Pebbles served us with, of having a few good hours to ourselves as a couple, with the kids entertained and cared for by their own personal fun vacation-nanny. Ours was a young lady so vibrant and beautiful in that aspect, that upon first meeting, she just asked for a bag with the bathing suits, sunscreen, a change of clothes and the extra key to the room, and took off with the girls who were jumping all around her, and my husband and I were allowed time to sit on the beach, or at the pool, and at the same time spot them together, having more fun than what we could've come up with as first-timers to the resort! Our girls didn't just do 'pool or beach' as they would've if it was up to us, they did so many different things, and our nanny was so amazing in sensitivity and thought, that she used to let them rest in the playroom or at the grill if they were tired from one activity to the next, or took breaks to clean the room while they changed in/out of bathing suits and watched a cartoon before heading out again. 9-12:30 and 1:30-4:40 was her time with them, and then we spent as much quality time they'd want to spend with us before running to explore the playroom on their own (which by the way is ALWAYS supervised by a fun member of the animation staff!!!)

I cannot complain about the food, there was enough yummy variety to choose from at every meal, without expecting a 5-star gourmet spread...it was very good for the value. The room was fabulous, we got the oceanview, bldg. 8. Our room was not a corner room, so the noise was from 2 neighbors, and it's paper-thin walls, so you get to know your neighbors intimately! If you get a corner room, atleast you have only 1 neighbor. 232 is a good room choice in bldg. 8 if you ask for it.

I personally thanked the manager there, who was always around and about checking on everything hands-on. His reply was, "it's not me, it's the staff who're so good"...but it is a team effort, and without him running the place as he is, the quality of service wouldn't be the same. Our nanny even said so herself, that he's a good manager, and a very good employer to all his staff too.

The entertainment is really well taken care of too. There are a lot of activities you can win a Appleton rum or 100% Jamaican coffee from!!!! Check the black-board on the pool. The shows are fun and make the evening more enjoyable.

The service at the grill could be better, the Jamaican patties could be more abundant since it would be good to not have to keep checking when they'll be bringing any in, to the get there late and they've run out!...or so they say? ;) All in all...no complaints though.

We met families there who were their for the 2nd - 3rd & 6th times!

The peddlers on the beach won't harras you once you say 'no thankyou'. However we did get hair braided by the women there, for cheaper than what is offered on the resort, is what we were advised. They're people who're trying to make a living, who we are not more deserving of, and we were never made to feel less safe in anyway with them walking the beach to find customers. So if you're really interested in buying stuff off them, let them know, but if you're not, a mere 'no thankyou' will do. The security on the beach was always present, and the beach was very well maintained by the staff on there.

I'm glad I found out about this place, we have about 2 more years before my older daughter will grow out of this wonderful vacation-nanny service, so we hope to use this fabulous opportunity provided to parents like us with no support system, who appreciate those good hours together as a couple, while not having to wait for 'later' to go away on our own, and especially since our darling girls were with us, but having fun on their own with 'Fun', which actually is our nanny's nickname and what they would call her. We treated her with the respect she so well deserves, sadly some visitors were openly treating theirs like servants, and talking loudly about tipping them exaggeratedly - which isn't what it's about. It's a few distinct people like those, who even cheat in the kids crab-race games or pool-slide games, by tipping the people involved, to win...which is atrocious and shouldn't be encouraged.

To us the nannies are like the kids' personal daycare educators who spent time with them, doing all kinds of fun and educating stuff around the resort, and who we brought a gift to and tipped deservedly so...but the main thing was the respect given to our darling nanny by our whole little family, who reciprocated it.

We enjoyed our week there, and the people, culture, and the food of beautiful Jamaica, and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Just back from a 5 day stay at Pebbles March 18-22. I read all the reviews before going, and have to say the majority are spot-on. I am going to try to keep my review short as most of what I encountered has already been described. I will say this is not the Ritz, nor should anyone expect it to be. If you are a laid back family, you will enjoy your time. If not, you will probably hate the fact that there is very little hot water, the food is bland, and there is not enough of it, the drinks are watery, etc. However, if you are like us, you will like the rustic "tropical bungalow" feel and spaciousness of the rooms (very clean), THE NANNY!!!!!!, the fact that the beach is steps away from your room and the view from your balcony is incredible (Block 8 room 230 highly recommended!), and the great service. We left my daughter's backpack (full of video games, etc) on the airport transfer van. As soon as we told the manager Freddy, he was on it. He made a bunch of calls and had located it in Ocho Rios just a couple hours later. It was returned back to us the next day with absolutely nothing missing. What a relief (and of course we tipped accordingly).
The nanny is definitely the main reason to go, our 5 year old loved ours (hi Sheena!!!), and it allows you some adult time to lay in the sun, go for a walk, or whatever the heck it is that you are into. I am sure if you are reading this you are a parent, and you know how little the time to yourself is.... If you are not a parent of young or preteen kids you have absolutely no reason to go to Pebbles!!!!!
Take insulated cups and have the bartender fill them up, if not, you are stuck with the tiny little glasses they have. I took bug spray and was shocked that we had no problems with the bugs, never even got the spray out...though there were plenty of folks walking around with bug bites.
Lastly, I will say we may or may not go back, mainly because we like to try out new places, and we are over the rough years of baby/toddler time which to me is when you need the nanny the most. I would still recommend this place to laid-back folks with young kids. if you have any questions, just ask!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We just returned from another fabulous vacation at FDR Pebbles! This is our fourth trip to Pebbles. Travelling with three children...one being a teenager...it is very hard to please everyone! But Pebbles always has something to do for all ages. Shane and Irwin did an amazing job keeping the teens very busy! They had a great time! Our Nanny..Daniel....was fantastic and kept our youngest happy!
There have been a few changes to the resort which we were a bit dissappointed with. We really missed having our fridges stocked, and not having the "adults only" restaurant. The food is good! We never went hungry. The bartenders, Jeffrey, Carrie, and Robert were always there to serve, tip them well and they will keep you full. Remember that you are on Jamaica time and things are slower paced then we are used to, so just relax and smile and you will be served accordingly!
My husband have travelled to many places and this is no 5 star resort! This is a small resort with incredible staff, a home away from home!
We will return again...even the teenager is keen to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r3kidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
13.2 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mangos Jamaica
Mangos Jamaica
#2 of 4 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
10.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
48.8 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#16 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to N-Resort All Inclusive For Adults? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about N-Resort All Inclusive For Adults

Property: N-Resort All Inclusive For Adults
Address: PO Box 1933, Falmouth, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Trelawny Parish > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — N-Resort All Inclusive For Adults 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
n-Resort All Inclusive For Adults Hotel Falmouth
Fdr Pebbles Falmouth
Fdr Pebbles Jamaica
Fdr Resorts
N-Resort All Inclusive For Adults Trelawny Parish, Jamaica - Falmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing