We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit staying in Building Three”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
300 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Second visit staying in Building Three”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Beautiful resort perched on hill overlooking the ocean. Driving in, the golf coarse layout made me wish I played golf. This a semi-remote resort, so a car is recommended, (around $60 taxi from the airport) if you do not want to be held captive. The self-service parking lot ($15 a day) is a distance from the lobby, but a van was always close at hand, to take you to your car. A magnificent lobby greets you in true Waldorf fashion; exotic flowers, plants, statues, artwork and birds dot the open air lobby. The staff is friendly and efficient. There are plenty of restaurant options. The Casino is now occupied by a game room and a loud band on the weekend. We ate at two restaurants: dinner at La Piccola Fontana, Italian was ok, but I wouldn't return. We enjoyed cocktails overlooking the water at Bella Vista. Las Brisas had a nice breakfast buffet, good, but not up to Hilton European standards: Free, only if you are diamond hh. HH Gold members get two drink coupons, and two bottles of water. Many pools to accomodate families, swimmers or lonungers. There is a well-equiped workout room on level one that looks out to the water: many cardio, weight machines and free weights are available. Our room in tower three, Floor 4, had a magnificent view of the ocean with a nice size balcony. A small refrigerator and coffee machine, as well as a walk-in closet were located in the bathroom. Bed was comfortable, but never tried the furniture, or TV with DVD. The hallway leading to the rooms is like an echo chamber and excited kids or late night revelers can be annoying. Bring your earplugs, if you are sensative to noise. Also, the funicular is constantly running down to the water park, shops and ferry to the Island. We didn't go to Palamino Is. this time, but enjoyed it and the ferry ride on our last visit. All-in-all a pleasant visit.

Room Tip: Tower three, full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,853
    2,331
    1,177
    696
    412
See reviews for
2,861
2,028
85
893
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,610)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed at the resort for our WeddingMoon (thankfully we decided to get married off the resort as the reviews are not good for their wedding services). When we arrived the front desk guy upgraded our garden room to a marina view room for no cost! Glad we chose to do this as the marina is much more quiet than the main hotel. Palomino Island, pools, the room size, cleanliness of the resort, and the staff we all great! However, it cost us $16/day to park, and there was a hidden fee of $25/day for internet charges and such. The food was way overpriced (even at the little convenience stores) so we ended up going to a grocery store to get food to snack on. We also discovered that just a 5-10 min walk down the road from the marina are a few great local restaurants for half the price of the resort meals and just as tasty. It wasn't until our last day there that we discovered there was a calendar of daily events at the resort posted on a 8'11" piece of paper outside a store. We were very disappointed that the resort didn't do better advertising and as a result we missed out on things we would have liked to do. We also got a couples massage at the spa there. Big mistake, $500 later we got a 75 min massage and crappy foot soak, the spa staff was rude but the massages were decent.
We decided to rent a car (do at the airport, not at the hotel as it is much cheaper) and scout about the island ourselves to save some money. We had much more fun doing this than the guided, overpriced tours that the resort offered.
The resort is very kid friendly so if you are thinking of taking your kids to puerto rico this may be the resort for you. If you don't mind overpaying for everything, this may be the resort for you. If you enjoy seeing some amazing views stay in the marina village. If you like to travel frugally or do not enjoy seeing children on your vacation this resort is NOT for you.
We will definitely be coming back to puerto rico, probably not to this resort.

Room Tip: Choose the Marina Village for quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed at El Conquistador for 7 days over Thanksgiving with my partner. It's a beautiful resort in a magnificent setting, the pools are great, the rooms are spacious, the island beach is unique and fun. However, the prices at all the onsite restaurants are 2 or 3 times "normal" prices, and without a car there are no alternatives, unless you're up for a 45 minute walk into town. We found ourselves eating breakfast at Starbucks and buying pre-made sandwiches at the mini-mart onsite for lunch to keep costs down. Pretty annoying. The rooms themselves were nice, but had minor inconveniences. For example, our balcony doors swung open to the ocean, but there was no way to lock them in the open position so the wind kept slamming them shut. I thought that's why sliding glass doors were invented. There was no pay-per-view movies and the DVD Redbox was out of order, so no movies at night besides what was airing on cable. This resort is very family friendly, lots of screaming children, and while I generally like kids it got to be annoying. Overall, I would think twice about visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louie_Chicago_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and 2 boys, 3 and 6, made the trip to Puerto Rico and the EC was the first stop for 3 days. Our stay was a dream. The staff was wonderful, the hotel is amazing and our room was very nice with an ocean view.

Breakfast was substantial with both fresh hot and cold with great coffee and servers.
1st day was waterpark day and between the lazy river, the shallow pools and the slides, what a blast we had!
Day 2 we went to Palomino Island. What a wonderful ferry ride - the boys had a blast rocking on the bow! we snorkelled, we swam, we relaxed.
Day 3 back to the waterpark and they were kind enough to give us a half day morning price because we were checking out later.

Oh what a time we had. I found myself sitting back and saying to myself "you are the luckiest guy in the world" on more than a few occasions as I watch my kids play or sat with my wife. Thanks El Con, we will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for sharing the memorable experiences you had at El Conquistador. The views, the water park and Palomino Island all are amazing to experience. We are glad you will be back soon....thank you so much for taking the time to write the warm review. See you again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our third trip and stay at the El Con in the past few years and we were not disappointed. Sure the place could use some updating (furnishings), some paint and renovations, some of the things you might see in other tropical destinations either throughout the Carribbean or Mexico, but the difference here is a focus on hiring, training that shows at each point in your stay here. With this being our first trip here in a couple of years, I was curious to see if they could keep up and maintain the level of service since this side of the island has been ailing ever since other areas like Rincon, Aguadilla, Ponce, and San Juan, not to mention Vieques and Culebra nearby have been pulling folks away from this beautiful part of the island after the US closed its base in nearby Ceiba.

We upgraded to a full ocean view room and weren't disappointed. They gave us great rooms right near the tram and ferry that had a full view of the ocean from our super-sized 2nd floor patio. The rooms are very well sound proofed so you don't hear too much noise from say the tram going up and down, or the screaming baby upstairs, or drunken hallway revelers. The Ballyhoo bar also keeps their evening atmosphere music at a level that doesn't make you seem like you're sleeping on top of a disco.

What needs help is upgrading the furniture...the beds are fantastic quality to sleep on, as are the linens and pillows, but the loung around the room chairs and dressers, etc. aren't what you'd expect to see at a Waldorf; they're a little out of date, and their wear and tear was starting to show more than what you'd expect in a solid 3-star.

They are still doing a great job there with the service and responsiveness. Whether it's a bellhop, bartender, kid's activity instructor, life guards, waiter, ferry mates, or maid, they definitely take pride in keeping it friendly and not fake, or sarcastic, and everyone is super responsive vs. blaise about having to deal with the same questions, problems, or requests made to them by a bazillion guests every year. Talking to them about life on the island, what restaurants they'd recommend, or activities to do or skip, employees seem to intimate that good supervisors and a a steady job make it a good place to work and that kind of good management is reflected in how they operate with guests. Keep up the good work guys and we'll be back in a couple of years again!

Room Tip: Be sure to upgrade to a better room either by your package or at the hotel, and gear it around the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dewong07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at El Conquistador. We truly appreciate the feedback and review these comments on a daily basis. Service is certainly a constant focus and we are glad to hear you received amazing Waldorf Service. We look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Pros: The hotel grounds are beautiful, the views are stunning, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are big and clean. Cons: The hotel needs a facelift, the pool needs better maintenance, poor quality breakfast and pool food. The blasting music on Saturday and Sunday nights from public park outside of Las Brisas building is unbearable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank krstica315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The most beautiful hotel in Puerto Rico. The best facilities and attractions. Hotel can accommodate plenty of activities and events during a weekend, so plan accordingly. For a weekend stay, I have to say that having only one cable car was not good. I can understand maintenance, but for a weekend with high occupancy rate it is not good. Guests have to share cars with hotel employees with cars and all kinds of equipment. These can be transported via buses/vans to the lower marina. Maintenance should be scheduled for Mon thru Fri with a healthy spare parts inventory. Water park is a very nice attraction for kids and adults... Prices may seem to be high, but there is no cheap hotel in Puerto Rico. None with these amenities... Restaurants have good service. The only exception is the coffee and pastry shop by the cable cars. System is archaic, slow and frustrating...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinaldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
31.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing